We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT STAY, ACCOMMODATING STAFF, GOOD ROOMS”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western White House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Watford
WATFORD, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“GREAT STAY, ACCOMMODATING STAFF, GOOD ROOMS”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Visited Bank holiday weekend in May as group of 6, with the intention to use Watford as a base to commute into central London. Certainly weren't disappointed, easy to find, parking was great. Staff were very helpful, rooms were spacious and spotless. Thoroughly enjoyable stay. WOULD CERTAINLY RECOMMEND!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane H, Manager at Best Western White House Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Denise,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. When you are next in the Watford area we look forward to welcoming you back to the White House.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    149
    114
    43
    28
See reviews for
64
121
24
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Basic hotel with limited parking. Booked by the company on my behalf, struggled to find car park, had to wait on phone for several minutes to get directions.
The stay in general was OK, but virtually no staff on duty, long wait to check in, then for food in the evening at the bar and in the morning for breakfast.

The room was very hot needing the window open all night which led to a lot of road noise and little sleep.

I would return to the hotel, but not as a first choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane H, Front Office Manager at Best Western White House Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at our hotel. I have passed your comments onto the relevant departments. I do hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future if you are in the Watford area.
Kind regards,

Jane Havlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed here on business in May and on arrival (which was late and around 10pm) the restaurant was closed understandably so I didn't sample dinner unfortunately. The Hotel is quite dated and the lift up to the bedrooms was a frightening experience. Very small and not big enough for any more than two people with luggage, it rattled and banged as it ascended and inside was dirty with flaky paint and stains. The walk to the bedroom was on an uneven floor which creaked at each step and the bedroom wasn't very impressive albeit it was spacious enough. What was disappointing was the ancient shower in the morning which only ran cold water in the morning and this put me in a mood straight away. My state of mind was however lightened considerably when arriving at breakfast and being served by what can best be described as two `comics' for waitresses. The were terrific and really brightened up my morning with their unconscious ramblings and endearing accents. very efficient and professional they were good old fashioned characters. I ordered a cheese omelette which was freshly made to order and excellent though the breakfast selection was pretty good in itself. Overall, this hotel is OK but does need some attention and a good clean in places.

Room Tip: Enjoy the breakfast entertainment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

stayed here after a day out at Chelsea flower show. i was not impressed with the room, lights not working door on bathroom stuck with my grandmother inside. fire alarm went off in the middle of the night and we were stuck outside for ages in the rain trying to get somebody to open the front door as we all waited in rain. eventually somebody opened the door and said did we not know it was a false alarm. Breakfast was awful cold toast and cold sliced meat.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wexfordgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I booked a single room online for because I was going to a party at Rickmansworth and needed a bed for the night. This hotel is clean, warm and comfortable and the staff are so pleasant and helpful. The breakfast is excellent. The hotel was not full so they gave me an upgrade for a truly amazing price for an outer London hotel. The car park is tricky to access but alright once you are used to it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

The hotel is a great place if you are planning on visiting Harry potter Studos :)

We struggled with finidng anywhere close by to eat and were awoken at 6:30am by a fire alarm test we were not alerted about.

The hotel is very clean and basic and the staff are very helpful :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lambertjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Watford hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Watford Central
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
1,728 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mercure London Watford Hotel
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western White House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western White House Hotel

Property: Best Western White House Hotel
Address: 27-31 Upton Road, Watford WD18 0JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Watford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western White House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run Town House Hotel, just 2 minutes walk from Watford High Street, 15 minutes walk from Watford Junction & Watford Football Ground. Limited on-site parking, off-site parking at Gade Car Park, Rosslyn Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western White House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Watford
Watford Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing