We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and accommodating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Innkeeper's Lodge Maidstone
Ranked #19 of 27 Maidstone B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I stay at this place a few times a month sometimes for numerous nights ,
The staff are friendly the rooms are good value, I haven't had any issues I have read some of the complaints and on past experiences they must have been caught on a very bad day as faulty towers it is not!
For the price and location I'm very happy to stay here again and again

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dubdubplate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Maidstone, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you had a positive time here with us at Innkeepers Lodge Maidstone . Our teams love to hear when they have done a good job and we have replied to you personally about your review.
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 115 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

4 nights spent at this hell hole!!!
Breakfast was a complete fiasco! Chef not turning up to do breakfast 3 days running.
Cleaner was more accommodating than the staff when fire alarms went off in kitchen! Which was full of smoke! Other mornings it would take up to 35 minutes to poach some eggs!!!
Manageress hid in kitchen and wouldnt come out to explain or apologise for fiasco!
Work friend nearly had hair set on fire by stream of sparks from the hotel hair dryer!!
Walls paper thin and could hear every word said in next room.
Shower head mount was snapped off with the head being hooked on with elastic bands which meant spray only went against wall. Hose was kept on with cable ties!!!
Staff were very slow at anything
Bed was made by throwing duvet back over!!!
My advice to anyone wanting to stay is look else where as a few extra pounds spent would be well worth it!!!!

Room Tip: Different hotel !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Maidstone, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

We are very sorry that you left disappointed, following your stay at Innkeepers Lodge, Maidstone. We have replied to you personally as it is our goal to give every customer the best service possible and your feedback can help us achieve this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Just spent 2 nights here and unfortunately both mornings for breakfast were a disaster, the chef didn't turn up on time and when the fire alarms were going off on the second morning they sent the poor cleaning lady to deal with us when the manageress was there although she was lovely it wasn't her responsibility. Add to that the hair dryer shooting massive sparks across my head then burning out and the low pressure shower all in all a great episode for fawlty towers.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meljacobs74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Maidstone, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Innkeeper's Lodge, Maidstone on our Trip Advisor page. We were disappointed to read that you were not satisfied, and we have replied to you personally about this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We had been to the Innkeepers Lodge at Maidstone and made the first and only complaint about our stay. We were offered 2 complimentary nights anywhere by the chain and chose Maidstone as it is close to elderly Father in law. We weren't expecting much but as it's a long journey booked 3 nights (2 of which were free). It was so different. The room was lovely, well furnished even had a little separate lounge area, the bathroom was fine and even though we are not that big the time before the shower had been so small we found it very difficult to use. There was a proper wardrobe and plenty of space to unpack. The breakfast was fresh and the staff were very helpful. The food at the pub was fine and we did dine there. Thank you Innkeepers Lodge and we will use this one again, it's a lovely historic building with plenty of parking and close to town centre and station.

Room Tip: We had room 4 it was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank munchkin59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Maidstone, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

We are so pleased to hear that you found Innkeeper's Lodge Maidstone a good place to stay, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Stayed for one night in the family room in Mid August 2013.

Staff were most welcoming and friendly, the family room is huge, clean, comfortable and is more like a small suite, with armchairs, table and two dressing tables.

The breakfast room was lovely, bright, and everything a plenty. I opted for the cooked breakfast and it was good size and beautifully cooked.

The best part though was the staff. Exceptionally friendly, helpful and helps restore faith in customer service. Innkeeper's Lodge should be proud of their staff.

D L Staffs

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Maidstone, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

May we thank you for your review, as we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at The White Rabbit, Innkeepers Lodge, Maidstone. We have replied to you personally and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights for work in the Maidstone area. It is a 5 min walk from Maidstone East train station, so good location.

The hotel is above the pub/restaurant, but as I stayed mid-week it wasn't very noisy. The building itself is very nice and the best things about it are by far the excellent quality of service from the staff and the delicious food in the restaurant.

The room itself was odd as it was sloping so you feel like you're constantly falling over. Also my shower was completely broken, with water squirting everywhere but on you. They don't supply bars of soap, just those on-the-wall awful dispensers. And they don't supply any other toiletries either.

They did however have tea and coffee in the rooms, and a hair dryer. The TV was also good once the signal kicks in.

All in all it was an ok stay as work paid, but I wouldn't choose to stay here again. I would go back and eat in the restaurant in a heartbeat though!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katieflossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Maidstone, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Thank you for reviewing our Innkeepers Lodge. Your feedback is most appreciated and will be noted by everyone at The White Rabbit, Innkeeper's Lodge, Maidstone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Stayed here on New Years Eve. Staff are, without exception, brilliant. They made us feel so welcome - I do hope Vintage inns are aware, and appreciate, what an asset these people are. I couldn't pick one out as they were all outstanding.
This is a wonderful old building of military origin - Georgian I would guess. They have retained a lot of the original features, and it's very comfortable to relax in the bar. Our room - no. 9, was lovely - spacious, well furnished and with a nice bathroom (bath with shower over). Nice and clean.

Now come the moans. 10 of us stayed and whilst my meal was lovely (sirloin steak) others weren't so lucky. Out of the 10 round about half said their meal was horrible, there were lots of leftovers (my cat had a steak dinner on New Year's Day from the leftovers). Whilst we are aware of how difficult it is to get so many meals on the table in one go, it was still not great. Again I would stress that my meal was very good, but others, well maybe they picked the wrong food? Drinks were very reasonable priced - a bottle of Prosecco £17.

Breakfast, being New Year's Day was a cold buffet - pretty ok, everything you need, and the staff were always in and out checking everything was ok. One suggestion - get another toaster as the one provided was useless.

Would certainly go back but would think more carefully about what food we ordered.

Thank christinekelly07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Maidstone, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

May we thank you for your review, as we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at The White Rabbit, Innkeeper's Lodge, Maidstone. We have replied to you personally and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maidstone hotels
0.9 mi away
Grange Moor Hotel
Grange Moor Hotel
#15 of 17 in Maidstone
379 reviews
1.1 mi away
Village Hotel Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone
#5 of 17 in Maidstone
1,860 reviews
3.1 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Days Inn Maidstone
Days Inn Maidstone
#13 of 17 in Maidstone
187 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Tickled Trout
The Tickled Trout
#4 of 27 in Maidstone
44 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Maidstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Maidstone

Address: Sandling Road | The White Rabbit, Maidstone ME14 2RF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Maidstone
Price Range: $80 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Maidstone 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1797 to house the officers' quarters of the Invicta Barracks, this distinctive lodge is one of the most welcoming hotels in Maidstone. Rather than repelling Napoleonic troops it now serves as relaxing budget accommodation for short breaks and business travel, and is ideally placed for exploring Kent or nearby towns like Chatham and East Malling.The colonial-style building offers 12 comfy rooms and a cosy pub, where you can unwind with a pint of cask ale and some freshly cooked, seasonally inspired food.Maidstone is Kent's business heart, but there's plenty to see and do besides attending an event at the East Malling Conference Centre. It's best known as home to the beautiful Leeds Castle, with its 500 acres of scenic parkland and popular golf course, but you could also enjoy the town's theatres, bars or busy shopping centre. Or you could explore the area via water, taking a canoe along the River Medway or a more leisurely boat trip on the Allington Belle or Kentish Lady. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Maidstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Rabbit Vintage Hotel Maidstone
Innkeeper's Lodge Maidstone Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing