We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”
Review of The Jafflong

The Jafflong
Ranked #15 of 104 Restaurants in Dartford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $33
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Established in 1987. The Jafflong has been Dartford's favourite provider of Indian cuisine for over 25 years. Traditional and authentic - we don't do gimmicks, we don't do 'contemporary', we don't do 'fusion'.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Went here for a Wednesday night meal with friends was a lovely meal very good prices and nice helpful waiters

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lisajane_300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan M, Manager at The Jafflong, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you. We don't pretend to be something that we're not - or never going to be. We just rely on good people like yourselves to enjoy an evening out enough to return back. And that's it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    38
    6
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Jafflong Indian Restaurant is very good value for money and they have a Banquet evening Ion Wednesdays and Thursday evenings- 4 courses for £9.95p and the food is excellent as is the staff and their service, nothing is too much trouble,. the staff are very pleasant and helpful. On Monday evenings it is a Banquet night again for the price £9.95 for the over 50's age group. I would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan M, Manager at The Jafflong, responded to this review, December 17, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. I hope you've written a more recent review of us since doing this one (and one that we've replied to appropriately). Otherwise, please accept our apologise that it's taken over TWO YEARS to get back to you. Still, better late than never. ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worthwhile visit”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The food had flavour!! Service was good, prices reasonable - no complaints. Certainly worth a return visit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Del61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan M, Manager at The Jafflong, responded to this review, December 17, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. I hope you've written a more recent review of us since doing this one (and one that we've replied to appropriately). Otherwise, please accept our apologise that it's taken over TWO YEARS to get back to you. Still, better late than never. ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“What a transformation”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Last visited several years ago under previous ownership. Not good. My wife went with a friend a week or two ago and on her recommendation I took my son there this week. It was great. A £9.95 per head offer is now in place three days a week covering any starter, main, rice and nan. Food was very good. Starters just a little clumsy (reshmi a tad undercooked and pastry on samosas a little heavy. But these are minor issues. Mains were lovely and excellent service. Manager very friendly and complimentary drinks given at bill tine. Lively atmosphere with a lot of younger folk presumably attracted by the offer. All in all this was a very pleasant surprise and I now have a real alternative to the Radhuny and the Kent Curry house in Dartford. Will be back soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ybabobmij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan M, Manager at The Jafflong, responded to this review, December 17, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. I hope you've written a more recent review of us since doing this one (and one that we've replied to appropriately). Otherwise, please accept our apologise that it's taken over TWO YEARS to get back to you. Still, better late than never. ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lives up to its local reputation”
Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Went with a group of 9 people 4 of which became ill afterwards. Have subsequenty seen it once had a 0 as hygiene rating but now up to 3. All i can say is not a good experience, food was average as was the service. Most clientel in there were in sportswear. Shame as it is good value and extensive menu on offer however if the food makes you ill (2 days off work). Then better going elsewhere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stellagetsmewasted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan M, Manager at The Jafflong, responded to this review, December 17, 2014
We are a 4 Star Food Hygiene rated restaurant and we have the pleasure of listing as our regulars not only the very finest members of the Dartford Public, but also: The Mayor, at least half of the local Councillors (Labour Conservative AND UKIP!), The majority of Dartford's pub and Club owners, Dartford FC, Dartford Fire Brigade, Dartford Paramedics, at least three of the largest Medical departments of Darenth Valley Hospital, Science and Chemical institution: Abbott, and many, many many more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jafflong also viewed

 

Been to The Jafflong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing