We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best food in Maidstone” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nelsons Bar & Restaurant - CLOSED

Nelsons Bar & Restaurant
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best food in Maidstone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Amazing food and menu well explained by the staff. Had the two course groupon deal and the standard of food was outstanding. I cant understand any negative reviews for this place!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    24
    8
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Poor food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

We thought we'd try this place with a Groupon. Usually a good way to try a restaurant, we regularly visit restaurants where Groupon had been our first visit, but this one we won't be going back to.

It took 20 minutes to be seated to start with and a couple who arrived after us were actually seated first eve though the place had about 4 tables occupied in total.

There was a choice of 2 starters we both picked the "soft boiled egg" with asparagus and Parma ham. What turned up was a cold hard boiled egg with limp Luke warm asparagus. I didn't eat it my other half ate both as he was starving. The couple on the table near us could be heard complaining also. Apparently the cold cauliflower soup left a lot to be desired also.

The cod main was at least hot albeit completely tasteless and if the mash was made out of a packet I wouldn't be surprised.

I would avoid at all cost and glad that at least it was a Groupon deal.

You would think that a promotion is to showcase your restaurant. They obviously don't

Helpful?
1 Thank Natalee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nelsons”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

My family and I went to Nelsons today for Sunday lunch, what a fantastic meal, good service, lovely staff, we had a lovely time, highly recommended

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gutted187056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“SUPERB”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Had a great welcome here,Food is superb home cooked and great value for money, add to this if a visit in cold weather is made you are treated to a blazing log fire .Worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KAYJAY1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Very very good.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Had lunch here today with my daughter using a groupon voucher. Only a choice of two starters and two mains but we both found something we liked.
The food was stunning..very tasty and beautifully presented.
Was persuaded by daughter to have desert: the cheesecake was to die for as was the special of the day..chocolate fondant with clotted crean icecream and raspberry coulis....l could feel my arteries clogging..beautiful just beautiful.
The young chef deserves a medal and the landlady was so friendly too...this lovely pub deserves to do well. We will be back y

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jillhoye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nelsons Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Boughton Monchelsea, Maidstone
 
East Farleigh, Maidstone
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing