We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Watford
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Value for money”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Stayed for 1 night 22/1 with my partner and daughter. Room was quiet (did not hear any trains) and spotlessly clean. The bed for my daughter was made up ready when we arrived. I could not fault the cleanliness of the hotel overall. The parking was limited but free, so could not complain and a lovely breakfast was included which was a bonus given we only paid £35 for the night for 3 of us. The staff were pleasant and friendly. Definitely makes you consider staying outside London for future trips and commuting into London by train. We stayed in a Hotel in Central London in November 2011 and it cost £360 for 2 nights and that did not include breakfast and the service left alot to be desired. That hotel which should remain nameless could learn a few lessons from this supposedly budget hotel by comparison. If we are ever in that neck of the woods again would not hesitate to stay here. Only negative - the surrounding area abit rough and air con a little noisy

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXTeam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review about your stay in Holiday Inn Express London, Watford Junction. We value every guest and it helps us to celebrate a service we provide!

We are glad to hear, that you had enjoyed your stay in Holiday Inn Express London, Watford Junction and you are always welcome to our hotel! Thank you for all your nice feedback.

In regards of your comment about rough area, please note we have taken your comment on board and currently we are in process of installing more lighting our our hotel, so every guest would feel safe and secure. We would have appreciated that you would have mentioned about loud air condition in the room, because we would have asked our maintenance manager to fix it as quick as possible.

Thank you again for your great feedback and looking forward to seeing you in Holiday Inn Express London, Watford Junction very soon!

Yours Sincerely,
Viktorija Stanciukaite
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    318
    120
    33
    13
See reviews for
261
161
30
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fribourg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We had a HIE room with a sofa, which was stained and quite uncomfortable to sit on. The check in process was swift and ok. The hotel is very handy for the station with easy access to all parts of London. The bathroom had a lovely big shower. The whole experience was acceptable, but nothing great.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonaldCWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXTeam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Holiday Inn Express London, Watford Junction would like to thank you for your review. We take on board every review we receive in order to grow and get better.

In regards of stained sofa bed, we have taken this comment on board. I have asked hotel housekeeping supervisor to check all rooms and take appropriate action, so we could make sure our next guest does not experience the same inconvenience as you did.

Thank you for staying in Holiday Inn Express London, Watford Junction and we hope will see you soon!

Yours Sincerely,
Viktorija Stanciukaite
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Typical HIE Rooms, Clean and Comfortable, however the price we paid was too much for what they give, if you can get for under £60 then it would be fine, however we paid £90, and if they charge this you expect more. Parking is a night mare, who builds a Hotel with no proper parking ? I was lucky to get a space , but people arriving after me had problems - the last thing you want after a hard is having hassel to park.
The bar prices are very high, never before have I stayed at HIE with such high prices. I had to double check as with the high room rates and bar prices, i thought I was in a Holiday Inn, and not an express, which normally offer great value. Close to Station, so handy if coming by train especailly with lack of parking, but there some train noise , didnt bother me , but others it may.Staff was helpful and friendly

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j0llyjenks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXTeam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of Holiday Inn Express London, Watford Junction. We value every guest's opinion and all comments we always take on board.
In regards of high prices, please note our rates are very flexible and the more you book in advance the chance that you will be able to book under promotional rate is very high. Holiday Inn Express London, Watford Junction, constantly participate in diferent seasonal offers, so I would encourage to visit our website in order to get promotional rate. If you would like us to email directly of any promotions and how to book it, please contact us directly and we will be happy to assist you.
I was dissapointed to hear, that you had experience inconvenience of parking your car. For your information, there are 2 car parks behind our hotel and we always manage to find space for all our guests to park their car. In future please ask at reception for assistance and they will be happy to direct you.
After a careful investigation we have noticed, that bar prices are very similar to the Watford market prices, so we think bar prices are very reasonable for Holiday Inn Express London, Watford Junction.
We always doing our best to achieve excellence in value of the product and service we provide, so would like to thank you again for your feedback and we really hope to see you in near future!

Yours Sincerely,
Viktorija Stanciukaite
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 29, 2011

I've spent a week in this hotel and for sure will be coming back again. The rooms were very clean, reception staff very helpful too. Needed to get to central London some days and it took me 20min to victoria!Couldn't ask for more! Have been recommending this lovely hotel to all of my colleagues !

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aurelia k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bletchley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

A fairly standard h.i.e. of its era. Usual bed and bath setup. Towels etc feel tired. B'fast on Sunday morning was fine. Parking spaces are very tight

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Dont bother booking here, its unbelievable that anyone has said this hotel is good...it has only a handful of expensive parking spaces, noisy rooms, the is hotel shaken in its foundations by the train station, noisy residents and staff who can barely speak a word of english...come on Holiday Inn...what on earth are you playing at? by far the worst chain hotel I have ever stayed in without exception.

Room Tip: my tip would be...dont stay here unless you arrive without a car, speak numerous languages to commun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bikerinasuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXTeam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay.
With regards to the car parking facility in our hotel please note that the car parking is free of charge overnight and at the weekend. On weekdays it is only £3.00 per day, which is a very competitive, and price in Central Watford and a much lower charge compared to other hotels in the town centre.
The hotel is located nearby the Watford Junction train station. Should you require a quiet room, please do ask at check-in and the reception staff would do their utmost best to allocate you into the front-facing room to guarantee you a good night sleep. As far as the noisy residents are concerned, the reception is manned 24 hours. When any disturbance is reported, the staff would take action and address any excessive late night noise coming from the corridors or rooms.
When employing the staff, we give an equal opportunity to the applicants from various countries. And as many of our corporate as well as leisure guests are from abroad, it is an advantage to have a multilingual staff. However please note that being fluent in English is a must for all the front-office staff.
Once again please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2011

have stayed in this hotel just recently and was absolutely satisfied with both service and product. if you know what to expect, then cannot be dissapointed. staff were helpful and knew what they were doing, breakfast were ok as well. would definately recommend this hotel for everyone, as connections to london were very convenient and cheap! hopefully will be back soon

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watford
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Watford Junction
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Watford Central Hotel
2.3 mi away
Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction

Property: Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
Address: 19 Bridle Path, Watford WD17 1UE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Watford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Watford
#4 Family Hotel in Watford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS LONDON WATFORD JUNCTION is situated 2 min from Watford Junction train station just off the A412, with close connections to M25 and M1. All 98 rooms have ensuite facilities with tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer, flat screen TV and airconditioning.Ideally located for both corporate and leisure travellers. BT, Total Oil, Sanyo, TK Maxx, Taylor Woodrow, Beko, Haden Young, Camelot, Coface, KPMG and J.D.Wetherspoon are just some of the offices within walking distance from the hotel. The hotel is within a few minutes from 3 Golf courses, Purley Chase, Bushy Hall & the West Herts Golf Clubs, which are also popular venues for weddings. From the hotel one can reach TOP GOLF in 10 min, Watford Palace Theatre in 4 min, Pump House Theatre in 8 min, Watford Colosseum in 4 min, Oceana Club in 4 min, Harlequin Centre in 6 min & Watford Football Club Stadium in 6 min. The Hotel offers high speed internet access throughout and rooms are airconditioned. The hotel is an ideal base for Tour Groups with London Euston just 15 minutes by train. The Hotel has 2 Conference Rooms offering state of the art meeting facilities, natural daylight and 24 hour and Day Delegate rates. Parking is available in a pay & display car park just 2 min from the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, IHG, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction Hotel Watford
Holiday Inn Express Watford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing