We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cosy room and good breakfast”
Review of Grange Moor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grange Moor Hotel
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Maidstone
Canberra
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A cosy room and good breakfast”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at the Grange Moor Hotel on 29 September 2012, and had breakfast there the following day. I found the room to be nice and cosy, the staff were helpful and the breakfast was good and generous. It wasn't too noisy, although at one point in the night a couple of other guests had an argument in the corridor outside my room, but that wasn't the fault of the hotel. Overall I enjoyed my stay and would recommend it to other people.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    95
    50
    23
    38
See reviews for
81
112
26
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chertsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on Saturday 27th October, the receptionist, bar staff, and waiting staff were all welcoming and polite, and in general the hotel has a warm homely feel about it. The breakfast was good, and was served quickly.

On the down side, our 4 poster bed was rather hard -in comparison to most hotels we have stayed in. When I entered our room, I noticed there was a notice up, requesting that all visitors be considerate about making noise in the night; which seemed a bit unusual. Well, needless to say neither my husband or I had much sleep that night; in the wee hours of the morning a women and a few men came into the hotel and were talking at the top of their voices -she was protesting- doors were banged, language was colourful and loud - and this went on for over 2-3 hours in outbursts; and then loud sex with accompanying sounds shattered the silence again- we are talking about 3am in the morning. In the middle of the crashing doors and screaming mayhem I phoned the reception and spoke to an Irish women, who promised she would 'take a look around' to see where the noise was coming from. I don't know what she could have done - it sounded like they needed a resident bouncer; needless to say the noise carried on.

In the morning, I mentioned the 'brawl in the night' to the receptionist, and she apologised and said she would look into it.

Maybe we were unlucky - however I would definitely not stay here again, and would suggest paying more for a better rating rather than having a sleepless night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myhouse12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate kent
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

we have just spent a night in this hotel and although a little worrid about some reviews, i found them totally untrue. on arrival we were greeted by thelady who worked in the small bar area who was so welcoming and worked like a star... gave us lots of information that we asked her and she could not of been more helpful. we had 2 rooms, both decorated lovely, 4 posters bed which were so comfortable it was hard to get out of them in the morning, an iron and irioning board was in the hallway for us to use 9 a nice touch) with ample tea and coffes and a proper kettle. breakfast was to die for with the usual cerals and fruits but then a good selection of hot foods and endless coffee and tea. would definately recommend this hotel, will be back again.

Room Tip: we had rooms 36 and 37....... i will be asking for these rooms again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank billieblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for just one night last weekend. First of all it's not really a hotel, more like a guest house. We were put in an annexe which was on the other side of the road and down a bit. The room was really pokey and quite chilly. When I asked, they turned on the heat and we nearly expired during the night as it was far too hot. The one good thing about it was that the Staff were all really helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seniordublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Vitaliano, Italy
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband and I have been staying at the hotel once a year for the last 10 years, visiting friends and gardens and we are never disappointed, upgrades have been made to the rooms and as usual the food is delicious and portions generous, which always pleases my husband.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amdmujo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smallburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Had a night out in Maidstone, didn't use the bar or restaurant but the room was clean and comfortable the hotel was close to the Town Centre, so good for what we needed, breakfast was great and sorted the hangover!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miroslav J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Horrenduous is the only word to describe this Hotel. We were placed in a separate annexe across the road. Decor untouched since the 70's. Freezing and when we pointed out there was no heat in the room it became like a sauna. It is beyond re decoration. They should knock it down and start all over again. The Breakfast was about OK and was therefore the highlight

Room Tip: Do your Homework
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankMurphy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maidstone hotels
2.0 mi away
Village Hotel Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone
#3 of 15 in Maidstone
1,591 reviews
4.7 mi away
Days Inn Maidstone
Days Inn Maidstone
#13 of 15 in Maidstone
165 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oakwood House Hotel
Oakwood House Hotel
#11 of 15 in Maidstone
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
2.1 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
1,522 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Maidstone Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Moor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Moor Hotel

Property: Grange Moor Hotel
Address: St Michaels Road, Maidstone ME16 8BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Maidstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grange Moor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Grange Moor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Moor Maidstone
Grange Moor Hotel Maidstone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing