We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay- perfect for a place to sleep and get breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We where spending one night down in London to visit the Harry Potter studios and went by trip adviser reviews to book up.

Upon arrival which was literally a 2 minute walk from station, we where promptly given our room keys. 3 of us had a room to share, the room was clean, spacious and very up to date. There was two double beds, a little dressing area with chair and working TV, another dressing area with full length mirror and hangers/drawers then the toilet which had a shower, toilet wash shink and more mirrors.

The hotel was quiet and clean.

We had a night time tour of the HP studios and to our delight the reception staff told us of a £2 shuttle bus that took your right from the train station to the tour! Spot on as our taxi was quoted at £30.

In the morning we went down for breakfast which was included in the £80per room price, the breakfast area was small but had a large selection of hot foods (i.e fry up), tea/coffee, green teas, fruit juice, cereal and fruit and yoghurt, not to mention a lovely selection of pastries and jams.

This is not the most glamorous hotel I have been to, but it's the best rating I have gave I honestly couldn't fault anything from the price and the location to the service and quality I was really quite pleased.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priceynik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXPRESS_WATFORD, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. It’s always good to hear so many plus points about the hotel from our guests. We hope to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
Gaby Slowikova
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (755)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

568 - 574 of 755 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

I've stayed here numerous times over the last three years and it's never let me down. The staff always greet me like an old friend and on the very rare occasions that I've had a problem (eg internet not working), they have sorted it quickly and courteously.

What I like is the fact that I know I'm going to get a room that's spacious, clean and comfortable, and where the walls are so thick that I can't hear the next occupant's skype conversation throughout the night. You compromise on character, and yes the breakfast is nothing special, but I have always managed to sleep well here.

It also makes a reasonable alternative to staying in London too, as it's so close to Junction station. Apparently people complain about noise from the trains but it's never bothered me.

Just be aware that the restaurant doesn't open on Sunday evenings, and although the staff give you a pile of takeaway menus, most of these are also closed on Sundays.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDL11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXPRESS_WATFORD, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you for your honest review. Nice to hear that you are one of our valued regular guest and you keep returning to our hotel despite a few of the drawbacks that you mentioned.

Best regards,
Gaby Slowikova
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My sister and I stayed in this hotel on recommendation of another Tripadvisor user as it is a 5 min walk to Watford Junction Station for us to get the bus into The Harry Potter Studios in Leavesden. We also had the option of getting a quick train to London Euston and indeed other London stations but we chose to just stay local. I have to say we werent dissapointed. The hotel is very neat and tidy, the staff are very welcoming and the rooms are very reasonable for the price we paid. I even thought the bar prices were very reasonable too. The room itself was clean and basic and although we had a view of the station I could hardly hear the trains at all but then again if you are a light sleeper it would be best to ask for a front facing room. We were within a 10-15 minute walking distance into town were we were dining out and the bus journey to the studios was very quick too. There was a nice cafe across the main road from the hotel and there were also a newsagent, a couple of pubs and plenty of carry out choices should you wish to eat out or bring food and drink in. All in all a pleasant stay and we would stay again.

Room Tip: Front facing room away from station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skeenie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXPRESS_WATFORD, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Many thanks for writing such a fabulous review. The location is very convenient indeed, for not only the Harry Potter tour but also for Central London or the Watford Town centre. I am happy to hear that our hotel would be your preffered choice for your future travel into the area.

Best regards,
Gaby Slowikova
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Our arrival at the hotel was dealt with promtly and courteously - despite the fact that the Receptionists were coping with a large group of very irate (no idea why) travellers demanding refunds. It was just after noon when we checked in but our room was ready and was perfectly adequate - good size, clean and tidy. Aircon was a little noisy, the bed was a bit soft for my liking but OK. Sofa bed would be a bit of a squeeze for two older kids, but great for one.

Didn't hear the trains at all during the night and we faced the train track. Room was lovely and warm.

Breakfast the next morning was a selection of hot and cold food. Choice of cereals, fruit juices, white bread for toasting (no brown), pastries, yoghurts, fruit, jams etc. Hot food choice was scrambled eggs, sausages and beans. All in all in was OK, just. A lot of the food was bland, bordering on tasteless - but there was plenty of it. The orange juice must have had some orange concentrate in it at some point, but not sure when. The pastries on the other hand were lovely, really fresh and fluffy, coffee, tea and hot chocolate from the machine were good and on constant supply.

To be honest, can't really complain for the price (£51 for the three of us). Would we return? very probably.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsSilverF0x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXPRESS_WATFORD, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry you were slightly disappointed with the breakfast. We are continueously improving on the quality and your comments are certainly helpful. I am glad to hear that you would come back to our hotel in the future.

Best regards,
Gaby Slowikova
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Excellent contemporary hotel and a short stroll away from Watford Junction train station.

Stayed in room 611 facing the front of the hotel to avoid traffic/train noise. I had a good night sleep even though I am a light sleeper, you will need to listen carefully to hear trains and I never heard any traffic noise at all.

The room was modern and absolutely spotless. The shower was also very clean and powerful with plenty of towels.

Slight problem is that there wasn’t a power socket near the bed for those who sleep next to their. I also had no WIFI signal in the room but had excellent 3G mobile broadband signal (Vodafone) so this wasn’t a problem. There is also free WIFI in the lobby/breakfast area.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the train station are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXPRESS_WATFORD, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review and scoring us 5 points. Cleanliness is very important to us and I am glad you found the rooms clean and quiet. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards,
Gaby Slowikova
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

3 night stay to visit London and surroundings. Rooms were clean and comfortable, with all the usual en-suite etc, staff were very polite and extremely helpful. Breakfast is ok, continental + 2 cooked items included in the price.

Pro: car parking behind the hotel for £3/24hours. Overground station to London 150 yards away. A limited range of meals available in the evening, but well cooked and served. Free wifi in reception/bar area. Very easy to access from M25.

Cons: car parking limited. Heating in rooms not very effective, but staff quick to deliver extra quilt- room did eventually warm up ok. No room safe.

Room Tip: Room 106, that we stopped in, is just over the bar, so we could still get the wifi signal, without p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanG3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXPRESS_WATFORD, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It’s great to hear that you had a fabulous time staying with us and found the staff so helpful. Look forward to welcoming you again next time you are Watford area.

Best regards,
Gaby Slowikova
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights while visiting our son to help him refurbish his new home. The hotel is well placed for access to North Watford where our son lives. It is also very well placed for Watford Junction rail station - it's just a hundred or so yards walk round the back. The rooms were clean and well designed but the bed, for our taste, was a bit too bouncy and my wife ended up sleeping on the pull out sofa bed. The breakfast is basic but there's lots of it and, unlike many other hotels, is included in the room price, so full marks there. Sometimes breakfast charges can add a chunk of cash on the bill for two people so for two nights we saved a bit which is always nice. The staff were uniformly polite and helpful and book-in and check-out were efficient and quick. We got a good room rate for the two nights we stayed and overall we were really pleased with the whole experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel to avoid noise from the railway station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wes W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXPRESS_WATFORD, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your nice review. I am very glad to hear that you were happy with our free breakfast. We are looking forward to welcoming you to our hotel again in the future.
Best regards,
Gaby Slowikova
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watford
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Watford Junction
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
1.6 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
2.2 mi away
Mercure London Watford Hotel
2.3 mi away
Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction

Address: 19 Bridle Path, Watford WD17 1UE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Watford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Watford
#4 Family Hotel in Watford
Price Range: $77 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS LONDON WATFORD JUNCTION is situated 2 min from Watford Junction train station just off the A412, with close connections to M25 and M1. All 98 rooms have ensuite facilities with tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer, flat screen TV and airconditioning.Ideally located for both corporate and leisure travellers. BT, Total Oil, Sanyo, TK Maxx, Taylor Woodrow, Beko, Haden Young, Camelot, Coface, KPMG and J.D.Wetherspoon are just some of the offices within walking distance from the hotel. The hotel is within a few minutes from 3 Golf courses, Purley Chase, Bushy Hall & the West Herts Golf Clubs, which are also popular venues for weddings. From the hotel one can reach TOP GOLF in 10 min, Watford Palace Theatre in 4 min, Pump House Theatre in 8 min, Watford Colosseum in 4 min, Oceana Club in 4 min, Harlequin Centre in 6 min & Watford Football Club Stadium in 6 min. The Hotel offers high speed internet access throughout and rooms are airconditioned. The hotel is an ideal base for Tour Groups with London Euston just 15 minutes by train. The Hotel has 2 Conference Rooms offering state of the art meeting facilities, natural daylight and 24 hour and Day Delegate rates. Parking is available in a pay & display car park just 2 min from the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, IHG, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction Hotel Watford
Holiday Inn Express Watford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing