We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good clean comfortable, near town centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Innkeeper's Lodge Maidstone
Ranked #19 of 29 Maidstone B&B and Inns
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“good clean comfortable, near town centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

If you are looking for a decent room for a short stay in Maidstone this lodge offers a good option.
The pub is a Vintage Inn part of the Mitchell and Butler empire. Food is decent, well prepared pub classics. They do have real ale, but last time I visited the selection was poor - go to the Flower Pot just along the road for excellent CAMRA award winning beer.
Accommodation is above the pub, so there is a risk of noise, the White Rabbit isn't a rowdy pub, and doesn't play loud music, but the general hubbub and outdoor drinking in the summer is not to everyone's taste. Having said that although I have stayed there twice and not had my sleep disturbed.
A continental breakfast buffet is included in the quite reasonable price, cooked available if you want at additional cost. I have found the continental is plenty.
Bedrooms vary in size, but the ones I have stayed in had plenty of room, the family room with extra bed is enormous. My only quibble is that with so much room, why not have king size beds?

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rayw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Maidstone, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
We are so pleased to hear that you found The White Rabbit, Innkeeper's Lodge Maidstone a good place to stay, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    39
    23
    11
    11
See reviews for
13
34
4
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

My husband and I came here for a two night stay for our 10th wedding anniversary, and we had a lovely time. The staff were very helpful, offering to carry our cases to our room. The room was clean and comfortable. Plenty of storage. We ate in the restaurant bit of a wait but they was very busy. They helped my mum surprise us on the morning of our anniversary when we went down to breakfast. We would stay here again and would recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGriffins3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

I booked a table for five for the 18 June for 12.00 noon and upon arrival there was a queue of people for drinks so we had to find our own table and I had to go and ask if someone could take a drinks order after waiting for ten minutes. Again I had to go and ask for menus for food. Yet again I had to ask for someone to take our food order. We eventually received our meals an hour from arriving. The food was good but the service was appalling. They did not apologize to us and we will not be returning. I thought this establishment had turned over a new leaf when I went two months ago.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Maidstone, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
We are sorry that had disappointing service at our The ***Restaurant and we do appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback.
Thank you.
Innkeeper’s Lodge Maidstone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Maidstone hotels

Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

stayed for one night ,,room very spacious and comfortable. good position ,just across the road from Maidstone main rail station and shopping area,large outside area with seating for enjoying drinks and a meal with friends in the sunshine ,,big car park which you have to pay for but take ticket to the bar and get your money back ,,old fashioned and welcome atmosphere in pub reataurant ,,menu very inviting ,,but i was at a wedding reception so missed out on pub dinner ,tho i was able to have the buffet breakfast offered ,,all you need to get your day going ,,would gladly choose to stay here again .. thank you to the staff who looked after us.

Room Tip: hotel is on a main road on the roundabout but not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne_miller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

A very good deal on the room, £30 for the night was cheap, although if you are asked for in excess of £45 go to a premier inn!
I have eaten in vintage inns before, and the standard is low, but this one failed even by the normal poor standards. Starter, "field mushrooms on walnut bread" consisted of three small mushrooms on very dry toast that shattered when pressed with the knife. Garnished with some wilted greenery and served barely tepid on a freezing cold plate, not good. The "thick loin of cod" was a bigger mystery. The "piece of cod that passeth all understanding " was more like it, consisting of two thin "sausages" of a fish like substance, this was NOT a thick loin, more like a couple of goujons!
My advice is the room is poor b&b standard and worth up to £45, eat elsewhere, but keep it cheap!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here for Easter 2013 for 3 nights. Having stayed at Innkeepers Lodge before we knew what to expect with the breakfasts so weren't disappointed, although the croissants didn't seem very fresh. We had Room 7 (Dolphin) which had a small sitting area as well as the main spacious bedroom. We overlooked the sitting area at the front of the pub and there is some traffic noise although this wasn't a problem for us. However, in the bathroom the toilet roll holder was absent and the towel rail was not securely fixed to the wall. The Tv remote control only seemed to work if you stood directly in front of the tv. Due to the age of the building the floorboards creaked loudly and you couldn't move without making noise. Don't know if it could be heard downstairs in the bar! The car park, which is free, was strewn with litter which does not make for a welcoming sight. We were talking to some other guests who have stayed there quite a lot in recent years due to having relatives in the area and they said this would be their last time as it is going downhill and seems to get worse year by year. It wasn't that bad but it certainly is showing signs of not being maintained very well and is not the best Innkeepers Lodge we have stayed at (that was at Tunbridge Wells).

On the first night we stayed there a couple were having a domestic in the room next to ours from about 5.30am onwards. The room was trashed and they were leaving Saturday morning anyway. The cleaning lady told them if they didn't quieten down she would call the Police. However 2 events connected to this give cause for concern. Firstly, the people in the room above tried to call the 24hr helpline that the lodge give only for it to go to ansaphone. Secondly, when the management came on (9am) the young girl manager told me that she had never encountered anything like this before and didn't really know what to do. Says a lot for their management training!

The lodge is only 5 minutes from the town centre and is in an excellent position for touring the area. With a little bit of tlc it could be a very nice lodge.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thatch49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Excellent value for money hotel. Got the third night for free offer. An Innkeepers lodge hotel above a Vintage inn. Room was lovely (room 8, Family room) very large, clean and comfortable. Staff very friendly. Will definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Room 8, the family room very large and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maidstone hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Maidstone Town Centre Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#10 of 15 in Maidstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
1.1 mi away
Village Hotel Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone
#3 of 15 in Maidstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
3.1 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Maidstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Maidstone

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Maidstone
Address: Sandling Road | The White Rabbit, Maidstone ME14 2RF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Maidstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Maidstone 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1797 to house the officers' quarters of the Invicta Barracks, this distinctive lodge is one of the most welcoming hotels in Maidstone. Rather than repelling Napoleonic troops it now serves as relaxing budget accommodation for short breaks and business travel, and is ideally placed for exploring Kent or nearby towns like Chatham and East Malling.The colonial-style building offers 12 comfy rooms and a cosy pub, where you can unwind with a pint of cask ale and some freshly cooked, seasonally inspired food.Maidstone is Kent's business heart, but there's plenty to see and do besides attending an event at the East Malling Conference Centre. It's best known as home to the beautiful Leeds Castle, with its 500 acres of scenic parkland and popular golf course, but you could also enjoy the town's theatres, bars or busy shopping centre. Or you could explore the area via water, taking a canoe along the River Medway or a more leisurely boat trip on the Allington Belle or Kentish Lady. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Maidstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Rabbit Vintage Hotel Maidstone
Innkeeper's Lodge Maidstone Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing