We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service provided for a decent product” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Watford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hilton Watford
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Watford
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Service provided for a decent product”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

Great Service provided for a decent product. Old & dated building but the service provided by reception is nothing short of 5 stars.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LondonHotelCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NShears, General Manager at Hilton Watford, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hilton Watford.

I know the Reception team will be delighted to read that you felt their service was of five star quality.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Watford on your next visit to the area.

Yours sincerely

Neil Shears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    500
    383
    203
    134
See reviews for
369
485
68
423
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
aberdeen
Level Contributor
65 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

Stayed here on March 2nd as a diamond member. Having had a disastrous stay last year, I thought I would try again, and have to say I think it has got worse. This hotel should not be a hilton. Check in was uneventful - given an average room. As this hotel does not have an executibve lounge, you get offered a white or red wine, though have to wait ages for room service (other hotels now give a drinks voucher which is far simpler).. However, the front desk supervisor and the night front desk manager must be the rudest employees I have ever met. The night front desk manager thinks that she owns the hotel as she has been there for years and will provide no customer service (I actually think she tries to be worse if you are a diamond member). She is a disgrace to hilton. The redeeming feature was breakfast which was excellent as always (though the unhelpful front desk say that diamond members have to pay £5 for a full breakfast although this does not happen - it is a joke when most hotels with exec lounge provide hot breakfast). Also, be warned the hotel is a £10 taxi ride, I have had better service from the travelodge in Watford. I would recommend jurys inn or park inn (i only used as being loyal to hilton) which are in town and do not have employees with attitude problems. Full credit to the breakfast team though who excelled!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bikevail09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NShears, General Manager at Hilton Watford, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I was disappointed to read that you were not afforded our usual high standards of service, for this please accept my sincere apologies.

I am keen to discuss the issues you encountered in more detail and as such I can be contacted via the main hotel telephone number - 01923 235881.

I look forward to having an opportunity to discuss your stay in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Neil Shears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

Recent stay with a friend only really tarnished on check out by an excessive fee for watching a movie. Parking was plentiful & easy. Check in greeted by friendly lady who was quick & efficient. The room was clean & tidy - whilst not that spacious it served the purpose. Unfortunately chose a cup final weekend so the place was invaded with scousers & the welsh dragon - all very well behaved & made for good conversation - nice bar area with good service. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice & all piping hot. Stay away from the movie packages - no cost disclosed by the Hilton when booking & to make matters worse the receptionist wasnt backing down on the charge at check out - you have been warned.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NShears, General Manager at Hilton Watford, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hilton Watford.

I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay and the Cup Final atmosphere in the hotel added to the overall experience.

I have double checked our in room movie system and the price of each individual film or package is clearly displayed on the screen before it is possible to confirm that you wish to purchase, I am unable to account for why you were not afforded this notification.

I hope this issue of movie pricing will not deter you from using Hilton Watford again in the future.

Yours sincerely

Neil Shears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

When you check in they ask you to comment on their new menu but won't let you have any of it as room service - surely it all comes from the same kitchen - their loss I'll stay at the village next week.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CatRodgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NShears, General Manager at Hilton Watford, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hilton Watford.

I can sense the frustration your comments about availability of restaurant menu items for room service. I am conducting a review of our current practices and will take your comments into consideration during the process.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Hilton Watford at some point in the future.

Yours sincerely

Neil Shears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

Wasn't expecting it to be brilliant and was not let down! Rather basic but convenient location. Queue to check in. Very noisy floorboards. Nobody asked us about coffee at breakfast then 5 people all came one after another. To be fair it was good value.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kingbolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NShears, General Manager at Hilton Watford, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hilton Watford.

I was pleased to read that you felt your stay was good value for money and found our location convenient. I would accept that at times queues form at check-in, please accept my apologies for any inconvenience this caused.

I have also emphasised to the breakfast team the need for a swift and co-ordinated service of tea and coffee in the morning.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Watford when you are next visiting the area.

Yours sincerely

Neil Shears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

I stayed in the hotel for over a year during the working week. I found the staff friendly, helpful and professional. I have stayed in many hotels for long periods of time due to my line of work and the staff at this hotel are in a different league!
The room was always clean and tidy and the restaurant food was very good and they regularly changed the menu as well as have a specials menu every day. The gym was well equipped and it was great to also have a swimming pool and sauna onsite all within a reasonable price.

Overall I would recommend the hotel 100%.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingProgMgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NShears, General Manager at Hilton Watford, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your many stays at Hilton Watford.

I have shared your comments with the team and it brought a smile to their faces. We understand that when you are away from home for an extended period of time it is the little touches on a regular basis that make the difference.

Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to welcome you back to Hilton Watford when the need arises again.

Yours sincerely

Neil Shears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed for two nights. The staff on reception were thoroughly professional, friendly and helpful. The room was immaculate. The staff at breakfast were lovely, nothing was too much trouble.

We have stayed at various hotels in the area and we are so sorry that we did not find The Hiton sooner! We will certainly be returning to The Hiton when we need to stay in the area.

Thank you to everyone who made our stay so pleasant.

Room Tip: Speak to the staff at reception!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rgms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NShears, General Manager at Hilton Watford, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hilton Watford.

I am delighted that now you have found us, you are keen to return. The team have read your comments and feel proud of their achievements.

We all look forward to your next visit to Hilton Watford.

Yours sincerely

Neil Shears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watford
1.7 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Watford Junction
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
0.7 mi away
Mercure London Watford Hotel
3.4 mi away
De Vere Hunton Park
De Vere Hunton Park
#1 of 1 in Hunton Bridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Watford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Watford

Property: Hilton Watford
Address: Elton Way, Watford WD25 8HA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Watford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Watford 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hilton Watford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Watford Hotel Watford
Hilton International Watford
Watford Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing