We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic and tasty”

Hanako Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 258 Restaurants in Watford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Authentic and tasty”
Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

The food is tasty here. The dumplings, stuck breast and prawns are delicious. It is expensive and all cooked to order so be patient.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gemmador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    29
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, Oxon
Level Contributor
77 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Team Dinner”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I thought I was being quite enterprising going to a Japanese restaurant in Watford - which, lets face it, is not world renowned for the quality of its eateries and bars. First impressions were not great, it looks sligtly run-down cafe. I need not have worried. The sushi/sashimi were world class - the tofu spicy salad should not be missed and the chicken teriyaki was to die for. If you like chains like Wagamamma this is not for you - but if you fancy a truly exceptional meal, try Hanako. Incidentally I read hear that the service was rude and unfriendly - that was not my experience at all. We will def go back !!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BerryKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croxley Green
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Top notch Japanese food as always”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Discovered ahanako a couple of years ago, it's brilliant!

Small, quirky, nice service and authentic tasty food, it feels like a little part of Japan at the northeast end of Watford High Street.

The food is not cheap, but the sushi melts in your mouth, the noodles and curries are intensely tasteful and prawn spring rolls are still making me feel moorish the night after.

The food is made to order so don't expect to be served in 2 minutes, but do let them know if you're in a rush and they will do all they can for you.

I'm a real foodie and this is by far the best restaurant of any type within 3 miles of me in Croxley Green.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrTall_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“very average at best”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

went to this restaurant about six months ago it is very over priced as the food is average at best the quatily of restaurants in watford are very poor i love japanese food but i would not eat here again i cant wait for wagamama which is coming in december

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food, Good Service & Good Music (if you like Jazz)”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I have been frequenting Hanako for over 8 years and have never been disappointed. The food is excellent and fresh with generous portions. I love the traditional deserts and the owner/manager serves the food with attention and pride, helping out with suggestions if required. I love this little inn and reminds me of the small traditional establishments in the outskirts of Kyoto. Great for a get together with friends or quiet chats with your other half. There is always some quiet classic Jazz in the background, which is never too loud.

I recommend visiting Hanako on a cold winters day to have a large bowl of the heart warming Ramen (noodle soup). Highly recommended!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptNikhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanako Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Watford, Hertfordshire
Watford, Hertfordshire
 
Watford, Hertfordshire
Borehamwood, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Hanako Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing