We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good B&B - but didn't live up to expectations.”
Review of Detling Coachhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Detling Coachhouse
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Maidstone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We chose this B&B after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. We found it was good, and it did what you'd expect, but didn't quite live up to expectations. It was in an attractive location and we received a friendly welcome. The room was small, the shower/hot tap sporadic, and there was wifi but no code. The breakfast was good, but we'd have loved it if the tea was from a pot, rather than a flask of hot water that had sat on the side for some time. We're probably being very picky as our expectations were raised by TripAdvisor. This is certainly a good B&B. Its just we didn't think it was great.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are sorry it wasn't quite as you expected. The Coachhouse is a very old building and operates a pump to ensure hot water is at a good pressure but there is a time lag of a few seconds before the water comes out. Wi-Fi code is always available, Its either in the brochure or we could of provided you the code.
With regards to breakfast the hot water is kept in hot water dispensers and we have never received any complaints however we will take on board your advice. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
There are newer reviews for Detling Coachhouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 221 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed for a single night at Detling Coach House, while on a business trip at the end of June. I spend a reasonable chunk of my working life visiting different parts of the country, so I fairly regularly stay in hotels & B&Bs, but Detling Coach House was comfortably the best B&B I've ever stayed in.

For starters, the location is lovely. It's mere moments from both the M20 & M2, but is in a gorgeously rural location, in the lovely village of Detling. The rooms look out over some well-tended gardens, ample car parking and some chickens (presumably the source of the eggs at breakfast).

On arrival, I was greeted warmly, both by a very friendly dog & the owner. Everything was explained fully, from the time of breakfast, to the WiFi connection & how to operate the shower. My room was absolutely lovely, with exposed beams & a marvellously comfortable bed.

I always find that it's the little things that make for a special stay. In this case, the highlight was probably the fact that the owner's young daughter (Mia, I think - apologies if not!) was off school due to a teacher training day & was enthusiastically helping out. She took orders at breakfast, stripped beds & was generally a real credit to the place & her parents!

I'll certainly be staying again next time I'm in the area!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. Its so nice to hear that our guests really enjoyed their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed one night on the way back from France, and although there were no real problems it did not feel homely like a lot of B&Bs. It was a really strange experience as we did not meet the owners until breakfast the next morning. The owner texted us to say she wouldn't be around and a note was waiting for us in the lobby.
The room was lovely with a big comfy bed except for the pillows they were hard and flat! The bathroom was good although the shower was not that great, but that is to be expected from power showers.
Breakfast was average, cereals, a bit of fruit, yoghurt and from cold meats, muffins and toast. A hot breakfast was cooked on order. However mine was bought out whilst still eating my yoghurt. The owner seemed a bit rushed as the coffee run out as did the hot water at the same time.
There are nice grounds to sit in and the building is attractive and easy to find. Plenty of parking. There is a pub that does food (although only average) within 20 minute walk, but not a real attractive walk. It is up hill on the return trip so could take longer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valandroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you for your review. Please let us know how we can improve so we can enhance your stay when you are back in the area. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

just had the happy experience of a 2nd visit to this lovely Bed and Breakfast , and was as good as the first if not better. As remembered who i was , not many hotels to that you normal a number In/Out thanks . Not here breakfast so a good and cooked to order , had another brilliant nights sleep and no noise , only peace and quiet ,even when full.
Well worth another visit when ,in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. Always nice to hear that you enjoyed yourself. Hopefully see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at Detling Coach House during the Easter weekend. The hosts are warm and accommodating. Rooms are clean and comfortable with good facilities including WiFi. Breakfast is served to order and there is a good selection of cereals. Quiet location which is easy to find. Stayed here last year and plan on returning again next year!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you Katie for your kind words its always a pleasure to see you, looking forward to seeing you again next year hopefully
Emma x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I recently spend an evening at the Detling Coach House, a restored couch house turned bed and breakfast in Kent, and was extremely please with the accomodations and service. It has a warm homey atmosphere, good service, and comfortable rooms. My bed was very comfortable, and I appreciated the free cable TV and internet access. All in all it was a very good experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loobiloo20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for you for your lovely review, I'm always glad to hear when new visitors enjoy our B&B and our service.
Hope to see you in the future
Kind regards
Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

A lovely place to stay , just off the main Maidstone to Sheerness road and motorway,but so quiet would not know it. Room clean and tidy with en-suite , breakfast freshly cooked to order and a choose of fruits ,pastry and cereals also. The offer of a torch by Emma to see the way down to the local pub as no street lighting as is that rural,is the kind of personal touch you will appreciate. would recommend to all and will use again .

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for your kind words, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we do try our best to ensure that everyone is well looked after to the best of our ability
Many thanks
Emma,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maidstone hotels
0.9 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
570 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.9 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#9 of 17 in Maidstone
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Grange Moor Hotel
Grange Moor Hotel
#15 of 17 in Maidstone
374 reviews
4.0 mi away
Village Hotel Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone
#5 of 17 in Maidstone
1,768 reviews
4.2 mi away
Oakwood House Hotel
Oakwood House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Maidstone
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Detling Coachhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detling Coachhouse

Address: Scragged Oak Road | Detling, Maidstone ME14 3HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Maidstone
#4 Romantic Hotel in Maidstone
Price Range: $84 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Detling Coachhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully beamed Coachhouse set in stunning North Downs Way, Kent, convenient to M20 & M2 between London & Dover. 35 mins from Gatwick Airport. Clean, comfortable and welcoming. Excellent traditional pubs and restaurants nearby. 10 mins from Leeds Castle, directly opposite Kent County Showground. Free Parking & WIFI ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Detling Coachhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Detling Coachhouse Maidstone, Kent
Detling Coachhouse Hotel Maidstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing