We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite there (but the restaurant is amazing!)”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Watford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Watford
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Watford
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not quite there (but the restaurant is amazing!)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

No air con not great in the summer. Outrageous charges for wifi. Dated hotel. Food is fantastic the restaurant manager was very good at serving our large party and catering to unique requests. Very satisfied.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank JMcSW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    505
    390
    206
    134
See reviews for
380
495
70
430
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Booked for 2 days as close to London for days out and a swimming pool for the kids.

Arrived at 230pm on Sunday. Kids excited to go for a swim only to find out gym were having a water babies class until 530pm. As we were going out later the kids missed their swim. We felt the hotel should have advised us of this. We went to the pool Monday morning only to be told kids were not allows before 3pm. Hilton need to sort the service Living Well gym gives.

The rooms were basic and not having AC in this day and age is crazy. Would also be good to have internet connection for the numerous gadgets we have.

Overall service was ok but Valerie in the restaurant stood out for her exceptional intuition when it came to kids.

Doubt I'll be back or recommending it to friends.

Surprised Hilton happy to have its name above the door.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oogaslab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

We were welcomed by the hotel staff and given a voucher for a free drink in the bar. Check in was quite smooth and the staff explained about the hotel services/amenities. The room was clean however some of the furniture needed a re-furb. The hotel was well located for our trip back onto the M1 to go down to London for the tennis at Wimbledon

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed one night on business recently. This probably was good business hotel 30 years. In of a refurb. The room was ok.
Don on reception was an absolute star. He is a total credit to his profession. Very friendly and courteous. With excellent local knowledge.
One huge disappointment ! The charge for internet use. When will UK hotels learn that this is a basic requirement these days. Why not charge for water or for the sheets etc etc.
This a rip of charge. Even the most simple hotels in China offer free internet.
I am staying there again on the 13th July. I hope this have dropped this rediculous charge by then.
Over to you Hilton Watford.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ash M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Had a brilliant stay at this hotel. The location is perfect, very easy to find and close to Warner Bros studios and shopping centres. The staff were very welcoming, friendly and always happy to help. Would definitely return when next in London and would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Disappointed. I expected more from the Hilton brand. All very ordinary. The room was dated and drab. Very basic furniture, no aircon and the window faced a car park and was above a transformer unit. Room also suffered from traffic noise from the nearby motorway. The bathroom was serviceable although the towels (although large) were rough and there was terrible mould on the ceiling. The bed was clean and comfortable but I would have welcomed a firmer pillow. We had requested, at check in, that a table be reserved at the Atelier restaurant. After waiting around 10mins for attention, we were told there was no reservation. After some huffing & puffing, we were shown to a table. Service was poor, we waited ages for our drinks. Although the starters were delivered quickly (don't think they could have been made from fresh!), the mains took ages - I was about to ask if they'd been forgotten! The sauce which should have come with the main was also missing. Overall, the restaurant service was appalling but the food was ok. The staff were very friendly but there appeared to be a lack of organisation, with each member of staff unsure what their responsibilities were. The service levels at breakfast were the same, thankfully the food was self service buffet style!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladywarri0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

As usual at Hilton hotels it was a quick and smooth check-in. The room was as requested a king but I would not have said it was a king deluxe. It was obvious that this was a dated hotel but the bed was comfy which was at the time the main thing. I was however very disappointed to find that the room was not air-conditioned. That night was quite an uncomfortable nights rest. I awoke the next morning very hot (despite having the two small window sections open overnight) and noticing the fan I went to switch it on. The fan was not working. Great. We therefore had to shower (made worse by the fact there was no extraction system for the hot humid air) and get dressed still sweating having been unable to cool off after the shower, in order to go to reception to inform them. The front office manager informed me that there was no air conditioning in the rooms but I could switch rooms. I said there was no point if no air conditioning in the rooms but can he at least fix the fan whilst we were at breakfast. On return the fan had indeed been replaced with a working unit which at least created some air flow.
We then headed out for the day but before we left, Don - the front office manager caught up with us to check that the fan was working ok & said that on our return he would arrange for a jug of iced water and also a jug of iced juice to be brought up to our room to refresh us which he did and which was gratefully received.
The following day our room was still just as hot making it very uncomfortable to stay in our room. At one point we went out for a drive just to cool off in our cars' air-conditioning! When we got back our room still had not been cleaned (1300) so we called for housekeeping to come and change our sheets/bath towels for room service to bring us up some more iced water and juice to cool us down (at cost this time) and the staff member was so taken aback by the heat and humidity she immediately called for someone to come and supply a second fan.
We were due out that evening (our third) for a wedding reception which was the main purpose of our vacation and reason for us staying locally at this hotel. For the reception we had to get showered 2 hours early in order to be able to have long enough to cool down again afterwards so that we could get dressed in suit and evening dress etc before rushing out of the room so we didn't get uncomfortably hot.

Now although Dom the front office manager organised some iced drinks on the second day and an extra fan and the Hilton breakfasts were wonderful as always as all Hilton breakfasts are, our whole stay was made very uncomfortable to the point of being almost unbearable at times, by the conditions in the room/passageways/lift. This was compounded by the reception and bar/restaurant areas being wonderfully air-conditioned and cool!

Because of this I do not think I will choose to stay at this hotel again and will instead find another Hilton group hotel nearby when visiting friends/relatives. The room after all, is the most important part of a hotel getaway to rest and recharge and be ready for heading out to places/events.

Room Tip: As low a floor as possible as that may give some benefit from the air conditioned ground and lower g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watford
1.7 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Watford Junction
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mercure London Watford Hotel
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
3.4 mi away
De Vere Hunton Park
De Vere Hunton Park
#1 of 1 in Hunton Bridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Watford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Watford

Property: Hilton Watford
Address: Elton Way, Watford WD25 8HA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Watford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Watford 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Watford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Watford Hotel Watford
Hilton International Watford
Watford Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing