We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Comfortable beds, quiet rooms and good service."”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“"Comfortable beds, quiet rooms and good service."”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

The first time I landed in London, I booked into this hotel. Its a budget hotel and located in a quiet area. You get a good night's sleep, comfortable beds, clean toilets and good service. The staff at the reception are helpful. The bar is quite good and the complementary breakfast is really good. I liked my stay at this establishment.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arvind0288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXPRESS_WATFORD, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Arvind0288,

Thank you for your review. I am glad you liked your stay with us. Hope to see you again in the future.

Kindest regards,

Phil Kleiser
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    317
    120
    33
    13
See reviews for
260
161
29
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tardebigge
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

First thing to say is that you know what to expect from a budget short-stay hotel so you shouldn't complain when it is less than luxurious.
The Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction is a functional, no frills venue that provides reasonable value for the budget traveller, although you do have to smile at the 'London' address. That said, the hotel is perfectly placed on the West Coast mainline into London; great if you want a convenient rail link into the capital, not so great if you don't like the noise of high speed trains.
It also has to be said that the location is far from scenic, and the local public car park on which you have to leave your car if the tiny hotel car park is full, is just awful. Ordinarily I would not dream of leaving my car in such an insecure area but you have little choice. The local pub is not for the faint hearted although thankfully the reasonable bar prices at the hotel mean that you don't really have to use it.
The hotel reception and communal areas are bright and welcoming, and the reception staff cheerful and polite. What was less than welcoming was our room itself. On entering we were struck by the strong smell of cigarette smoke and the bathroom smelled like a gents public toilet. Not nice.
The rest of the room provided the usual basic arrangement. It was clean and functional so no complaints. The beds were ok but no extra pillows provided.
We thought that the hotel breakfast, while basic, was actually quite good. Just don't expect anything special.
In summary, the Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction is ok for a short stay, perhaps over a weekend.
I don't subscribe to the view that budget hotels can't be outstanding because we have stayed in some excellent ones. This one is average. That said, it does represent reasonably good value and you get what you pay for.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Stuart J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXPRESS_WATFORD, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Stuart J,

Thank you for the in depth review of our property and your stay with us. We really appreciate the feedback and will be looking at ways to improve in the areas where felt the hotel was not up to scratch.

Kindest regards,

Phil Kleiser
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We chose this hotel due to its location. It is a couple of minutes walk from Watford Junction train station and therefore makes it ideal for getting into central London (trains cost around £6 and can take between 15 to 40 mins or so). It is of course even better placed for those going to the Harry Potter Studio tours as there is a shuttle bus that leaves from Watford Junction (platform 4) virtually every 15 mins (£2 return).

The hotel itself was clean and we were in a spacious twin room which more than served our needs. Obviously, given it is right next door to a train station, you will hear the noise of trains, so maybe consider bringing ear plugs if you want to keep noise levels to a minimum.
The only issue with the room I had was that it smelled slightly smoky, as if someone had been illegally smoking in the room prior to our visit.

Buffet Breakfast was included in the rate and consisted of both continental and cooked breakfasts though strangely there was no bacon, just sausages? Fried eggs wouldn't have gone amiss either.

All in all though this was a great base and certainly one I would consider again, especially if returning to the (excellent) Warner Bros studios.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skeletonjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXPRESS_WATFORD, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Skeletonjack,

Thank you for the thorough review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay overall and found our location so convenient. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kindest regards,

Phil Kleiser
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

If you are planning to go to the Harry Potter Studio Tour, the best place to stay is here. This hotel is good if you have small children with you. Most rooms have sofa beds which can fit 2. Its a short walk to where the Harry Potter shuttle buses are. Breakfast is nothing spectacular but edible. It's the same holiday inn express world-wide. No frills, clean hotel rooms, minimal breakfast and it's all you need.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D0ct0r_Bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXPRESS_WATFORD, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear D0ct0r_Bee,

Thank you for the kind review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope we see you again in the future.

Kindest regards,

Phil Kleiser
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in watford for the Harry potter tour. The hotel was ok, quite modern. Good location. You could hear the trains a bit but what do you expect! Had to switch rooms as when we stayed it was extremely hot and the air con wouldn't work, the staff seemed ok about this and were quite polite the whole stay. Breakfast was good but there was no staff about to seat you or welcome you which I thought was weird, you could have just walked in and helped yourself really. I expected a full English kind of thing but there was only 3 hot items, sausages, egg and beans but that was ok! The room was a nice size and the bed was really comfy, they had firm and soft pillows which was good. The bathroom was nice! The only thing was the hair dryer which you had to hold the button down the whole time you used it and it took ages to dry my hair, would deffo stay again bit probably bring my own hair dryer!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank GemmaW06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXPRESS_WATFORD, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear GemmaW06,

Firstly, apologies for the air conditioning not working in your room, this has been fixed and all rooms are now working. I am glad that almost everything else was okay with your stay. Your comments are really appreciated and will be referred to when looking at ways we can improve the hotel.

Kindest regards,

Phil Kleiser
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Stayed a night at the holiday inn in a family room accommodating 2 adults and 2 children. Clean room, modern shower and toilet facilities, TV, tea/ coffee facilities. Located right next to watford junction station. Car park charged at £5 per day. Free breakfast included for all, English & continental. Staff courteous. Good knowledge and suggestions about restaurants in the local area.
Allowed us late checkout and then even gave us back a room for an hour in the evening as we were attending a wedding and the ladies needed somewhere to change and freshen up.
To summarize, basic amenities but clean and modern. Staff very helpful and keen to make the stay pleasant and comfortable. Many thanks.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jai9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXPRESS_WATFORD, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Jai9,

Thank you so much for the review. I am really happy that you enjoyed your time with us.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Watford.

Kindest regards,

Phil Kleiser
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Just got home from a wonderful stay here. Rooms clean and location was perfect for Harry Potter studio tour. Stayed in rooms 712 and 714 overlooking the train station. NO train noise in the slightest overnight. The (free) breakfast was lovely. Great variety and well stocked up when low. Staff were very informative, helpful and friendly(Jana especially). Would stop here again when we are next in the area.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Button80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXPRESS_WATFORD, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Button80,

Thank you for the wonderful review! It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay and Jana will be delighted that she was particularly helpful.
Glad tosee that you would stay again and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest regards,

Phil Kleiser
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watford
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Watford Junction
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Watford Central Hotel
2.3 mi away
Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction

Property: Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
Address: 19 Bridle Path, Watford WD17 1UE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Watford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Watford
#4 Family Hotel in Watford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS LONDON WATFORD JUNCTION is situated 2 min from Watford Junction train station just off the A412, with close connections to M25 and M1. All 98 rooms have ensuite facilities with tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer, flat screen TV and airconditioning.Ideally located for both corporate and leisure travellers. BT, Total Oil, Sanyo, TK Maxx, Taylor Woodrow, Beko, Haden Young, Camelot, Coface, KPMG and J.D.Wetherspoon are just some of the offices within walking distance from the hotel. The hotel is within a few minutes from 3 Golf courses, Purley Chase, Bushy Hall & the West Herts Golf Clubs, which are also popular venues for weddings. From the hotel one can reach TOP GOLF in 10 min, Watford Palace Theatre in 4 min, Pump House Theatre in 8 min, Watford Colosseum in 4 min, Oceana Club in 4 min, Harlequin Centre in 6 min & Watford Football Club Stadium in 6 min. The Hotel offers high speed internet access throughout and rooms are airconditioned. The hotel is an ideal base for Tour Groups with London Euston just 15 minutes by train. The Hotel has 2 Conference Rooms offering state of the art meeting facilities, natural daylight and 24 hour and Day Delegate rates. Parking is available in a pay & display car park just 2 min from the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction Hotel Watford
Holiday Inn Express Watford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing