We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel ideal for the Harry Potter studio tour!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Certificate of Excellence
West Midlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good hotel ideal for the Harry Potter studio tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Me and my sister stayed here for one night as we were visiting the Warner Brothers Studio for the Harry Potter Studio Tour. It is in a perfect location very close to the train and bus station. It's very easy to catch the shuttle from the train station to the studio.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was nice and had everything we needed for our stay. The beds were pretty comfortable so we slept well.
All in all, a good hotel, good value for money and a great location!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissQB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXPRESS_WATFORD, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear NoRewind,

Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you had a nice birthday. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Kindest regards,

Phil Kleiser
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    314
    120
    33
    13
See reviews for
256
159
29
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

+ Fantastic value
+ Free wifi in room
+ Room spotlessly clean
+ Friendly helpful staff
+ 1 minute walk to Watford Junction train station

- Bar rather expensive
- No early check-in

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Watford Junction for one night and were delighted with our booking - at £50 b&b it really was fantastic value.

The purpose of our stay was a visit to the Harry Potter Studio Tour for which I don't think we could've found anything better in terms of location and value for money. There is a shuttle bus directly to the studio from Stance 4 at the station that is just £2 return and with the Harry Potter signage on its side and the familiar music playing on the short 10 minute ride it's a great way to build the excitement before the visit - if the Harry Potter tour is the sole purpose for your visit to London then I HIGHLY recommend doing it this way (there is also a shuttle bus from London Victoria but it is around £30 return).

Breakfast was decent, nothing to shout about but the fact that it is included in the room rate at all seems to be pretty unusual these days (the following night we stayed in a hotel in Shepherd's Bush at roughly three times the price of this one and there was no inclusive breakfast or wifi).

We ate at a nearby restaurant called Steakhouse which was nice and very reasonable with 50% off through Toptable so this is worth looking out for if you are looking for somewhere to eat.

All in all I highly recommend this hotel if you are in the area for any reason and particularly for those who are looking for a budget place to stay to save their pennies for Harry Potter like I was!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celticlinzi67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXPRESS_WATFORD, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Many thanks for writing a positive review about our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Best regards,
Gaby Slowikova
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights. I never ate here other than the breakfast which was ok. I would say however that it always seemed cold. But plenty of it. As usual you get very basic stuff but quite good. The only warm stuff is toast, scrambled egg, beans and toast. I stayed on 6th floor and tended to get a bit of rail noise but it wasnt a problem really. The beer in there is very expensive at 3.70 a pint of becks, or got a short walk back to the station and find the pub called the flag. Here you can get food and beer, i got a real ale for about 2.40, but it depends what you want. Its a lively welcoming pub. Overall ok with good walking access to watford junction station which has loads of trains into Euston, but the frequent journeys can become expensive.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trev D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXPRESS_WATFORD, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Many thanks for your review. Your feedback is much appreciated. I am sorry that you found the bar prices high. I hope that it won't deter you from staying with us some time in the future.
Best regards,
Gaby Slowikova
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

We visited this hotel as part of a group undertaking a charity event so the hotel had to be priced at a level that would suit all of the group. It was a weekend stay so I suspect it made it easier to get a good rate and for B&B it was a VERY good rate. The rooms are functional but immaculate and for once the lighting was enough for the other half to do her make up without the usual moan!
Breakfast is included and was not fancy but fresh and offered everything that one might want. The location is a little odd up a lane on the other side of the track to Watford Junction station but don't be concerned there is zero train noise and our room overlooked the station.
Anu, the reservations manager, couldn't have been more helpful and the reception staff that seemed to work many hours always seemed cheery and efficient.
For food the local pubs are awful however the Junction Cafe across the road was actually fine for a snack.
For business or an inexpensive weekend location this hotel is highly recommended and puts to shame a lot of the more expensive hotels we have stayed in.
Well done to them and thank you.
P.S. The Charity function was thankfully a major success

Room Tip: All rooms seem ok and are clustered around the elevators so no major hikes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXPRESS_WATFORD, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you ever so much for taking the time to write a nice review about our hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would recommend our hotel to others.
Best regards,
Gaby Slowikova
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Wifi is poor, and you have to pay more to get higher speed. Even I pay for it, it is not sorted out at all. In my bathroom, the basin is stuck as well. It is my first time to stay in Holiday inn. I might expect them too much. But in terms of wifi, it is a basic need.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXPRESS_WATFORD, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Jay Y,
Thank you for your time to write a review about our hote. I am sorry that you were not happy on this occassion. Please be advised that we have increased the speed of the standard free internet up to 1mb. With regards to the stuck basin I can assure you that the staff are on duty 24/7 and they are more than happy to attend to any issues that may arise in your bedroom during your stay. Once again I do sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused.
Best regards,
Gaby Slowikova
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is based bear Watford Junction train station. Can be noisy with trains at times, but not too bad.

Check on straight forward, car can be parked outside for free at certain times of night, or there was a car park around the back of the hotel.

Rooms are functional, no frills and a little dated now compared to other express hotels.

Great nights sleep, clean hotel, would recommend.

Rate is a tad more expensive and varies all the time. At £90 a room, it does not offer good value.

Overall a good place to stop over, however no frills at 4* prices.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Cheeksontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here this weekend for my friends 21st birthday. To start with it wasn't easily accessible and there weren't enough parking spaces for the guests. We got extremely lucky that our car could fit in a tight space just outside the hotel or we would have had to leave it out the back in a poorly lit long alleyway. The hotel itself is very clean, the rooms are nice and modern and the bed was comfy. Also there's free wifi which is good. The staff are all very helpful and polite. In the morning after our night out we went down to enjoy our complimentary breakfast to find that they had run out of sausages which we were told would take 15 minutes to replenish, when they finally came out they looked undercooked, bread for toast, very plain scrambled eggs, cold baked beans, blueberry muffins and juice or water. All in all the breakfast was pretty crap & we left very disappointed in that. The hotel is close to everything but do not get in a meter taxi, always call a taxi rank as the meter taxi's are very expensive and not worth it. Overall, average stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MissJackson92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXPRESS_WATFORD, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Miss Jackson92,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel and display some photos. I am very sorry that you were not happy about the car parking and breakfast. Your comments are much appreciated, as they tell us what we are doing right and wrong. They certainly help us to improve the services we provide and work on the shortcomings you mentioned.
Best regards,
Gaby Slowikova
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watford
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Watford Junction
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,581 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Watford Central Hotel
2.3 mi away
De Vere Hunton Park
De Vere Hunton Park
#1 of 1 in Hunton Bridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction

Property: Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
Address: 19 Bridle Path, Watford WD17 1UE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Watford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Watford
#4 Family Hotel in Watford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS LONDON WATFORD JUNCTION is situated 2 min from Watford Junction train station just off the A412, with close connections to M25 and M1. All 98 rooms have ensuite facilities with tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer, flat screen TV and airconditioning.Ideally located for both corporate and leisure travellers. BT, Total Oil, Sanyo, TK Maxx, Taylor Woodrow, Beko, Haden Young, Camelot, Coface, KPMG and J.D.Wetherspoon are just some of the offices within walking distance from the hotel. The hotel is within a few minutes from 3 Golf courses, Purley Chase, Bushy Hall & the West Herts Golf Clubs, which are also popular venues for weddings. From the hotel one can reach TOP GOLF in 10 min, Watford Palace Theatre in 4 min, Pump House Theatre in 8 min, Watford Colosseum in 4 min, Oceana Club in 4 min, Harlequin Centre in 6 min & Watford Football Club Stadium in 6 min. The Hotel offers high speed internet access throughout and rooms are airconditioned. The hotel is an ideal base for Tour Groups with London Euston just 15 minutes by train. The Hotel has 2 Conference Rooms offering state of the art meeting facilities, natural daylight and 24 hour and Day Delegate rates. Parking is available in a pay & display car park just 2 min from the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction Hotel Watford
Holiday Inn Express Watford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing