We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well looked after in lovely part of london”
Review of Frithwood House

Frithwood House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Frithwood House
Ranked #3 of 6 Watford B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I booked through expedia - it was a 'family room' but with double occupancy. We have two children so i phoned first to see if this room could accommodate them for the same price as the four beds were already in the room. I was told that would be ok but after booking was told to pay extra for the children. No chance of a refund as with most hotels so we paid in the end. On arrival we were very pleased with the room and location, it had everything we needed and breakfast was amazing. The guy looking after us was lovely and made our children feel very welcome. I strongly suggest northwood as a base as its quiet and safe yet just a tube ride to central london. We have family in the next street from the hotel and they said its one of the safest neighbourhoods they know.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissMagik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 63 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2012

Having stayed and favourably reviewed this B & B 2 years ago we didn't think twice about booking here again, however we wished we hadn't. The room we were allocated was a single size with a double bed put in so the bed was pushed up against the wall. (see photo) Also the bathroom was so small it was uncomfortable to use. The guy we gave our key to wasn't interested at all in the complaint. We will not stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grommit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We went down to see the opening ceremony of the Olympics and the Road races. We decided on this hotel as it was only 2 hours drive, just off Junction 5 of the M1 and it had a Tube station only 10 mins walk away and we wanted to check it out for Wembley. Good sized room, with a fridge as well! The shower needed a bit of a clean but over all it was good. Bed was comfy and no roll together! The cooked breakfast was very good and the hotel was in a very good neighbourhood and very quiet... just what you need when walking back in the small hours after a hectic day! Definatly stay here again... in fact we are at the end of October

Room Tip: No lift and we were on the 3rd floor but good wide stairs as an older house, so no problem for us..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZMartins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Had a little trouble finding the building but when I did found ample parkiingat the rear in a quiet Cul-De-Sac. The B&B itself is run by a young gentleman who is very friendly and brought an Iron to my room as I had to pick up a spare shirt on the way. The building is set in quite an exclusive, quiet residential area, which is good fro someone wanting a quiet night in a bedroom but not good for someone looking for a social life. I walked for about 2/3 of a mile and got to the centre of Northwood, near the station but to my horror found a couple of takeaways and a lot of posh restaurants - nowhere to watch the Euro 2012 Semi. Luckily I walked downhill from the station and found a pub called the Misty Maid. I watched the football here and had a lovely Thai meal in the pub. Not wanting to walk back up the hill I got a £4 taxi back to the B&B. Bed was very comfortable, room was a bit basic but clean and adequate. Good nights sleep and had a lovely freshly cooked breakfast the following morning

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Qwerty9090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stayed here as a base for visit to a nearby hospital for 3 nights and it was great. The young lad who ran the place was really friendly and cooked a great english breakfast. He was very helpful and always had a smile on his face. The rooms were fine, slightly dated but great value for money. The beds were lovely and comfortable and we all slept well. There is off street parking and it is in a nice quiet area. Recommended!

Room Tip: The top rooms are nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigbadlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

I stayed here for 10 nights while looking for a house in the local area. The rooms are small, but were very clean and have everything you need The young man that I dealt with most of the time (cannot remember his name, but he checked me into the hotel and cooked breakfast each morning) was just about the nicest person I've ever seen working at a hotel - constantly a smile on his face. I can only imagine that one might be disappointed if they were expecting a 4* hotel. This is not that, but it doesn't claim to be and doesn't charge a 4* rate). I would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: I was on the 1st floor and that was fine, but I've heard the ceilings are quite sloped on the 2n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Excellent value for money - the rooms were clean and comfortable, breakfast was delicious and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Will definitely use this place again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lemony_Plughorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Watford hotels
5.5 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
4.2 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
1,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Watford Junction
2.9 mi away
Best Western White House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frithwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frithwood House

Address: 31 Frithwood Avenue | Northwood, Watford HA6 3LY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Watford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Watford
Price Range: $59 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Frithwood House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Frithwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing