We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 visits recently for birthdays”

The Dartford Bridge Harvester
Ranked #83 of 105 Restaurants in Dartford
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: British, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: At The Dartford Bridge Harvester in Dartford food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.About our Harvester restaurantIf you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Dartford, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Questor, Greenhithe and Crayford, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
521 reviews
353 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“2 visits recently for birthdays”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

As a large group we had our own area at the back. Regular visitors so the staff know us and what we need. Good value-for-money and varied menu - though the prices do seem to be creeping up steadily. A rather serious issue with 1 friend was efficiently and sensitively dealt with so I'm sure we'll be back.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Veronica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    68
    62
    52
    86
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great for ribs.....but don't go for breakfast”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We kept seeing the Harvester breakfast advertised so thought we'd give it a go, I wish we hadn't bothered. We were seated and served immediately, but then had to wait for over 30 minutes for food. The breakfast was not as good as we expected from the Harvester. The bacon and sausage overlooked, the potatoes and egg cold. They don't have a toaster so the "toast" is just bread darkened on the griddle, burnt one side and not touched on the other, and 59p per slice!! No butter just a pale sunflower type spread. The coffee was far too strong, and the cutlery was dirty.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Teena2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Busy - but very good service”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was our first visit to the restaurant and we chose it for the proximity to Dartford FC as we were watching a night international "C" game. This meant that time restrictions were tight and, when we saw how busy the restaurant was, we were very apprehensive.
We couldn't get a seat straight away, but were given a number and left to get a drink (good choice of lagers, and very reasonably priced, although the draft wine was a little murky). The tip here is to note where your number is in the queue and then count the number of lights needed before you are seated. This meant that we could sit away from the bar in relative comfort.
Thankfully, our number came up pretty quickly - within ten minutes - and we got seated at about 6 o'clock. Any later, and the wait would be much longer; and this was a Tuesday night!
Still, we have experienced Harvesters before, and we were very aware that tables can sometimes get "lost" in the melee, but we were very pleasantly surprised. Our waitress (I shall only call her "R") was absolutely brilliant and very attentive, but not over the top. She explained how important good service was to her when she went out and tried to offer her tables the same standard. If she works the same area regularly, we were seated towards the far right hand corner, opposite the tills. The food was, as you would expect from a Harvester, simple and honest but well cooked and hot when delivered. My only slight gripe would be the amount of the scampi and prawns that I ordered - the meal was a little small for the price - but as the BBQ chicken was pleantiful, I got to finish off the rest of the families!
The salad bar was pretty well stocked considering the amount of food that people were squeezing into the bowls but, as I stated previously, we were eating quite early in the evening. I would also suggest checking the empty bowls before picking them up as it looked like a stack of them had not been cleaned at all.
Oh - and as we left at about 7pm the queue was getting muchj longer to be seated.

In summary- good, honest food; very busy but, for us, excellent service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Flooded toilets 9 times out of ten”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We love the harvester and this local one was great. They are having big toilet trouble and we were advised by a waitress to complain about toilets as they never fix the problem just mop up the urine. Not great for a restaurant.
Also there seems to be less and less staff, cutbacks I presume but I would willing pay a little more to get a better service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank xxxMUNDOxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“mmmm”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Ok as a Harvester it is nice , but I would suggest that you dont book for christmas or new year . We did 20 of us . we booked in August and sent in menu for them . we arrived to be seated on a long table , so long that you would have to crawl under it to go for a weee! =o.
We had to move the children onto another table so we could all sit comfortably. Ayway, we find out that two of the main courses had run out ! and when we receied our starters the two pate were off! smelt really bad looked awull colour and basically that was enough for me . I complained and got the bill reduced from £295 to £135 thats how bad it was !
They dont use food that they use during the year , they buy in prpacked turkey potatoe the whole lot was micro wave rubbish . Such a shame . I would still eat there but not at christmas or new years eve .

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank THESECRETSHOPPER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dartford Bridge Harvester also viewed

 
Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
 

Been to The Dartford Bridge Harvester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing