We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute Little B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Detling Coachhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Detling Coachhouse
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Maidstone
Certificate of Excellence
Southend-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cute Little B&B”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

A lovely looking B&B with fantastic surroundings. Absolutely beautiful. But just a small downfall... the room we stayed in, the heating system had broken and where the door had been kept shut from the rest of the house, the room was freezing! They gave us a small fan heater but it look a while to heat up. Breakfast in the morning was amazing. We had a full English Breakfast. The Owners very friendly and accommodating. Would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy_Saunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    48
    15
    10
    2
See reviews for
24
83
26
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Friends and I used this accommodation for our yearly reunion, renting out several rooms for the night. I had a single room with en suite. The proprietors made us very welcome and gave us the feeling that nothing was too much trouble for them.

The stay was very relaxing from beginning to end. The coach house is very atmospheric, cosy and the beds extremely comfy - I have never slept so well away from home before.

The location would make an excellent stop off en route to Dover.

Fabulous food in the pub down the road although you need a car to get there and back really. Brilliant selection at breakfast with no interference from the proprietors enabling us to have a really unhurried chat and catch up.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at Detling Coach House on our way to and from France and cannot recommend it highly enough. The service was excellent as is the location, convenient for the motorway and channel ports, the many historic sites and beautiful countryside, in fact something for everyone. The gardens are a delight Our room was comfortable and well appointed, breakfast was lovely and we very much hope to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandA94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

stayed for one night while we were rubbing shoulders with famous musicians down the road at maidstone studios. when we arrived we were loitering about in the lobby until we managed to get the attention of the owners (our own fault for not ringing the doorbell, although it was raining heavily) we were escorted to our room and offered a tea or coffee, which was promptly presented with a couple of complimentary chocolate digestives, a very nice touch indeed. the room, while ever so slightly small was perfect for our single night stay. clean towels, neatly lay waiting on the end of a very comfortable and clean double bed. the bathroom facilities were excellent and we were warned prior to use about the water pressure issue which meant there is a very short delay before water flowed from the taps. I did turn the tap fully, confused, waiting until a forceful gush of H20 sprinkled all over my floral shirt (Mr Bean style) again this was my own fault as I had been made aware but a tiny bit irritating none the less. the owners were extremely helpful and went out of their way to help us around the town of maidstone. I could not thank them enough for their insight, reassurance and gratuitous favours. a fine establishment that I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doctorglover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly service. Received texts before arrival to check ETA and arrangements. The place is set in beautiful surroundings. Typical English cottage style, which was lovely. Unfortunately the bedding smelled musty and bed was very squeaky. The other downside was the very interesting plumbing. After turning the tap on, you had to wait about 10 seconds and then it came gushing out. We initially couldn't get the shower on and then we couldn't turn it fully off. We thought this was quite amusing but can imagine it might annoy some people. The breakfast was amazing and cooked exactly how we asked for it and there was a lovely homely atmosphere.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CherylSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, we shall look into the comments you have made.
As we don't have much height for the water we need to employ a pump to provide the pressure which unfortunately does have a time lag . We have looked into many possibilities but this is our only option.
kind regards
Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Had a lovely stay for 6 nights at this b&b at the end of June. Lots to do and see using the Coach House as a base to explore from and then come back for a good night`s sleep with a delicious breakfast in the morning. Lovely country garden - felt very peaceful yet in reality near main roads for easy access to other parts of the area. Mia was a charming young waitress,

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joyce99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. It makes our day to know we have happy guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We chose this B&B after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. We found it was good, and it did what you'd expect, but didn't quite live up to expectations. It was in an attractive location and we received a friendly welcome. The room was small, the shower/hot tap sporadic, and there was wifi but no code. The breakfast was good, but we'd have loved it if the tea was from a pot, rather than a flask of hot water that had sat on the side for some time. We're probably being very picky as our expectations were raised by TripAdvisor. This is certainly a good B&B. Its just we didn't think it was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are sorry it wasn't quite as you expected. The Coachhouse is a very old building and operates a pump to ensure hot water is at a good pressure but there is a time lag of a few seconds before the water comes out. Wi-Fi code is always available, Its either in the brochure or we could of provided you the code.
With regards to breakfast the hot water is kept in hot water dispensers and we have never received any complaints however we will take on board your advice. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maidstone
0.9 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
529 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.0 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#10 of 15 in Maidstone
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
1,463 reviews
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Maidstone Town Centre Hotel
15.4 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Detling Coachhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detling Coachhouse

Property: Detling Coachhouse
Address: Scragged Oak Road | Detling, Maidstone ME14 3HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Maidstone
#3 Romantic Hotel in Maidstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Detling Coachhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully beamed Coachhouse set in stunning North Downs Way, Kent, convenient to M20 & M2 between London & Dover. 35 mins from Gatwick Airport. Clean, comfortable and welcoming. Excellent traditional pubs and restaurants nearby. 10 mins from Leeds Castle, directly opposite Kent County Showground. Free Parking & WIFI ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Detling Coachhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Detling Coachhouse Maidstone, Kent
Detling Coachhouse Hotel Maidstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing