We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modernb B&B with old fashioned warmth and hospitality.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Detling Coachhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Detling Coachhouse
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Maidstone
Certificate of Excellence
Alaior, Spain
Level Contributor
111 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Modernb B&B with old fashioned warmth and hospitality.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

We arrived after a long drive through very bad road conditions and were immediately greeted with tea and mince pies, so we knew Detling Coach House was going to be a great place to stay. The double room was small but well equipped and the large bathroom compensated for the lack of space in the bedroom. We were visiting the adjacent showground for a company Christmas party and we were told that instead of paying £15 for a cab to take us less than 1/2 a mile, we could drive there and they would arrange for us to be allowed to return on foot through a gate at the rear of the showground which was directly opposite the Coachhouse. We could then return the following day for the car. Athough directly next to the showground, the Coachhouse is far away from the main buildings, so there is no noise or disturbance.

Breakfast the following day was absolutely wonderful, with just about everything you could possibly want. If we every pass this way again, we would definately stay here.

Room Tip: We only experienced one room and it was excellent. My guess is that all the others are of similar q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DhBahiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Many thanks for your lovely review it was my pleasure to look after you and I wish you a very Merry Christmas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    47
    15
    10
    2
See reviews for
22
82
26
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
190 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Emma was exceptionally helpful over the phone when I made the booking, and proved to be a wonderful hostess at her lovely B&B. Our room was tucked into the eaves of the Coach House, pristinely clean, and well appointed with bathroom essentials, tea and coffee facilities etc. Emma welcomed us, showed us up to the room,brought up tea and biscuits, and helped us plan our evening with recomendations and directions to local restaurants and pubs. Her suggestions were excellent, we had a great night out, with fine food at the Cock Horse locally.
Beds were comfy, the room was a good temperature, there didn't appear to be any noise from other rooms, tv reception was good, water pressure/temp great, lots of fluffy towels. Everywhere was immaculately clean.
Breakfast exceeded my B&B expectations - a good choice of fruits, cereals, porridge, breads and a complete FEB (Full English Breakfast) as well! It's served in the Breakfast Room where we had the opportunity to chat with the other guests about plans for the day and their experiences of local attractions and hostelries.
I'd love to come back here, and recommend it heartily. It is pretty close to Leeds Castle, which had been our Dy 1 destination on the trip. Thanks Emma!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjgiants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review, we always appreciate knowing that we are doing the right thing and that our guests are enjoying their stay with us.
Many thanks
Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Excellent homely accommodation, owner Emma is very welcoming and friendly. The rooms are very clean and comfy.
Would 100% recommend and will look forward to staying again. We went for a`work Christmas party to the Detling show ground, which was within stumbling distance from the coach house.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ria716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Its really great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, hope to see you again sometime Happy Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Homely B&B in a lovely area. rooms are well accommodated, cosy and clean. Owner Emma is extremely friendly and down to earth person who is easy to talk to. Help us out by dropping us to local pub rather than paying for taxi, also not to mention she cook a lovely breakfast with a decent amount of options fresh fruit etc.

Thanks for having us

Danielle and Danny

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daniellejudges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thanks Guys, it was my pleasure to help, I'm glad you managed to get into the show and had a great time. Hope to see you again. Merry Christmas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

I stayed for 2 nights and took full advantage of the facilities.

Room was upgraded to a double for free. Always a good start. The room was a good size with good facilities. Wifi, tv. The shower was excellent. Nice and hot and spacious. So a big plus for me.

The breakfast was also very good and being created with a cup of tea a nice touch.

Would happily use again. And recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank omniafly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you for your kind words , I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Not having stayed in a B&B for many years, I was initially rather wary but need not have had any concerns at all. Room was quite small but had an extremely large and comfortable bed. Bathroom was spacious with everything you need, including toiletries. Room was pleasantly warm with more than adequate storage for clothing. The light throw was a nice touch - I have arthritis in my knees and after a hard days walking in the cool damp weather we experienced, it was great to wrap them in this to ease the ache! The breakfast in the morning was excellent - really good bacon and eggs that couldn't have been fresher (own hens in garden!) However the best part was the friendliness of the owners and their staff. They were helpful and informative. The B&B is ideally situated for attending the Kent Showground but be aware that your own transport is necessary as public transport is some distance away (circa 0.5 miles), limited and unreliable. One bus I went for was 20 minutes late - on a trip that took 20minutes!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gleeful_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely rview, we are glad we have put your faith back into the smaller B&B's. We hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards
Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at the B&B while visiting family near by. We was greeted with a smile and a warm welcome. We was shown to our room which was very pleasant. We had a perfect nights sleep the bed was very comfy which we nicknamed "the marshmallow" over all room was very clean and fresh. The perfect english breakfast served in the morning what more could you want. Highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoadersRus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your kind words, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us,
kind regards
Emma Tang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maidstone
0.8 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.0 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#10 of 15 in Maidstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
15.4 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
3.2 mi away
Village Hotel Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone
#4 of 15 in Maidstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Detling Coachhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detling Coachhouse

Property: Detling Coachhouse
Address: Scragged Oak Road | Detling, Maidstone ME14 3HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Maidstone
#3 Romantic Hotel in Maidstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Detling Coachhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully beamed Coachhouse set in stunning North Downs Way, Kent, convenient to M20 & M2 between London & Dover. 35 mins from Gatwick Airport. Clean, comfortable and welcoming. Excellent traditional pubs and restaurants nearby. 10 mins from Leeds Castle, directly opposite Kent County Showground. Free Parking & WIFI ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Detling Coachhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Detling Coachhouse Maidstone, Kent
Detling Coachhouse Hotel Maidstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing