We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oakwood House Hotel
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Maidstone
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed October 9, 2011

I booked a flash deal for this hotel as a special treat for myself and my partner...check in was easy but we had to pay on arrival for our room. The courtyard bar looked inviting so we decided to eat there....but that was a mistake!! There was a choice of 3 starters 3 mains and 2 desserts and a 2 course meal with drink is £16.95. I thought that was good value but they had run out of classic burger by 7.30pm and the vegetarian main course was tasteless. For dessert we opted for the profiteroles but they seemed to be partly frozen. When we went to pay by debit card the waitress asked if we wanted a receipt....then gave us a till receipt but failed to give us a receipt for the payment by card. I queried this with reception but as to whether anything happens only time will tell. The breakfast was cooked to order...although the waitress did not listen to what we ordered and just gave us everything on the menu. There is also a continental selection available which is self-service with the juices and teas/coffees. The breakfast was tasty which did help after our disappointing evening meal.
We booked a standard double room which was modern with flat screen tv and freeview channels...the bed was really comfy but the pillows were huge and solid so we both woke up with a neck ache and a restless night!! The shower room is very modern and looked brand new...the towels were thick and absorbent. There is only a single wardrobe in the room so if there are 2 of you staying for any length of time this may be a problem. Hairdryers are available from reception but are not in the room. It is easy to get lost moving around the hotel which is also a conference centre...it was very quiet at the weekend and seemed under staffed. When we went out to the gardens this morning I noticed that there were quite a few empty bottles lying around the grass and the outside seating area had cups left on the tables from the previous day. What a shame as such lovely surroundings and would have been lovely for a walk had the weather been better!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neopuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    102
    84
    27
    25
See reviews for
52
117
10
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

The hotel is difficult to find, located in the middle of a campus & poorly signed.

The rooms are really great, for what I paid, definitely 4 star accommodation.

The food is just dreadful, I had Pollock and Chips with a pint for a tenner.

Sounds good value doesn't it, it wasn't!

The fish was battered sushi, raw inside and the batter far too crispy. The chips were over done! Who wants garnish, peas would have been nice!

Breakfast was a bit better but the staff seemed preoccupied with each other, the toaster didn't work properly & the only table available was laid up for 6 people.

Clearly individual residents are an afterthought, the main emphasis being corporate events & conferences, generally larger groups.

Potentially this hotel could be great it just needs the management to take the food problem seriously & add a few personal touches so individual guests want to come back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa_n_Grant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed at Oakwood for a family wedding and had a great stay - I would highly recommend.

The breakfast was absolutely fine with plenty of choice.

It is worth staying if you are attending a wedding/event at oakwood as the price is very reasonable.

Thanks Oakwood

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophieJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

picture of front of building creates an image of a country house hotel in spacious surroundings when in reality the building is on something of a large-ish estate next to a college. The staff were friendly and helpful on the plus side, but the breakfast was awful, the room adequate, and the shower, though great in the evening, dripped water in the morning. This hotel is fine if you're after a travel-inn type bog standard hotel room to use as a base, but is certainly not a country retreat.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brownie1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

The hotel is nice but hadn't picked uptjhat it was also a conference centre. Breakfast and meals are in the bar of the hotel - glass roofed and pleasant to sit in except for the evening we had a meal and were surrounded by a lot of people who must have been having a meeting, maybe Rotary or something similar. They were standing between the tables and the bar counter, talking loudly while we were trying to eat and have a conversation. Restaurant staff helpful about my particular diet. I couldn't believe there were no leaflets on things to look at in the area. They certainly weren't promoting Kent at all. Very narrow minded of the management as we had particularly gone to that area to have a look around as we are from the North East.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bookring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We needed a hotel in the area with disabled facilities and found this via an online search; the room was excellent and ensured accessibility and comfort. Unfortunately our evening meal and breakfast were less than adequate. Dinner was incomplete and one of our group's meal overlooked. By the time we wanted dessert we were told the chef had gone home. No charge made for ur dinner a a result. A great shame. Buffet breakfast basic but I hear the full english was good!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights while attending a wedding in the hotel. Our room was fine, nothing special but what really annoyed me was there was no soap to my wash hands, or any toiletries (shower gel, shampoo, shower cap etc.). There was no iron, ironing board & hair dryer. For a hotel of this calibre I would at least expect all these items to be standard. Breakfast was ok, again nothing special and the service was EXTREMELY SLOW!!

On the plus side the wedding was great and the food & service provided at the wedding was brillant! Credit where it is due.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank cunga22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maidstone hotels
3.9 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
0.4 mi away
Grange Moor Hotel
Grange Moor Hotel
#12 of 15 in Maidstone
357 reviews
1.7 mi away
Village Hotel Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone
#4 of 15 in Maidstone
1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
1,545 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
554 reviews
4.2 mi away
Detling Coachhouse
Detling Coachhouse
#7 of 15 in Maidstone
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakwood House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwood House Hotel

Property: Oakwood House Hotel
Address: Oakwood House Oakwood Park Tonbridge Road, Maidstone ME16 8AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Maidstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakwood House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once at Oakwood House enjoy going back in time and experience the history and architecture of the house. Each of our 40 modern rooms have a private en-suite facility with a flat screen television and beverage making amenities, so your comfort and relaxation are guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Oakwood House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakwood House Hotel Maidstone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing