We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad to have stayed here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oakwood House Hotel
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Maidstone
Briisbane Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Glad to have stayed here”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This refurbished Victorion mansion was very impressive. Although I think their core business is conference and wedding facilitation we were made very welcome and our room was very comfortable.Breakfast buffet was normal hotel fare but some of the hot breafast was served a little on the cold side. We experienced problems finding this hotel using GPS cordinates but we found that Queens Road has excellent signage. While the is a lot of construction nearby the hotel is close to parks and sporting fields with treelined streets for little gentle strolling or jogging.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denjudfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    100
    84
    27
    24
See reviews for
52
115
10
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Spent one night here 28th September 2012. I read some of the reviews on here saying the Hotel was quite hard to find and have to agree that on entering the actual road the hotel is situated (which looks like you are entering a school campus) it was not signposted very well but we managed to work it out how to get to the hotel.
The front of the House looks lovely with plenty of parking. On check in we were told by the clerk that the price of £100 we were quoted when we booked the day before was not the correct one and we would only be charged £90. The rooms are in the newer part of the building and our room 19 was lovely very modern and very clean. We ate in the Hotel bar and the food was very nice and good value.
Overall a nice hotel to saty for the night.

Helpful?
1 Thank Smallerpeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I stayed here for two nights 17th-19th Sept 12. On driving to the hotel it felt very industrial. The site is in the middle of a school and other government buildings with some with barbed wire around the roof, which was a bit disconcerting. But the front of the building is very attractive and grand. Plenty of free parking.
Reception staff was very friendly and efficient. The building itself was clearly used for another purpose in its earlier life, very clinical style. The rooms are well appointed, with TV & built in DVD player, hair dryer in draw. Bathroom was very clean and modern. Shower has instructions how to use it. Read them! Bed was comfy but firm.
Area is quiet at night. The bar is simple but fine. Bar staff was a bit noisy mucking around amongst themselves a bit. But they are young, and seemed to spend much time out in kitchen laughing. Food was fine, and menu was adequate. Breakfast was ok. I'd say get down early as food was a bit dry later on (buffet style). There seemed to be quite a loud argument in kitchen about time it would take for bacon to be ready. Every guest seated could hear clearly. Not good- Staff training needed maybe.
This hotel is ideal for business top over’s or companies having functions, training or seminars as everyone can stay on site.
I wouldn't stay here personally as a romantic getaway. Saying that. the gardens looked well looked after.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jondiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Found this place on Laterooms for an overnight in Kent. Well discounted price for a last minute stay. Small room but modern with good facilities, an in-room fridge would have been handy. The bar does only a restricted menu so we walked 10 mins to the nearby pub and had a really nice meal. Breakfast buffet style with helpful staff, asked for more scrambled eggs and they appeared almost immediately. Can see that it is very popular with business people, lots of seminars etc. going on and it is in the middle of schools and a Uni.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

My son and I stayed here for a quick overnight stay. All the staff here were friendly and helpful particularly in the bar / restaurant area where in the absence of a kids' menu made up a smaller portion of food for him. Dinner was delicious and breakfast was a particularly good, fresh selection of food.The room was newly refurbished but unfortunately tiny. With two of us in a twin room there was very little space for luggage. However, the room would be fine for one person and was ok for us for a few hours. If I'm ever in the area again and travelling alone, I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Oakwood house is in very pretty surrounds. Staff were polite and helpful when it emerged that the internet had accidentally booked me two rooms! The room was spacious and nice. There were tea and coffee facilitates and a great range of toiletries. If I had one criticism, it would be that the sound proofing between rooms was not great. Overall, a lovely hotel to stay in after a party.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arabella86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
76 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Oakwood House is a hotel and conference centre owned by Kent County Council. Despite that, the hotel facilities compare very favourably with other three or four star hotels in the area. My "executive" room was small but well equipped and comfortable. The bar serves a selection of bar meals, but there's no restaurant. The client paid the bill, but I suspect it was pretty good value!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enandem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maidstone hotels
3.9 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
0.4 mi away
Grange Moor Hotel
Grange Moor Hotel
#12 of 15 in Maidstone
348 reviews
1.7 mi away
Village Hotel Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone
#4 of 15 in Maidstone
1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
547 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
1,525 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#10 of 15 in Maidstone
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakwood House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwood House Hotel

Property: Oakwood House Hotel
Address: Oakwood House Oakwood Park Tonbridge Road, Maidstone ME16 8AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Maidstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakwood House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once at Oakwood House enjoy going back in time and experience the history and architecture of the house. Each of our 40 modern rooms have a private en-suite facility with a flat screen television and beverage making amenities, so your comfort and relaxation are guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Oakwood House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakwood House Hotel Maidstone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing