We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel , well located and cheaper than staying in London!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Watford (Croxley Green) Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stopped at the hotel for three nights recently and found it to be everything we've come to expect of the Premier Inn brand - good quality, good service and a warm welcome.

Rooms were decent size, comfortable and clean, there's free parking on site and a Brewer Fayre pub/restaurant attached where the food is good, wholesome, pub grub.

The hotel is well located being 10 minutes walk from Watford Tube Station which in turn is 35 minutes out of central London.

Definitely worth considering if heading to London for a short break but want to avoid the central London prices.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philr1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehul T, Manager at Premier Inn Watford (Croxley Green) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear philr1911,

We are happy to know that you are impressed with the location of our hotel, the service and the food. You are absolutely right. Our prices are very reasonable: As Lenny Henry says "Everything is Premier But the Price".

All the teams will be happy to hear your pleasant review about the welcome, service, quality and cleanliness at Premier Inn Croxley Green.

We look forward to your next visit at Watford Croxley Green Premier Inn.


Kind Regards,
Reception Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,005)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

724 - 730 of 1,005 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

Chose this Premier Inn for an overnight stay where we just needed somewhere to lay our heads while visiting family in various locations nearby. We used to live in this area so we knew the location well but this was our first stay in this particular Premier Inn. Arrival was easy, the location is good and the car parking right outside the door was great. Although be warned it is pay and display - being late at night and after a long day we missed all the signs (our own fault really) and didn't realise we needed to get a pass from reception. We only noticed them when we were leaving the next morning. It maybe would have been a good idea for the receptionist to mention that we needed one when we wrote our number plate number down on the checking in form. But that is a minor thing and (fingers crossed) we didn't get a ticket, but then it was a Sunday and Bank Holiday Monday so it may be that the parking charges didn't count then.
Anyway, the receptionist was extremely busy dealing with various things when we arrived but we still got a lovely smiling welcome, acknowledging we were there even though she couldn't deal with us straight away. Check in was quick and efficient and they had noted our telephone request to put the 2 rooms we had booked fairly close to each other and this was also mentioned by the receptionist at check in so it was good to know it had been dealt with as best they could. The room was fine. We had a problem with a dodgy lightbulb which meant we had to keep the main light switched off but it was our choice not to mention it until the morning and we managed just fine using the bedside lamps. Reception next morning was quick to make a note of the light and promised it would be dealt with before the room was re-let. Furnishings was good and it was nice and clean. Pillows could do with being replaced as they were a little tired (both options available were like this) and the mattress was good and firm but a bit lumpy in places which was a bit odd but we still had a very nice night's sleep and the second room booked for our family reported no problems at all. The only real fault we found was something quite bizarre but unfortunately not the only time this has happened to us in a Premier Inn.
As we had been travelling and out and about since very early the previous morning, and we had no time pressures to have an early start the next day, we decided to give ourselves the treat of a small lie in. As we had the room booked until midday we saw no problem with getting up a bit later than we would usually. However, at 9am we were woken by someone knocking on the door and before we could get to it or react it was opened by housekeeping who walked in ready to clean the room! Quite why they would want to clean the room before the person using it had checked out and 3 hours before the final time to vacate it we don't know. But this also happened before 9am to our children who were in the second room booked further up the corridor. We hadn't put a do not disturb sign on the door because it didn't occur to us that we would need to as we had only booked for the one night. Surely Premier Inn must have a system where they can check who has vacated their room and left their room key? What would they have done if we had been in the bathroom - just come in and started cleaning around our stuff perhaps? It was quite off-putting and as I say, not the first time this has happened to us in a Premier Inn. I have contacted Premier Inn head office about it, but they have not bothered to get back to me, which I find even more off-putting. It is a shame, because the reception staff were superb, but this really lets them down. So overall I would say use this Premier Inn for an overnight stay, but make sure you put signs up if you don't want to be disturbed by housekeeping barging in to your room uninvited.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor near the far end of the corridor overlooking the front of the hotel and had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCP1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehul T, Manager at Premier Inn Watford (Croxley Green) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear JCP1970,

We would like to thank you for your time to write a review about your recent stay in Premier Inn Croxley Green!

Firstly, please accept our apologies for the confusion with car parking tickets. All our guests must be given a car parking pass from reception when they check-inn, and I am not happy that you did not get one on this occassion. I have spoken with the team to ensure that we give all our guests a parking pass during their check-nn.

More importantly, I am disappointed that housekeeping knocked and entered your room whilst you were in the room. Please note that we have a do not disturb sign in our rooms, so even if the guests are staying for one night, they can put the DND signs outside their room, in which case, Housekeeping will wait untill it is departure time at 12pm. Neverthless, I am sorry that you were inconvenienced and please note that I have now spoken with Head Housekeeper to carry out re-training about knocking on the room door 3 times before we enter the rooms.

I am also happy that you fed us back about a minor maintenance issue.Please note that the issue was resolved on the day and the room was ready for next guests.

Finally, we really would like to thank you for your time to review our hotel and also for all the relevant feedback you have for us. I have passed on your comments to all involved departments.

Looking forward to your next family visit!


Best Wishes,
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

As always with Premier Inn hotels a clean and decent sized bedroom and bathroom with a very comfortable bed. And as always seems to be the case with all Premier Inn hotels, extremely friendly and helpful staff in reception. Attached restaurant with pub-style food is open all day, which was very convenient.

If one needs a comfortable and clean hotel in the Watford area for a night or two, with sensibly priced meals and easy parking, this is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehul T, Manager at Premier Inn Watford (Croxley Green) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear PatrickABrock ,

We would like to thank you for your amazing review. All the involved teams were so proud to hear your comments and this is what keeps all of us motivated.

Thank you once again for your wonderful comments and we are looking forward to welcome you again at Premier Inn Croxley Green!

Best Wishes,
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is an excellent hotel for the money. Rooms are clean and spacious.
Staff were friendly and helpful
Breakfast was above average for the UK.
Location was good for business and mid journey overnight stops. Not sure for tourists.
A fine hotel that I would stay in again.

Well done Premier Inn!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReverendRonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehul T, Manager at Premier Inn Watford (Croxley Green) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear ReverendRonnie,

I like your statement: "WELL DONE PREMIER INN!"

Firstly, a Big Thank You for a positive review.

In your review you have mentioned that the hotel may not be suitable for the toursits. I appreciate your view, however, we are located near the Croxley Green Tube station and Watford Junction train station making it convenient for overnight stops, for families to go into London, and also for football fans to go into Wembley.

Most important of all, we are just happy that you had an overall great experience at our hotel.

All the departments will be happy to hear your pleasant comments about the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff.

We look forward for your next stay!


Best Wishes,
Reception Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel was good in many ways from the bargain rooms to the nice food this overall was a good hotel. One problem was the beds they were comfortable but I did not sleep very well. Not exactly what Lenny Henry said!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henry123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehul T, Manager at Premier Inn Watford (Croxley Green) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear henry123456,

Thank you for your review of your stay in Premier Inn Croxley Green.

We are glad to hear that overall you are really happy with your stay. The teams will be happy to hear your comments.

However, we are disappointed to know that you did not sleep well. From your comments, I am not sure whether it was due to the bed as you have stated the beds were comfortable. Neverthless, we are sorry that you did not get a proper sleep. At Premier Inn, we take pride in resolving problems our guests may experience during their stay. So, please feel free to contact a member of our reception team during your stay and we will resolve the problem for you.

In the meantime, we wish you all the best and look forward to welcome you back in near future.

Kind Regards,
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We booked this hotel as a cheaper way to do London for the weekend. The road directons given on our booking were rubbish to say the least and do require some work on them, maybe worth getting some yourslf to sve the tress. The hotel is located near two tube stations taking you to central London in less than an hour. Reception were efficient and the brewers fare pub on site alo good. Room a standard premier in room nothing to fault.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lazytoad2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehul T, Manager at Premier Inn Watford (Croxley Green) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear lazytoad2001,

We would like to thank you for your feedback and also apologise for the confusion with the road directions. We pride in taking our guests feedback and actioning on it. Please note, that I am personally looking into this matter and am confident that we will make the hotel directions more efficient for our guests.

We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us and that our restaurant met your expectations. I have also passed on your comments to the restaurant team.

Finally, thank you once again for the feedback and we look forward to welcome you again in near future.

Kind Regards,
Reception Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights on a trip to London. Fantastic location as its only 15 mins from Harry Potter tour and fast train into london euston every 15 mins.Reception staff really helpful. Try and avoid a room on the lower floors at the front as you can get some noise from the restaurant outside. But a fantastic value stay in a good location and would use again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehul T, Manager at Premier Inn Watford (Croxley Green) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Rachel C,

Thank you for your time to review your stay in Premier Inn Croxley Green. I hope you have enjoyed your time in Harry Potter studio. The fast train to Euston is really quick and convenient. We also advise our guests for Croxley tube station, as it is closer to the hotel, depending on where exactly guests would like to go in Central London. We take pride in accommodating our guests requests to the best ability we can. So, in future when you book a room with us, please contact the hotel prior to arrival and we can allocate you a room at the back of the hotel.
We look forward to welcome you again on your next visit!

Kind Regards,
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Watford hotels
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Watford Central Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
1,774 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Watford Junction
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Watford (Croxley Green) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Watford (Croxley Green) Hotel

Address: 2 Ascot Road, Watford WD18 8AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Watford
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Watford
#5 Family Hotel in Watford
Price Range: $62 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Watford (Croxley Green) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for popping into London and just a few miles from the Warner Bros Studios and Wembley Stadium ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Watford (Croxley Green) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Watford (Croxley Green) Hotel Watford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing