We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tarboush experience”

Tarboush Lebanese & Mediterranean Cuisine
Ranked #1 of 273 Restaurants in Watford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Lebanese, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: We are a small friendly restaurant close to the centre of Watford. We serve authentic freshly made lebanese cuisine and have an all weather garden area where people can eat, relax, maybe smoke a shisha pipe and forget they are in the Britain for a little while. We are open 11am till midnight, seven days a week.We can cater to large and small parties so if you are planning an evening out give us a call or pop in and see us.Hopefully we will see you soon.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Visited this restaurant on a Friday evening with 2 friends. One friend was already seated when we arrived and informed us that they only accepted cash and it was a bring your own bottle set-up. My friend who booked the table wasn't informed at the time of booking of these details. I think people appreciate being told beforehand so they know what to expect. We had to go out again and down the road to withdraw money and buy some wine for the meal. Also they charge £2 per person corkage charge, for what I don't know - seems a bit excessive! We ordered some starters of hummus, which was good, falafel, also good, and some Halloumi cheese which was rather chewy, served with some pickled vegetables and flatbreads. For mains we had chicken taouk and lamb shish. The chicken was supposed to have been marinated in garlic, lemon & olive oil but didn't taste of anything and the lamb shish was extremely chewy and also devoid of flavour. All in all very average. Was very disappointed as this restaurant was recommended to us and didn't live up to expectations. Maybe we chose the wrong things, but wouldn't go back again I'm afraid.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cherry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarboushWatford, Manager at Tarboush Lebanese & Mediterranean Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are sorry you did not enjoy it as much as we would have hoped. I would like to address some of your comments. I am sorry your friend was not made aware of our byo policy or that we are cash only. When taking bookings we normally ask if someone has been here before and if they haven't we make them aware. I have re-briefed the team on this and can only appologise if this was not done.

Our policies are no secret and as you are a trip advisor user you can see it is mentioned in many of the reviews. As someone has recommended us I am suprised that they didn't mention our BYO policy as most people prefer this as they get to drink a wine of their choice and it works out considerably cheaper than buying wine at over inflatted restaurant prices. We are a business and the corkage is normal in BYO restaurants. We supply glasses, ice and a relaxed comfortable atmosphere. Whilst customers are drinking their own drinks they are not purchasing drinks from us and without the corkage charge it would not make it viable for us to allow people to bring their own.

The halloumi is sliced and grilled and is by it's nature when melted a chewy cheese, there is not a lot we can do about this. It is very popular and nobody else seems to have a problem with it. The chicken Tawouk is marinated in garlic, lemon and olive oil, but chicken not garlic is definately the hero of the dish. We serve the chicken with homemade garlic mayonaise and chilli sauce so customers can decide what flavours they would like to enjoy with the chicken. Not everyone has the same taste and this is a favourite amongst our regulars.

I am sorry if there was a problem with your lamb, it is difficult to comment as you did not make us aware of any issues whilst you were here. Had you said something we could have replaced the dish but we were not given the opportunity to rectify it. We use cuts of lamb from the leg so the cut is not a fatty chewy cut.

I hope that you will visit us again and hopefully next time you will have a better experiance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

931 - 935 of 1,129 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

i arranged a party of 20 of my girl friends for a evening out some who had never been before,it has everything, fantastic food, fantastic service, there was nothing they would not do to help us enjoy our evening.Very sociable place to eat. very relaxing atmosphere
The only sad thing was we had to go home, would eat there everyday if i had my way,
many thanks and hope to be back very soon( new monthly venue for us girls).

Thanks again to you all

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

This is the kind of place we've despaired of finding in Watford...& here it is. Atmosphere hits you as soon as you arrive, and the clientele and staff are great, mixed, lively, professional. Food, service, engagement, all just perfect. And crazily good value. Need to book!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pianoman221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Fantastic friendly restaurant, worth a visit. Good food, good ambience, friendly welcome at a good price. Don't foreget to take your own booze.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MartynW797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Excellent service and value for money - portions are adequately sized. I felt the meat from the meat mezze was greasy and overcooked. The dessert, fried noodles with cheese in syrup, was sickly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sgw0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarboushWatford, Manager at Tarboush Lebanese & Mediterranean Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you did not enjoy the food as much as we hoped. Not everyone will enjoy every dish and perhaps if you come again we could offer you alternative dishes which I'm sure you will enjoy. Perhaps our chicken shish or lamb kofte will be more to your liking.

The meat in the mezza is sharwarma. These are slices if meat, marinated, layered on a rotisserie and slowly cooked. For sharwarma fattier cuts of meat are used otherwise the meat would become dry and hard during the cooking process. The only fat in the sharwarma is naturally occuring meat juices.

The dessert I believe you had was knefeh, a traditional dessert. the noodles are not fried but baked with butter into a pastry and topped with a soft cheese. This is then served with a warm syrup. It is a very rich dessert and not to everybodies taste.

We hope you will visit us again so we can show you how good our food can be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tarboush Lebanese & Mediterranean Cuisine also viewed

Watford, Hertfordshire
Watford, Hertfordshire
 
Watford, Hertfordshire
Watford, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Tarboush Lebanese & Mediterranean Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing