We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, friendly staff”
Review of Grange Moor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grange Moor Hotel
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Maidstone
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly staff”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I have stayed here many times as I have family in Maidstone and we have been for many meals. The staff are very welcoming and the food excellent. Party catering is brilliant too as we had our wedding blessing meal there for a group of 11 of us. I recently stayed 3 nights when visiting and had a bargain room for £45 a night b&b. It was a discounted room as it was over the kitchen but it didn't bother me. One tip if breakfasting Sat morning - breakfast starts at 8 and when I was there EVERYONE turned up at 8 so I waited 40 mins for my food which would have been ok if I hadn't got a taxi coming to take me to the station half an hour later. Staff were helpful though. I was even lent a phone charger having forgotten mine!

Room Tip: Some rooms are smoking rooms, If this is an issue, ask to not be near a smoking room as the smoke sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loris61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    99
    50
    23
    42
See reviews for
82
115
27
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I have stayed here three times whilst travelling to/from France. It has ample parking and good access to the M20. Although it has a slight maze-like quality re corridors and rooms, the bedrooms are well-equipped and certainly clean and comfortable. Staff are welcoming and friendly, breakfasts and bar meals of a good standard. I like the general ambience of the place and have been very pleased with it as a stopover in the south east after a long drive from the north. It would probably make a good base for a longer stay in the area. Tariffs are very reasonable for the commuter belt and I feel the hotel gives good value for money. On my way back from my most recent visit to France I phoned the hotel from there to enquire about a room and was quickly booked in, with no fuss re credit card numbers etc. It is clearly a popular venue for local people and hosts various functions, all adding to the overall atmosphere

Room Tip: Rooms towards the garden side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard_B190744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here for one night for a friends party. It was a very nice hotel, no complaints, just could do with a little update in the room. We had carpet in our bathroom which could do with changing but our friends room had tiles so hopefully they will all be changed. Breakfast was good too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffs, UK
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed 1 Sunday night, booked from France via Bookings.com at very short notice. Easy enough to find with plenty of off road parking, it was a good breakfast, the room was clean & plenty of space, the shower was fine & a comfy bed. We didn't have dinner in the hotel, took a walk into Maidstone for some exercise & some real aie What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTandP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

After reading other peoples reviews we booked online for a one night stay at The Grange Moor Hotel to attend a wedding reception at another venue in Maidstone. My husband and i arrived on Saturday 8th June.First impressions of the hotel from the outside were that the car park at the rear had plenty of space and was protected by cctv cameras. The hotel looked large clean and tidy. After check in we were shown to our room which was very spacious,that included a massive (kingsize) bed, single bed ,ensuite bathroom with shower and bath ,a flat screen tv and a walk in wardrobe with plenty of hangers. We enjoyed a drink in the bar and the enclosed rear garden before heading off to the wedding reception. On returning to the hotel around midnight we were greeted by the night porter and collected our room key.There was a function taking place downstairs in one of the rooms that was playing music which we were a little concerned that it would distarb our sleep but there was no need for concern as the music soon ended after getting into our room. We had a peaceful sleep and woke up at 8 .30 to go down to breakfast at 9 o clock. We were greeted by a member of staff and told to choose our cereals and juices and take a seat at a empty table in the dinning room and that someone will be with you to take your order of a cooked breakfast etc. It is at this point were we have our one and only complaint about our stay at the hotel. We were kepted waiting a long time before anyone came to tak our order.Upon getting the attention of a member of staff, she did apoligise for keeping us waiting.Dispite the wait the full english breakfast we received was very enjoyable. Check out was between 10 30 and 11 00. We were able to extend our stay till midday. Ather paying the bill , which came to the grand figure of £69 we left for our return home. We strongly recemmend a stay at this hotel. Clean ,tidy rooms.Polite helpful staff, Good food. Pleasent stay. Decent prices.

Room Tip: ask for room 30.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momaprodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Disappointing! Looks lovely on the outside and has plenty of free parking. In all this hotel is looking a bit tired (like and old seaside B&B). Food was expensive for what it was, breakfasts werent great and drinks were over priced.

We stayed in room 36 which to access you had to go thro the bar, up to stairs, thro a door, thro a lounge, thro another door, down some stairs, thro another door and up YET MORE STAIRS! not good when you are struggling with cases! The room itself was very small (as was the bed). There was only room for one bedside table (double room) and you couldnt fully open the drawers on that because the hit off the radiator! The wardrobe was similar in that you could only only one side because the dressing table was in the way.

One other thing, which was irritating, you could not charge things to your room without requesting at reception for this to be set up and swiping your card.(A service which was not offered at check in).

Wouldnt recommend.

Room Tip: Room 36 is very small, with a small double bed. Room 37 is bigger with a four poster bed. Best to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pampurrrrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed at the Grange Moor on a Saturday night as a base for 4 friends on a night out.
Booked on line we paid £60 a room for each of two twin rooms including a cooked breakfast.
The rooms were clean and comfortable with e suite shower.
We stayed in the main site, and therefore cannot comment on the secondary site.
The whole experience was simple and easy. The staff were helpful both in person and when I phoned to check on details.
Town is close enough to walk to with a decent range of pubs and restaurants to choose from.

Room Tip: Nothing specific to add here. Our room was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maidstone hotels
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Maidstone Central
0.4 mi away
Oakwood House Hotel
Oakwood House Hotel
#11 of 15 in Maidstone
315 reviews
2.0 mi away
Village Hotel Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone
#4 of 15 in Maidstone
1,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Days Inn Maidstone
Days Inn Maidstone
#13 of 15 in Maidstone
169 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Maidstone Town Centre Hotel
3.5 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Moor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Moor Hotel

Property: Grange Moor Hotel
Address: St Michaels Road, Maidstone ME16 8BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Maidstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grange Moor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HRS so you can book your Grange Moor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Moor Maidstone
Grange Moor Hotel Maidstone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing