We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent...well until the swimming lessons in the pool started”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure London Watford Hotel
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Watford
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent...well until the swimming lessons in the pool started”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I booked the hotel through Wahanda for a one night spa break with a friend.
Check in was swift and efficient and our room, although small was perfectly sized for one night. Not much room to swing a cat in but for a night or two it was ok. Lovely powerful shower in bathroom.

Hotel is a bit of a rabbit warren and it took us ages to find the spa. We finally found it, signed in and were given towels and locker keys. Changing room sufficient.

In the spa area there is a pool, steam room, jacuzzi and sauna (which wasn't turned on until late afternoon).

It was lovely, calm and serene (although the jacuzzi was boiling hot - uncomfortably hot) until 3.30pm when tons of kids came in for swimming lessons!

The small pool was roped off into three - leaving just the middle "lane" for us punters. Well I say lane - it wasn't even wide enough to swim one up and one down next to each other.

Highly disappointing when you've gone there specifically to get away from the husband and children!

Dinner was lovely and through the deal we got you couldn't stay at a travelodge and eat for what we paid. Very impressed with the food - well apart from the flat lemonade! Also were told when we went to pay for our drinks after dinner (not included in our deal) that because we spent less than our allowance our drinks would be included. Not happy to then be told at checkout we owed for the drinks. We explained our case and they said not to worry about it.

Breakfast was lovely as well!

Only other complaint was that even though the radiator was off, the pipes underneath it were roasting and the room was SOOOOO hot.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank singingsister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon S, Manager at Mercure London Watford Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Singing sisters,
Thank you for taking the time to comment with regards to your stay Mercure London Watford.

I would like to first of all thank you for your kind comments regarding the check in, Dinner and breakfast and please be assured that I will pass these comments to the departments.

We do have swimming lessons booking within the hotel within our health Club from the hours of 3.30pm until 5.30pm Monday to Friday. However we have recently stopped the swimming lessons at a weekend due to taking on board guest feedback.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    228
    268
    172
    143
See reviews for
182
284
38
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The bar is downstairs, low lighting and an empty table & chairs by the doorway are the only things visible from the foyer, making it look closed and uninviting. On returning to the hotel on Saturday evening, we were asked for our last orders at 11pm! I've never experienced this in a UK chain hotel before.
The room was adequate, although having a wardrobe without doors and a kingsize bed with only one bedside shelf (not even on my side!) didn't give a good impression.
Staff attitudes good and I particularly enjoyed the fresh pineapple on the breakfast buffet.
Another first - decent-sized swimming pool that was too warm!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 42Joolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon S, Manager at Mercure London Watford Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear 42 Joolz,
Thank you for taking the time to comment with regards to your stay Mercure London Watford.
I do take on board your comments with regards to the bar and bar service. The bar area within the next few weeks will be undergoing a small refurbishment and at the same time one of our key roles will be to ensure staff training is carried out with the launch of this key area within the hotel.
Throughout 2013 a number of rooms within the hotel will be refurbished and this will include new beds that are due to be in place within the hotel by the end of April. Thank you for your comments regarding the hotel staff and breakfast.
Once again thank you for your comments.

Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I am a member of the Sebastian Coe health club, I would like to say that Jo the Manager and all the Staff are always very friendly, helpful and professional.
The club is always clean and tidy.

They are always willing to go that extra mile. It's a pleasure to visit the club.

Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa Carmel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon S, Manager at Mercure London Watford Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Theresa Carmel O,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on the Sebastian Coe Health Club at the Mercure London Watford.
Reading your comments I know the Leisure Club team, will be even more encouraged to offer all members and guests the highest possible standards and service within the club.
Once again thank you for your comments.

Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Excellent value hotel. Room very clean with everything you need (even bottled water on hospitality tray). Complimentary wi-fi. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Free parking. Use of gym facilities, swimming pool etc. Approx 6 miles to Warner Brothers Studio Tour. Only a few miles to Watford Tube Station to access London etc.

Food at breakfast and evening meal was well cooked and tasty.

Very enjoyable stay, would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBarr_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon S, Manager at Mercure London Watford Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear KBarr_13,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Mercure London Watford.

I was please to read that you had an enjoyable stay within the hotel and please be assured that I will pass on all your comments to the hotel team.

Once again thank you for your comments.
Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Staff needs urgent training. They wouldn't check you in not a minute before 2pm. There is hardly anyone in the reception and when they turn up you are certainly not treated like a guest. Make sure you apologise for disturbing the staff. Hotel is in the middle of nowhere so it serves locals I guess. There is no transportation. Chain hotel of Fawlty Towers.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cigkur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon S, Manager at Mercure London Watford Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Cigkur,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Mercure London Watford. I would personally like to apologise for the reception team within the hotel.

Please be assured that I will personally look into your comments. We have a number of guests that check in early and wherever possible we will always ensure that all guests checking into the hotel early are allocated a room.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The room was tidy but the carpet was dirty. The couple above us went into their room in the early hours of morning and loudly started argueing. I telephoned reception and twice the receptionist put the telephone down on me. The 3rd time I phoned somebody went to the room and told them that I had complained and asked them to keep the noise down. The couple made even more noise but this time laughing. Finally it was all quiet and I went to sleep but only for 3 hours as the couple started again at 5.30am. Staying at your hotel was not a plesureable experince

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank lorrainebubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon S, Manager at Mercure London Watford Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear lorrainebubb,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Mercure London Watford. I would personally like to apologise for the disturbance in sleep and the way my team handled the situation.

I have taken you comments on board and I will personally ensure that our reception night’s team are retrained with regards to dealing with guest comments and the importance of guest satisfaction.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed for three nights while visiting relatives in area- very relaxed although the bar was a bit noisy. Plenty of parking and handy for the M1, M25 and Luton Airport is about 30 minutes away. Breakfast on the Sunday was a bit chaotic due to large numbers of guests at a wedding the previous night . The staff worked very hard to meet everyones needs

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donjmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon S, Manager at Mercure London Watford Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear donjmoore,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Mercure London Watford. I feel that your comments are a valuable.

We have increased our staffing for breakfast to ensure that all our guests receive outstanding service. At the same time I thank you for your kind comments with regards to the team and please be assured that I will pass these on.

Once again thank you for your comments.
Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Watford hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
1,727 reviews
2.1 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Best Western White House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Watford Junction
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Watford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Watford Hotel

Property: Mercure London Watford Hotel
Address: Tylers Way, Watford WD25 8JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Watford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Watford Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within easy reach of Watford, M1, M25 and A1M motorway, Mercure London Watford Hotel is an ideal choose for both business and leisure travel. Central Watford can be reached in less then 10 minutes, where you are able to take the train or tube to central London from Watford Junction Station. The Hotel offer 218 modern style bedrooms, all with flat screen satellite TV with on-demand movies and complimentary standard WiFi. All rooms have a work desk, tea/coffee facilities, direct deal telephone and 24 hour Room Service. The Brasserie restaurant and bar is decorated with classical artwork, and serves a varied European menu. Relax and enjoy beverages and light snacks on the heated garden terrace, or in the vibrant bar. Mercure London Watford has a Feel Good Health Club, with a swimming pool and fully equipped gym. Guests can relax in the sauna, spa bath or steam room, and massage treatments are also available. Looking to explore the local area; Bushey, Borehamwood, Elstree, Wembley and St Albans and all within easy reach of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure London Watford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Watford
Watford Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing