We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced hotel and Spa” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rowhill Grange Hotel & Utopia Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rowhill Grange Hotel & Utopia Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Dartford
Richmond upon Thames, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Overpriced hotel and Spa”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Just had a night away in the Rowhill hotel and Spa, the setting and grounds are pretty but its entered by a drive that needs its pot holes filling. The hotel is nice and clean, beds very comfortable and the room is spacious. We were informed that our robes and slippers could be found in the bathroom and bedside cabinets....neither where there so we had to ring reception to have them brought up. The beds only had one pillow each and again we had to phone for a second one. The Utopia Spa is well done with a good choices of treatment available. It would be better if they had proper lounger chairs round the pool area. Hot tub and jacuzzi were great and the pool excellent. We were offered a dining experience (their words not ours) in their restaurant but opted for the Bar Menu, again plenty of choice and nice food. All in all a good hotel but their attention to detail isn't great. Our toilet seat slipped everytime you sat on it and when I needed the shower cap the packaging was there but no cap. They describe themselves as a 4 star Boutique hotel, I would describe them as a 3 star average hotel. The usual cost of our room would have been between £200 to £300 a night, fortunately we had a deal as had been paying the full price I would have been complaining bitterly about the experience.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    700
    364
    220
    124
    72
See reviews for
232
696
47
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Impromptu overnight stay and pleasantly suprised. Very welcoming and attentive staff, good food and well appointed rooms!
There isnt a great deal to do in the immediate surrounding area but I wouldn't hesitate to visit again if passing.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mustidothis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Myself and my husband stayed in "Camelia" at Rowhill Grange in January 2013 for lunch, dinner, bed & breakfast. We are both quite fussy people ordinarily so it was really lovely to stay somewhere and not be disappointed with anything! I can honestly say that everything from rooms, meals and treatments was absolutely 5 star. I would definitely recommend Rowhill Grange and hope to go back sometime soon.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lockjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

There are not enough words to describe the fantastic spa break I have just had for my 40th birthday. I booked the 'All together now' package for myself and ten girlfriends and wow what a treat. We were pampered from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. The staff were great and friendly and seemed to be available at the drop of a hat, the food delicious, the rooms great although didn't sleep for long init. My fault too many friends to spend time with and things to do! The spa and treatments out of this world. Always wish treatments were for longer. I could go on and on!! I will say the price of the spa break is I feel good value for money and I know my girlfriends feel the ssme way. Thank you Rowhill for making my 40th birthday one to remember x

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DLH194L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallington, Surrey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a night away booked through secret escapes , had a fantastic time , room very spacious and very comfy bed , spa was really nice and my massage was very good.

Food was out of this world best I have ever tasted I had butter poached lobster which was fantastic , my husband had two ways cooked lamb which was also very nice , fantastic presentation

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank DebbieBudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tintwistle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Wanting something different whilst carrying out business in the area I sought a hotel with a difference. The advertisement for this hotel were interesting and reports look ok.

My first three days there were very good with good service and friendly & responsive staff. The room was OK but a little small it was well dressed and had the required amenities. Returning to the hotel early afternoon a late lunch on the terrace, in the sun, was excellent with the clientele from the spar, in their dressing gowns, drinking cocktails - It was a lovely afternoon. The ground are well kept with ample parking although on a wet day a little far from the Main entrance.

My following two days were not as good, as the staff seemed to become lackadaisical and missing, I did wonder if the management were away on a course or a jolly.

I returned for a seconded stay some weeks later and was disappointed with the check in, lost my reservation and they got grumpy, shoehorned into a room that I can only describe as the size of a boot room. No apology or explanation I was just an hindrance

During both stays the evening meal in the restaurant was excellent but the service was disjointed. The bar area is ok if you like to watch football or sports on a large TV - the area reminded me of a Rest Home Waiting area.

Check Out was difficult the second time as my bill was wrong which caused another round of pouting

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChefJDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

came here for tea for two with my mum as her birthday treat. she loved it. the waiters were polite and the sandwiches and cakes Lovely with pot of tea..lovely surroundings. will definitely go back for a spa weekend..perfect gift for your mum or friend

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank tinkerKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartford
24.2 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
20.1 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
14.7 mi away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Mercure Dartford Brands Hatch Hotel & Spa
5.3 mi away
Brandshatch Place Hotel & Spa
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dartford Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowhill Grange Hotel & Utopia Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowhill Grange Hotel & Utopia Spa

Property: Rowhill Grange Hotel & Utopia Spa
Address: Top Dartford Road, Dartford DA2 7QH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dartford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Dartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rowhill Grange Hotel & Utopia Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rowhill Grange Hotel & Utopia Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowhill Grange Hotel And Utopia Spa
Rowhill Grange Hotel & Utopia Dartford
Rowhill Grange Hotel & Utopia Spa Dartford, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing