We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure London Watford Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    228
    261
    165
    139
See reviews for
175
279
38
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
SKEWEN
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

We booked a deal. £125 for 2 nights bed and brekfast with dinner on the first night....it was fine with no problems! There are a lot of negative remarks about this place but we found it clean, tidy and the location great. The food is adequate with the buffet brekfast superb for a hard days slog in Central London. If your getting the train in there are fast ones which take 17mins into euston and car parking for £4.80. The staff at the hotel are all very nice and made a fuss of our two children. The room was fine We had a family room. 435 with a sette a cot a double, bathroom very nice with a corner bath Overall we couldn't daily the place and yes I'd go back there for the price we paid. Well worth it

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ANDREW2717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve S, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure London Watford Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Andrew2717

Thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will ensure that it is passed on to the team as I am sure you will agree it will act as positive encouragement to deliver the best customer experience possible.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Janette McKenna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We booked a £99 DBB Spa weekend break through Wahanda to celebrate my Sister's birthday. Staff were very friendly and Michael on Front Desk and Tony in the Restaurant/Bar/Spa (he was everywhere!) were particularly helpful and deserve a special mention.

Rooms (425) were very dated and dusty with headboards and bedside cabinets missing. Breakfast and Dinner were good, although tables and cutlery were not cleaned properly. Bar had a terrible odour, as did the corridors. There was a Disco on the Friday night; however, guests were expected to pay the full price to get in (mainly over 50s - so we didn't bother!).

Very disappointed with the Leisure facilities, which consisted of a small pool, cold and damp sun loungers. The steam and sauna were being cleaned at 11am (at least they were being cleaned).

The Jacuzzi had way too much bleach in it and managed to ruin mine and two of my friends swimming costumes - for which we can't be compensated for (don't have a receipt) although, have been offered the opportunity to return. My skin has been itching ever since!

All in all - if you want a cheap no-frills weekend break then 'book away!'

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve S, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure London Watford Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Denise C

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

I will ensure these comments ate passed on to the senior team to prevent future occurrences.

With regards to the Disco you mention this is run by another company who simply hire our room and equipment hence the charge to enter.

I can also now advise that all facilities within the leisure club are now in perfect working order.

If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards

Janette McKenna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2013

leisure london and shows it is great have the pool and gym to use - dinner on first night was included in the offer and was very good would recommend - so easy to travel into london on tubes. very nice 2 nights away








  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Les E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve S, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure London Watford Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Good afternoon Les E

Thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor.

Great to know you had an enjoyable weekend away.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Janette McKenna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I have just got back from a 3 week stay as a pain management patient at the hotel and miss it already. The staff made my stay so enjoyable. Dominica is one of the friendliest people I have ever met, she was so welcoming everyday even after working such long hours. Bella the kitchen chef catered to are every need. The portions were extremely big and the food was very tasty.

Sammy who delivered the lunch to us was always very polite and helpful.

The only downfalls were the dirty carpets very odd stains and the Jacuzzi has too much chlorine in, which took the colour out of my costume.

I would recommend this hotel due to the brilliant staff :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve S, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure London Watford Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Sophie E

Thank you for your comments regarding the team posted on Trip Advisor.

It is always a pleasure for our staff to receive such positive feedback. I will ensure that your comments are passed on to the rest of the team.

We will look forward to seeing you again soon and wish you well for the future.

Kind regards

Janette McKenna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Business stay 4 days. Location is not within easy walk of any services. Huge amount of traffic at peak times. Staff generally friendly and helpful. Hotel is somewhat tired and in need of updating. Good news about the room was that the temp stayed reasonable for good sleep. Old fixturing, not enough lighting, little space. Admittedly the room looked better than hallways and common areas. Restaurant food is hit or miss: chicken sandwich dry and salty, chicken tikka excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve S, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure London Watford Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear B X

Thank you for your providing your valuable feedback via Trip Advisor.

Such feedback is excellent for us to work with, in our constant endeavour to improve our facilities and the service provided. We are currently awaiting major refurbishment which will enhance many areas of the hotel.

I will ensure that your comments are passed on to the relevant member of our team so they can be rectified to prevent future occurrences.

If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind regards

Janette McKenna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Had a weekend special deal £99.00 for two days spa so they said, but I certainly would not call it a spa as the facilities was not good and had far too much chlorine in the jacuzzi and swimming pool and the loungers was so wet and uncomfortable it was not relaxing. They did not provide any dressing gowns but the treatment I received was very good I paid for that as a extra and would of being nice to be wrapped in a gown afterwards as you would expect at a spa. the hotel is very dated and has a very bad smell of nicotine in the corridors. The meals was very average but the staff was very friendly and helpful overall not a break for a retreat but for a night if you got stranded. Fripps

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fripps_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve S, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure London Watford Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Good afternoon Fripps_2

Thank you for your feedback posted on Trip Advisor.

With regards to the leisure club Pool and Spa I apologise for the inconvenience caused I am aware that on that day the plant equipment was not functioning correctly and that the staff did all they could to keep the facilities open. Unfortunately due to the malfunction on the plant room equipment the Jacuzzi has since been closed and will remain so until our contractor has been able to obtain the required parts.

I will also pass on the comments regarding the robe to Inspirations which is the separate company who provided your treatments.

We hope we can welcome you back in the future once the Jacuzzi is in full working order.

Kind regards
Janette McKenna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Watford hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
1,654 reviews
2.1 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Watford Junction
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
2.3 mi away
Best Western White House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Watford Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Watford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Watford Hotel

Property: Mercure London Watford Hotel
Address: Tylers Way, Watford WD25 8JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Watford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Watford Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within easy reach of Watford, M1, M25 and A1M motorway, Mercure London Watford Hotel is an ideal choose for both business and leisure travel. Central Watford can be reached in less then 10 minutes, where you are able to take the train or tube to central London from Watford Junction Station. The Hotel offer 218 modern style bedrooms, all with flat screen satellite TV with on-demand movies and complimentary standard WiFi. All rooms have a work desk, tea/coffee facilities, direct deal telephone and 24 hour Room Service. The Brasserie restaurant and bar is decorated with classical artwork, and serves a varied European menu. Relax and enjoy beverages and light snacks on the heated garden terrace, or in the vibrant bar. Mercure London Watford has a Feel Good Health Club, with a swimming pool and fully equipped gym. Guests can relax in the sauna, spa bath or steam room, and massage treatments are also available. Looking to explore the local area; Bushey, Borehamwood, Elstree, Wembley and St Albans and all within easy reach of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure London Watford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Watford
Watford Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing