We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold shower”
Review of Detling Coachhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Detling Coachhouse
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Maidstone
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cold shower”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Woke up in the morning to get a shower after a long trip from Liverpool to find there was no hot water. When we first got in the room the tv wouldn't work. Then received a towel with stains on. Apart from that the bed and breakfast is ok.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jozef86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
We took this booking at a lower price as it was a quiet night. A double room was booked but it turned out this late check in were two men who wanted a twin room. Thankfully our guest agreed to swap rooms. I offered to take their rubbish away after they had their take away in the breakfast room and as they didn't have to work unitl the following evening I offered a later checkout with a cooked breakfast and full use of our breakfast buffet. The ariel for the TV had come away so I put it back in. As to the shower all the hot water was emptied in the first of the two showers so we offered an alternative. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    48
    16
    10
    2
See reviews for
24
87
26
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rhuddlan, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Looked for B & B for peace & quiet and that's what we got in spades. The welcome was warm and friendly as was the tea/coffee. Our room was just right, a comfortable space after days out for a quiet nights rest. Breakfast was really good, kept us going through the day and were those eggs from Emmas hens I wonder?. It was so relaxing sitting in the garden early morning with a coffee and my book and the company of Max and Ruby.
Detling Coachhouse is so much better than a couple of hotels we've stayed in and will definitely stay any time we're back in the area.
The Coachhouse is in such a great position as a base for touring the area aswell, close enough to and far enough from so many places to visit.
Our thanks for being there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hefina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Never having booked with a B & B, we were so pleased with the English countryside setting of Detling Coach House & would highly recommend it to anyone. The owners were so accomodating & helpful during our 2-week stay. The beds were so comfortable & never felt cramped. Very quiet at night. This is a very relaxed and comfortable environment, but possibly not for the ultra-fussy types. Breakfast was so easy and accomodating. We would definitely re-visit Detling Coach House again if the occasion permits and would invite the owners to visit us in Southern California if they are out this way. Cherrio!

Room Tip: Upstairs on the left was sunny, spacious. Two windows opened completely for lovely evening breezes,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancynolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We had booked a double/twin room for the first day of our holidays in England. Unfortunately the room was way too small for two persons. There was no place for our suitcases, the (small!) television was placed on top of the clothes cabinet, just beneath the ceiling and therefore it was impossible to view any programs. No chairs - nothing to give any comfort.
When I complained about the crampedness of the room to the rather unfriendly lady owner she advised me to place my suitcase in the boiler cupboard, on the dirty floor...
This hotel would do much better if it sold this room as a single, taking one bed out and replacing it with a chair and TV table.
Positive: we slept well and the breakfast was good

Room Tip: For single travelers: no problem. But for couples: ask for a LARGE enough room to accomodate two per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank_and_Anneke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
We always aim to look after our guests in a friendly, efficient, professional way, however sometimes you know when guests do not warm to you and perhaps communication does not translate well in situations where there may be a language barrier.
We are a period property over 300 years old which has original oak beams and therefore have some restricted headroom but have tried to make the rooms as comfortable as we can. We always endeavour to make our guests happy unfortunately sometimes to no avail. If when I had checked them in and they had told me they were unhappy, I could have dealt with it at the time, rather than leave a poor review , maybe they find that more satisfying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Warm welcome. Very clean and comfortable. Very good breakfast. Pretty convenient for North Downs Way. Recommended.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Super location with beautiful garden. Back to nature. Rooms very clean and fresh - a little small. Bed comfy. Very large bathroom -- though lacks a shower. Good to have a bath though instead.
Great breakfast. Very welcome cup of tea on arrival -- well appreciated.

WiFi very good inside building.

Super value for money. I tend to stay in good hotels so comparison is hard. I guess I missed my shower and I never think about if there would be a shower these days!

Room Tip: Check to see if the other rooms have showers. Mine was the double twin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve_Brussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Thank you for your kind words, we like to take any critisism constructively and in view of your opinions on the shower situation we have now added a proper shower to this room , all are rooms now have either a shower or both a shower and a bath and are en-suite
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wernhout
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2012

This B&B is clean, has a very good hospitality and gave us the feeling of being home.
It looks lovely inside and outside and has a nice garden. Camera protection around and in the house so it feels very safe.
The tippical English breakfast is good. they even had ham and cheese at breakfast! So if you don't want a cooked breakfast, they have a lot of choice. We will visit this B&B again. I am sure!
We booked 3 rooms so we have seen half of the B&B.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WernhoutAnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maidstone hotels
0.9 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
554 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.9 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Grange Moor Hotel
Grange Moor Hotel
#12 of 15 in Maidstone
358 reviews
4.2 mi away
Oakwood House Hotel
Oakwood House Hotel
#11 of 15 in Maidstone
316 reviews
4.0 mi away
Village Hotel Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone
#4 of 15 in Maidstone
1,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Detling Coachhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detling Coachhouse

Property: Detling Coachhouse
Address: Scragged Oak Road | Detling, Maidstone ME14 3HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Maidstone
#3 Romantic Hotel in Maidstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Detling Coachhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully beamed Coachhouse set in stunning North Downs Way, Kent, convenient to M20 & M2 between London & Dover. 35 mins from Gatwick Airport. Clean, comfortable and welcoming. Excellent traditional pubs and restaurants nearby. 10 mins from Leeds Castle, directly opposite Kent County Showground. Free Parking & WIFI ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Detling Coachhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Detling Coachhouse Maidstone, Kent
Detling Coachhouse Hotel Maidstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing