We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“visit”
Review of Bar Bodega

Bar Bodega
Reserve with OpenTable
Bar Bodega is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 258 Restaurants in Watford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $30
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bar Bodega is the perfect haven for every over-25 who just can't find a decent bar. Our feel is 1920's speakeasy meets jazz club with heavy drapes and deep leather sofas to offer a welcome that's akin to a long hot bath after a rough day. Discover a rare find of mature drinkers and enjoy chilled-out evenings of table service and conversation against a background of cool nu-jazz - played at just the right volume. Come in, relax and choose a bottle from the extensive wine list or select a specialty beer, and you'll find it's midnight before you know it. We very much hope to see you soon. Cheers!
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,146 reviews
800 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 471 helpful votes
“visit”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

got a train to watford for a visit for a few hours,and this bar bodega was on my list,i waited untill opening time 5ish,as i entered there were christmas lights around the window,candles alight on the tables also a lovely fire in the centre, it had a very warm feeling about the place,i liked the way the tables and chairs were set, the service was great,the staff helpfull and friendly,i enjoyed my drink,i wish i had more time to try the food ,but i had to catch my train home,this is a top bar restaurant,i will be back,well worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesthewedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    47
    9
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Joining friends for a sunday lunch in Watford to be honest I was expecting a typical pub carvery or something similar. From even before the first impression of the venue we were WOWed by the personality, friendliness and service here. Arriving a little before 12 we were spotted waiting outside and we were asked if we wanted to come in as long as we didn't mind they were still setting up. The warmth of the staff made us feel like VIPs, taking our coats, offering a range of morning papers and the much needed coffee. The place itself is a cozy quality venue that you seem to instantly feel relaxed in, with an impressive wax candle place and antique mirrors it's the type of place you could be quite happy all day (and or night). Our friends joined us and again they were greeted as if family had just arrived. The menu was mouth watering and just the right proportions to not feel over stuffed. As it was a bit of birthday celebration they even arranged for Cava on the house to start the meal off.

Bodega does everything well, the one thing better than their superb food was the service of their staff. Thank you for a great day, not sure when we'll be back in Watford but coming to Bodega would make a journey worthwhile.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank soul_deviantlighting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrsjlkeen, Owner at Bar Bodega, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hi there
Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you and your party enjoyed yourselves.

As an owner I will admit to getting a bit emotional whilst reading your kind words. This is exactly the kind of experience that we ask our teams to deliver and it is a testament to their personalities, attitude and dedication to the customer that they are able to consistently deliver experiences like you received. I'm very proud of them and feel very grateful to you for taking the time to recognise their efforts in this way.

Many thanks and we look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Mrs Jaime-Lee Keen
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“The best bar for over 21's in watford”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Staff very pleasant and helpful food good, very good choose of drinks not full of sub 18 year olds. They also do a very good sunday roast

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank steven w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrsjlkeen, Owner at Bar Bodega, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Hi there Steven
Really good of you to speak so positively about us, much appreciated.

The team work really hard to consistently deliver to our very special guests.

Many thanks
Jaime-Lee Keen
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
1 review
“WOW! Now that's how a night out should be!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Just returned from Bar Bodega and it was outstanding, like really outstanding! To the point where I'm writing a review! Booked a table and Dennis noted it was wife's birthday. Walked in to find a lovely little note saying they wished her a happy birthday, along with balloons! Holly, our waitress, was so nice and showed an interest in our occasion, very much appreciated!! Food was superb, very tasty and beautifully presented! Wine was excellent and the Hoegaarden spot on! Little gem of a place when all of the above is put together with the cracking decor! Thumbs up all round!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank itbeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A nice escape from Watford high street!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is my favourite bar in the high street - if you want to escape the rest of the... "varied"... establishments in Watford, Bodega's is the place to go. Whilst on the expensive side, you get a nice atmosphere, a well behaved clientele, a lovely range of quality drinks and some comfortable seating - worth the extra ££ I think! I go there with friends at the weekend, but I also took my parents there for Sunday lunch - and it was beautiful! We each had a different meat and none of us left a thing on our plates - and they have a magician at hand to entertain you with some very puzzling tricks if the conversation flags! Reservations are vital though if you want the lunch. If you have the misfortune of being in the Watford area then definitely give Bodegas a try.

My only gripe is the price - I would definitely welcome just the odd drinks deal being thrown in there, so it wasn't quite so damaging to my wallet!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zoe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Bodega also viewed

Watford, Hertfordshire
Watford, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Bar Bodega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing