We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good stay but chilly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Maidstone (Sandling) Hotel
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Maidstone
Certificate of Excellence
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
354 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“A good stay but chilly”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This hotel is in the usual Premier Inn style. Clean rooms, comfortable beds at a good price. The reception staff very cheerful and helpful, always checking everything was ok each time we saw them. Our only complaint was the temperature in the room. Although we worked out how to set the thermostat we were sure it didn't heat the room to the temperature shown. But as we were out all day it didn't spoil our stay. Good location, near the motorway and an excellent Beefeater next door for the evening meal. If we are in the area again we would use this for an overnight stay.

Room Tip: We always ring ahead of our arrival and request a room in the quieter part of the hotel. We had roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    128
    25
    18
    7
See reviews for
125
132
15
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire,England
Level Contributor
363 reviews
259 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 399 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Whitbread Group seem to stagger from a bad place to a worse with each passing month although unlike Travelodge have not received stories about ears bitten off and recapitalisation, that said and even when you find a bargain branch available for your stay there are standards which they declare and then fail to maintain. I know because we have stayed at this one before that the food will be terrible but at least detritus under the table, on the table and dirty cutlery could be avoides. The good night sleep guarantee invoked because I was woken in early hours by other guests - I was not offered the refund. The room was freezing , I borrowed a heater from reception, the thermostat reverts to about 21 even when put up to a miserly 23.5 max. I wrote to chief exec and chairman about constant problems booking online, never had the courtesy of an acknowledgement so poor service starts at the top. Why 2 points then, well there are plenty of worse places out their but in the current climate how do people get away with such poor standards.

Room Tip: I only booked this branch due to price there are better locally
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveSpencer32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Maidstone (Sandling) Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. We are however, pleased to learn that you were refunded in line with our Good Night Guarantee and we will ensure these matters are investigated with the Management Team directly. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Very helpful and friendly staff but heating needs to be adjusted as rooms very cold when its cold outside. Heating auromatically turned off of at night until morning.
Restaurant next door also very good although a little expensive.
Setting very good on the river where you can go for a boat trip in suitable weather or a walk.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terrygrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed for two nights due to a family wedding. The check in was quick and painless, the reception staff were very helpful, friendly and polite. The room was very comfortable, clean and well maintained, as was the bathroom. There is a Bernie Inn next to the hotel call the Malta Inn which provided a great breakfast, The setting is very pretty and there is a regular ferry service that will take you into Maidstone. Even though it was bitterly cold whilst we were there I would definitely go back during the summer (if we get one!) as the pub and the setting was lovely.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnThomas63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This Premier Inn was clean and comfortable, with a friendly welcome: what I'd expect from a Premier Inn. We didn't use the pub next door for dinner or breakfast, so I can't comment on that. It is very conveniently situated.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TreesaJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My wife and I needed a break away from having a new kitchen installed so decided a meal out somewhere different, but locally. We like the Malta Inn at Sandling and decided to book into the Premier Inn next door. I have nothing but praise for the Premier Inns we have stayed in and Sandling was up there with the best of budget hotels. Staff were welcoming and friendly and the room was modern, clean, bright and comfortable. Even though the M20 is only a few hundred yards away and you share the carpark with the Malta Inn Beefeater Pub there was no noise or disturbances. A great weekend away.

Room Tip: Front rooms overlook the pub carpark but I cant recall any noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wellingda16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
249 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here a few times over recent years due to its convenient location next to the motorway and not far from town.
Its your typical updated premier inn with large flat screen tv in the bedroom.
Very friendly reception staff, always smiling and asking did you need anything each time they saw you.
Rooms perfectly clean as always with Premier Inns.
Great beefeater restaurant next door for dinner and breakfast.
Another great night spent at a premier inn.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tn62wilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maidstone hotels
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Maidstone Town Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
Village Hotel Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone
#4 of 15 in Maidstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,549 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Maidstone (Allington) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
4.0 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.5 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Maidstone (Sandling) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Maidstone (Sandling) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Maidstone (Sandling) Hotel
Address: Allington Lock | Sandling, Maidstone ME14 3AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Maidstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Maidstone (Sandling) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic riverside location with an outdoor beer garden, just a few miles from Maidstone ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Maidstone (Sandling) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Maidstone (Sandling) Hotel Maidstone
Premier Inn Maidstone (Sandling) Hotel Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing