We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shour break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Innkeeper's Lodge Maidstone
Ranked #20 of 27 Maidstone B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stopped here for an Spring break 2012. 2 Adults and 2 Children. We paid about £35 per room per night fpor three nights and this included continental breakfast. Very good value, granted not the best hotel but what you get for the price is really good value.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 111 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

Booked last minute for a business stop over in Maidstone. Arrived at half eight, check in was smooth, until i struggled up two flights of stairs with three bags only to turn the key in the lock to find another guest already occupying the room. Back down stairs, i was told they would need to make up a room for me. Had dinner in the pub whilst waiting, which was ok, nothing really special, allocated room two, on arrival in the room in was absolutely freezing, windows rattling and to top it off TV with no signal. I was in a room directly above the restaurant and breakfast room, so noisy during meal times. Managed to sort out the rattling windows and crank up the heating, so had a reasonable nights sleep. If i could have been bothered i would have complained about the overall experience,but to be honest this is not what i wanted to to after a long day at work. Like i say, you get what you pay for. Plus side, the complimentary breakfast looked adequate, although i didn't try it. Staff were polite, professional and attenti

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsh37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last weekend and got a family room for £30! It was clean very spacious and unique. A far better deal than the local travelodge or premier inn and mush less. Breakfast is also included in the price.

Situated just a 2 min stroll from the top of the highstreet.

Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jolly man h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

before my stay i had read varying reviews but always like to try. The hotel welcome was very good was shown to room and have to say i have not seen many larger rooms than this high ceilings large windows and a big bathroom all very good we asked for a quiet room and was slightly concerned when our room had a view over the car park but as it turned out this was not an issue.the hotel and the restuarant/bar are seperate businesses so you cannot charge anything to your room this is not a problem. room was cleaned every day and fresh towels no sign of the guilt trip notice about use dirty towels and save the planet thank god,The restuarant food & choices are excellent and were cooked perfectly the service in the restuarant was excellent one little niggle could do with at least one more person serving in the bar permanently.
value for money was excellent and location not only for maidsone town centre but to visit other towns by road or train was spot on will definetly go again

Room Tip: depending on the time of the year i would say if you were staying in the summer ask for one of the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Very welcoming and helpful staff with a great attitude. Delicious food and a cozy pub atmosphere. Room was basic but clean. The parent company -- Innkeeper's Lodge? -- really must sort out the wifi problem. They advertise it, so they should have it easily accessible on the premises. There was some technical problem related to mac and iphone so I went 2 days without being able to check email. Travellers rely on and expect easy access to wif!!! But given the lovely staff -- especially the manager -- I happily recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank childofnature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

A massive room, comfy bed, great breakfast included and excellent on site food and drink facilities, but you have to bear in mind several key factors and build this into your thinking taking into account the very reasonable price:
1. The building is old, floorboards creak and can be annoying.
2. Below the hotel is a vibrant pub, so if you need an early night it's best to stay somewhere else.
3. Because there is a pub on site, some guests can be very noisy. I was woken up by someone banging on the wall and telling me to be quiet when I had been asleep for an hour!
4. My room was stiffling and I had to buy a cheap fan from B&Q to make the following night bearable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I booked this place for convenience, due to its location close to several places I needed to visit over a couple of days on business.

Its a proper 'pub' so do not expect a full on hotel experience, it is a basic rooms over the main event, and the noise from the bar and resturant travels upstairs.

I had room 3, it is obviously an old building with sash windows so therefore without double glazing, making it noisy, especially those rooms fronting the main road, which room 3 does.

The floors creak and the bed is on a marked tilt. You could forgive it these old building quirks if it wasn't quite so shabby, the carpet is threadbare in places and really needs a clean, and the previous occupants towels had been left in the room, although I was also left clean ones!

The bathroom has seen better days with mould in the shower and a dented and cracked vanity unit.

On the plus side they let you park your car for free all day in their car park, although I did have to ask if it was safe, as there were some unsavoury charcters loitering when I arrived. Also the food is OK on the pub grub scale but I found the staff helpful and enthusiastic.

On the whole OK for a one night business stopover but I wouldn't have been impressed if I had booked as part of a holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheltsunseeker50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maidstone hotels
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Maidstone Central
Travelodge Maidstone Central
#11 of 17 in Maidstone
481 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 17 in Maidstone
1,634 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grange Moor Hotel
Grange Moor Hotel
#14 of 17 in Maidstone
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Oakwood House Hotel
Oakwood House Hotel
#12 of 17 in Maidstone
335 reviews
1.7 mi away
Village Hotel Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone
#5 of 17 in Maidstone
1,803 reviews
3.1 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Maidstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Maidstone

Address: Sandling Road | The White Rabbit, Maidstone ME14 2RF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Maidstone
Price Range: $78 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Maidstone 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1797 to house the officers' quarters of the Invicta Barracks, this distinctive lodge is one of the most welcoming hotels in Maidstone. Rather than repelling Napoleonic troops it now serves as relaxing budget accommodation for short breaks and business travel, and is ideally placed for exploring Kent or nearby towns like Chatham and East Malling.The colonial-style building offers 12 comfy rooms and a cosy pub, where you can unwind with a pint of cask ale and some freshly cooked, seasonally inspired food.Maidstone is Kent's business heart, but there's plenty to see and do besides attending an event at the East Malling Conference Centre. It's best known as home to the beautiful Leeds Castle, with its 500 acres of scenic parkland and popular golf course, but you could also enjoy the town's theatres, bars or busy shopping centre. Or you could explore the area via water, taking a canoe along the River Medway or a more leisurely boat trip on the Allington Belle or Kentish Lady. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Maidstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Rabbit Vintage Hotel Maidstone
Innkeeper's Lodge Maidstone Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing