We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but poor staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jurys Inn London Watford
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but poor staff”
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Good hotel well positioned but staff very unhelpful. Also no parking and very limited space to load and unload the car. Local multi storey car parks are well priced but a hike in the rain. Breakfast is acceptable for a large hotel

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cloudr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JurysWatford_Manager, General Manager at Jurys Inn London Watford, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Cloudr,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay here at Jurys Inn Watford - I am sorry that you found the car parking situation difficult in the Town. We recommend guests use the Sutton Car Park (details of which can be found on our website jurysinns.com).

You mention in your review that members of the Team encountered during your stay were “poor” and “unhelpful” however you do not mention why that was the case.

To allow me to investigate the matter further for you please contact me direct and I will investigate your concerns personally - my contact details are below.

Kind regards,

Andy
andy_gray@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    724
    589
    238
    93
    41
See reviews for
600
349
65
339
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights as a family mainly to travel into London to see the Christmas lights. The Hotel is ideally located, about 5 mins drive off of the M1. As others have pointed out there isn't any parking at the hotel, but there is drop off parking available and the nearest car park s only a few minutes walk away costing £6 for 24 hours so no big deal really.

Reception was extremely helpful, the rooms were clean and a decent size. Breakfast was great, a great selection and cooked really well, they were always replenishing everything, so all food was also fresh. The restaurant staff were extremely friendly and helpful and there is plenty of space , with tables being cleared and cleaned constantly even when it was really busy.

The only gripe I have is with the beds, ours wasn't the most comfortable, you tended to roll into the middle... In addition the sofa bed where our 12 and 7 year old slept was only a little bit bigger than a standard single , (its a good job really they are both on the small side), i am certain they wouldn't have wanted to sleep on it for more than a couple of nights...

On the whole I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again, but next time I would check out the bed first and maybe ask to change rooms before we had unpacked and got settled.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetandtweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Excellent Hotel, 1st time in a Jury's Hotel and have to say I am very impressed. Very, very friendly reception staff, could not help enough. Even one of the cleaners were most helpfull when I found myself locked out my room. Very high standard for the price I paid. Excellent facilities in the room, and very clean. Most comfortable sleep and lovely shower. We asked for a bucket of ice to be delivered to our room as the machine in the lobby seemed not be be working and it was delivered almost immediatly. Breakfast excellent, everything you could ask for and restaurant manager very attentive.
Planning to travel to Watford quite a bit and this will be my choice EVERY TIME!
Well done JURYS INN WATFORD! See you soon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imagoodgirliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

So pleased with this hotel. On arrival we got a free room upgrade which was a lovely surprise, and the staff were all so friendly. Room cleaned every day, spotless. It's a 5 minute walk from the harry potter bus and watford junction station which has regular trains to Euston. Buffet breakfast was gorgeous with a huge selection. I've stayed at other jurys inns before and this was my favourite so far. Could not fault this hotel and would love to return.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUTON, BEDFORDSHIRE
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Have often used Jurys Inn for breakfast as we are local, havent been for while and they have now put the price up by £2 but the quality of food has come right down. All food was over cooked and tasteless except for the bacon that was undercooked and tasteless. Wont be going back

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crawfie35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JurysWatford_Manager, General Manager at Jurys Inn London Watford, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Ms Crawford,

Thank you for providing us with feedback concerning your recent breakfast experience here at Jurys Inn Watford; naturally I was extremely disappointed to read your comments and I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you and your guests.

Since the posting of this review we have also been in contact via email and I hope that the findings of my investigation were to your satisfaction; I can assure that your comments have been used in a constructive manner in an attempt to ensure that we learn from our mistakes for your return visit to the Hotel on the 16th December.

Kind regards,

Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

The hotel rooms are good as is the food but it has one drawback, parking.

No parking on site except two blue badge ones. The nearest is about 600-800 meters away and cost £6 which other hotels have free in the area.

It rained both days I stayed there so I and luggage got wet four times. Not good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrinceLard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Myself and my daughter along with my granddaughter and three of her friends stayed overnight to visit the nearby Harry Potter studios experience. Unfortunately there was a booking error as my daughter had requested a room for us and an adjoining room for the girls aged 10. This was a birthday treat for my granddaughter and my daughter had spoken to hotel staff to confim that this was possible before booking. On arrival they said they didnt have rooms available and the only rooms were completely seperate which meant the party had to be split up which was gong to spoil the birthday treat completely. The duty manager came out apologised but confirmed that there were no suitable adjoining rooms. My daughter said that this was not acceptable as the booking had been made around the birthday treat and that was why she confirmed by telephone. Duty manager finally said he could put a sofa bed in one of the rooms which was adjoining a triple. We were offered drinks whilst this was being sorted, which took about 50 mins. Unfortunately they still forgot to put the extra towels and cups etc in the room, this still took another three requests. We finally received the towels about 10.15 pm. The whole process was rather frustrating especially when it involves a group of four children.

This was all a shame as the upside after everyting was sorted was that the rooms were plain but quite pleasant very clean and quite spacious, with the usual tea/coffee hairdrier etc. the beds were comfortable and breakfast was very nicely presented with lots of choice, staff very pleasant as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leolady011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Watford hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Watford Junction
1.7 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Watford Central Hotel
2.1 mi away
Mercure London Watford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn London Watford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn London Watford

Property: Jurys Inn London Watford
Address: Hannay House 39 Clarendon Road, Watford WD17 1JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Watford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Watford
#3 Romantic Hotel in Watford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn London Watford 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on Clarendon Road, Jurys Inn Watford is perfectly situated to enjoy all that the city centre has to offer. Our hotel is perfectly placed for transport links to, from and beyond London with Watford Junction an easy 8 minute walk from Jurys Inn. With Watford's bustling city centre on Jurys Inn's doorstep, business and leisure guests will not be short of things to do or places to eat and drink. Discover the Watford Indoor Market and intu shopping centre just around the corner or explore the surrounding explosion of restaurants, bars, cafes, high street stores, parks and sports grounds, all within a ten minute walking radius. Jurys Inn Watford offers ultimate comfort in any one of our 216 stylish hotel rooms. With plenty of space and accommodating up to three adults or a family of four, each bedroom includes as standard: a large soft bed, well-lit work area, en-suite bathroom with complimentary toiletries, free WiFi internet access, and flat screen TV with Freeview. Our stylish onsite bar and restaurant provides a relaxing place to unwind over a casual bite or drink after a bust day in the city. For evening entertainment away from bars and clubs, the Watford Colosseum is the perfect venue to catch a show and just ten minutes' walk from the hotel. Whether visiting for business or pleasure Jurys Inn Watford is ideally placed to suit your needs and offers an easy and relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Jurys Inn London Watford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Watford Hotel Watford
Jurys Hotel Watford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing