We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really great hotel stay in watford”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jurys Inn London Watford
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Really great hotel stay in watford”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Helpful staff,near to train station,well presented dinner menu compliment to the chef.I will really suggest every one to this hotel.Me and my husband came to jurys last weak for our surprise marriage anniversary.I already suggested my friends and family

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mac S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    689
    569
    232
    92
    39
See reviews for
579
331
63
326
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for work purposes and had a great stay. Nice clean room, good breakfast, location perfect just opposite the Harlequin shopping centre and a five min walk to watford station. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madihaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

My experience didn't get off to a good start when reception were adamant that I was booked in for 2 nights even though all my paperwork said one!
I was then kept waiting fro a good 5 minutes while the receptionist checked with his manager and after that they asked could they photocopy my confirmation email!!!!!

Then 10 minutes after getting to our room, room service knocked and just entered without waiting!

Finally, breakfast was basic to say the least, A full English without mushrooms?? To make matter worse the beans were congealed..

Will not be using Jury's again after this experience

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoonerPaul1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JurysWatford_Manager, General Manager at Jurys Inn London Watford, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear GoonerPaul1964,

Let me begin by thanking you for your feedback on your recent stay here at Jurys Inn Watford; I am sorry that there were elements of your visit which did not meet your expectations.

I have passed on your comments regarding your check in to our Front Office Manager who will endeavor to investigate the incident with her team. Whilst I am confident that the intensions of the receptionist were to ensure that you were not overcharged for your stay I agree that this could have been handled more appropriately so as you were not left waiting at the desk for a resolution.

Unfortunately without asking for further information regarding your room number etc I would be unable to comment on the Room Service incident and the reason for the intrusion; I accept that this is not an expected level of service and I sincerely apologise for any distress this may have caused.

We have recently been working hard to improve our breakfast offering and currently offer a cereal station, bread & pastries station, continental selection, porridge station and a selection of hot food; our staff are also on hand to accommodate any additional requests for items not on the buffet.

If you would like to discuss any of your concerns further please feel free to contact me direct at the hotel. Once again, thank you for your feedback and I hope I have went some way to reassure you that your observations will be acted upon with the departments concerned.

Kind regards,

Andy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed for two nights as we were visiting the harry potter studio tour(which was fab) this hotel was very handy to get the bus to the tour at watford junction. we flew from luton, and got the public bus to watford junction, on way back got a taxi to Luton it was £35.00. The breakfast was lovely, luch at bar was very good price, good location for shopping centre, and places to eat, we ate at nandos one night, and yates for lunch they were both lovely, yates was very cheap. Rooms big, clean, staff friendly esp Tracey. lovely birthday weekend.

Room Tip: we asked for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicholajxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 1 night ahead of a trip to WB studios Harry potter tour. It is well located to get to from the train station and is a short walk to the shopping centre, the rooms are clean spacious and well appointed with good security (lift is room key card activated)
However, the service was poor, from the unhelpful front desk when we discovered that despite the description saying parking there was none on site and we had to pay £6 to park in a multi storey down the road. Then the bar staff, who were initially baffled by our wine spritzer order brought us our meal without cutlery or napkins, and seemed put out when I asked for some. On the bright side the food was good.
I would stay again if visiting HP studios or London by train, but the parking is an extra expense and hassle that would put me off

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki00280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed at Jury's Inn for one night following a visit to Harry Potter Studios in Leavesden. It was ideally situated as only a few minutes walk to Watford Junction station where we got the Harry Potter shuttle bus. The staff at the hotel were extremely helpful. The rooms were lovely, very clean with comfortable beds. We'd booked adjacent rooms and they opened the adjoining doors for us. Breakfast was great - buffet, with lots of choice. Checking in and out was very easy. There is no car park - but the public car park across the road was very convenient (£12 for 24 hours). The evening meal in the restaurant was OK (well - fairly average), but it wasn't overly expensive. All in all a very good stay!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Well, set amongst the backdrop of sixties worn out architecture and a town centre in bad need of investment and a revamp this hotel is clean and offers comfortable accommodation. The rooms are well appointed (TV, air conditioning and internet access etc). The rest of the hotel is also well presented with, on the whole friendly and efficient staff. This represents what can only be described as an oasis in a desert of dirty and unkempt premises that Watford comprises.

The bar is popular enough with locals as well as residents and offers an array of beverages to suit most tastes and the food menu is varied but no more than adequate in quality. My colleague's dry beef burger and another's chicken burger required a healthy dollop of relish to make them remotely tasty. The club sandwich on the other hand was well prepared and easy. The description of "thick cut chips" has to be a candidate for a gross breach of the trade descriptions act, they more resembled produce from well known frozen food manufacturers. However a dollop of relish and salt made them a little tastier. Breakfast is buffet style and not bad for that type of service although I am more of a fan of freshly cooked it would be impossible at this busy hotel in the Watford desert.

On the whole, it does it's job and is not an unpleasant stay. It is convenient to train routes from Watford Junction into London and the north so it has to be on anyone's high priority if they absolutely have to stay in Watford!

The one bad thing is that they provide smoking rooms which if they are full are allocated to non-smokers!! Are they not in the 21st century, smoking is just not allowable in public rooms!!

Room Tip: Do not go for the smoking rooms which tend to be on the 6th floor. It is about time these were aboli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Archie58UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Watford hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Watford Junction
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
1.7 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Watford Central Hotel
0.2 mi away
Best Western White House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn London Watford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn London Watford

Property: Jurys Inn London Watford
Address: Hannay House 39 Clarendon Road, Watford WD17 1JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Watford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Watford
#3 Romantic Hotel in Watford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn London Watford 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on Clarendon Road, Jurys Inn Watford is perfectly situated to enjoy all that the city centre has to offer. Our hotel is perfectly placed for transport links to, from and beyond London with Watford Junction an easy 8 minute walk from Jurys Inn. With Watford's bustling city centre on Jurys Inn's doorstep, business and leisure guests will not be short of things to do or places to eat and drink. Discover the Watford Indoor Market and intu shopping centre just around the corner or explore the surrounding explosion of restaurants, bars, cafes, high street stores, parks and sports grounds, all within a ten minute walking radius. Jurys Inn Watford offers ultimate comfort in any one of our 216 stylish hotel rooms. With plenty of space and accommodating up to three adults or a family of four, each bedroom includes as standard: a large soft bed, well-lit work area, en-suite bathroom with complimentary toiletries, free WiFi internet access, and flat screen TV with Freeview. Our stylish onsite bar and restaurant provides a relaxing place to unwind over a casual bite or drink after a bust day in the city. For evening entertainment away from bars and clubs, the Watford Colosseum is the perfect venue to catch a show and just ten minutes' walk from the hotel. Whether visiting for business or pleasure Jurys Inn Watford is ideally placed to suit your needs and offers an easy and relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Jurys Inn London Watford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Watford Hotel Watford
Jurys Hotel Watford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing