We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs a renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure London Watford Hotel
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Needs a renovation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for business in December. The rooms are very dated and slightly weird in layout. It didn't have a meal on site so cannot comment on that. The bar area is decent enough. The hotel has a strange 1960s vibe and needs a renovation to bring it forward a few decades. I will continue to stay at the Hilton next door which is also dated but slightly better!

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan P, General Manager at Mercure London Watford Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure , but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your feedback,

Kind Regards

Allan Porter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    228
    247
    158
    136
See reviews for
170
266
38
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We Stayed there as it was local to relatives. Family room booked for 4,one single bed and a small double given. Sticky surfaces in room. Radiator thermostat would not turn down room boiling. No hot water for showers. No breakfast buffet as booked. Many breakfast dishes not available. Fresh coffee was instant placed into a cafeteria.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pepperman103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve S, General Manager at Mercure London Watford Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Pepperman 103

Thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor.

At Mercure we strive to offer an excellent guest experience and I am sorry on this occasion we failed to do so. Due to the Festive season the decision was taken to offer a limited food service within the hotel for which I believe all guests were contacted in advance to advise them in advance.

With regards to your comments regarding your room I will pass these on to the Head Housekeeper and Maintenance Manager in an effort to address those concerns and prevent future occurrences.

Once again I am sorry we did not meet your expectations.

Kind regards

Patrick Diack.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel on many occasions and always ahve found that the staff on reception most helpful with the booking in process. Our rooms have always been clean and up to standard. The food in the restaraunt and bar has always been very tasteful and value for money. This has been enhanced by the standard of the friendly staff friendliness

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve S, General Manager at Mercure London Watford Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Norman W

Thank you for your recent review posted on Trip Advisor. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback.

I will ensure your comments are passed on to the team as it will encourage them to continue with the quality of their welcome and customer service / friendly professional approach to our guests.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Patrick Diack.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Stayed here twice in December had have to say apart from the reception staff most of the staff I encountered bordered on being rude and dis-interested.
The rooms need sprucing up, they look and feel tired, breakfast is not a particularly good experience nor was the evening meal.
I have to say I have stayed at worse, but given the choice I would not rush back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisD1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve S, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure London Watford Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear ChrisD1961

Thank you for your feedback posted on Trip Advisor.

I am sorry you have not enjoyed the time spent at the hotel.

I will pass on your feedback to the relevant departments in an effort to address your concerns and prevent future occurrences.

Once again please accept my sincere apologies.

Kind regards

Janette McKenna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ovacik, Turkey
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Opted to stay overnight for a recent Xmas works do,mate dinner and drank far too much! Hotel staff could not have been nicer, the bar ladies were chatty and jokey with our party, the restaurant staff were polite and friendly, the food was hot and tasty. Booking in to reception was hassle free. The room was clean, large and warm (have stayed in larger chain hotels and frozen in winter so was very pleased to find a working radiator!!). All in all I would certainly recommend a stay here...thanks Mercure for a lovely evening!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jopiancat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve S, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure London Watford Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Jopiancat

Thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor.

It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. We are also pleased to have been part of your Christmas celebrations. I will ensure that your comments are passed on to the whole team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Merry Christmas and kind regards

Janette McKenna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

I made the mistake of staying here for a night in November. Check-in was fairly straightforward, but what happened afterwards wasn't! The first room I was given had no working heating and so I asked to be moved. The second room, again had no working heating and the window latch was broken so the room was cold and draughty. The third room was exactly the same, no working heating and draughty windows. The fourth room was a little better as the heating was working, but the windows were still quite draughty, by this time it was past midnight and I could not be bothered to argue with the staff or move again. It was a very cold night and so I wanted a warm room, especially if I'm paying over £100. The staff are well aware of the awful condition of the hotel and simply shrug their shoulders saying "I'm sorry , theres nothing we can do". I argued for a full refund in the morning and the manager eventually agreed. Avoid at all costs, theres a nice Hilton just down the road!

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlueSerenity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve S, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure London Watford Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear BlueSerenity

Thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

Unfortunately we did have a problem with a boiler breakdown. This has now been rectified. I will also pass on your comments to our maintenance team to avoid future issues with the windows as described.

Once again I am sorry for the issues you encountered and inconvenience caused.

Many thanks

Janette McKenna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Got to say you do get what you pay for. We paid 99 for two nights b-b which suited us but I would have been upset if I would have paid full price. The breakfast was not nice. The room was large and tidy. It was suitable for our needs. The bathroom was fine but how difficult is it to give it a clean? The toilet was engrained at the bottom of the s bend with something that you would see on how clean is your house, the mould on the tiles was terrible at the top and the floor was grubby. Back to the hilton down the road next time I think, more money but again you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mummy_of_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve S, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure London Watford Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Good Morning Mummy_of_H

Thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor.

I am sorry we did not meet with your expectations. I will pass on your feedback to the Head of each department mentioned and ask them to implement a plan to ensure we get it right for the future.

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Many thanks

Janette McKenna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Watford hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
2.1 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Watford Junction
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN White House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Watford Central Hotel
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Watford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Watford Hotel

Property: Mercure London Watford Hotel
Address: Tylers Way, Watford WD25 8JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Watford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Watford Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within easy reach of Watford, M1, M25 and A1M motorway, Mercure London Watford Hotel is an ideal choose for both business and leisure travel. Central Watford can be reached in less then 10 minutes, where you are able to take the train or tube to central London from Watford Junction Station. The Hotel offer 218 modern style bedrooms, all with flat screen satellite TV with on-demand movies and complimentary standard WiFi. All rooms have a work desk, tea/coffee facilities, direct deal telephone and 24 hour Room Service. The Brasserie restaurant and bar is decorated with classical artwork, and serves a varied European menu. Relax and enjoy beverages and light snacks on the heated garden terrace, or in the vibrant bar. Mercure London Watford has a Feel Good Health Club, with a swimming pool and fully equipped gym. Guests can relax in the sauna, spa bath or steam room, and massage treatments are also available. Looking to explore the local area; Bushey, Borehamwood, Elstree, Wembley and St Albans and all within easy reach of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure London Watford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Watford
Watford Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing