We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much improved from previous amf site!”
Review of Hollywood Bowl

Hollywood Bowl
Ranked #3 of 10 Fun & Games in Maidstone
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Much improved from previous amf site!”
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Been a few times here now and always go after 6.30pm for free parking, booking on busy nights are worth it and try and book directly with Maidstone and not Hollywood bowl as they ask for full payment over the phone, where Maidstone only take small deposit and won't charge you if someone pulls out!
We arrived and got to our alley quickly and with the ipad system was easy to set up and started bowling! The staff were attentive and asked if we needed anything or some refreshments, we ordered some drinks to start with, when it arrived there was no receipt offered or drinks menu available? This seemed odd and we were told cash was easier. When we ordered food we had the same experience and given no receipt. Food was warm and expensive for what it was, won't be eating there again but bowling was good!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bubzwithlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    22
    12
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Birthday treat”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

This was our second visit to this establishment, it's a vast improvement on the old bowling alley that was located in Maidstone. Sadly on this visit the alley kept going faulty and the staff did not know how to resolve the issues.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank grumpyandIknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Bowling was better than the food!”
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

The bowling was pre-booked which is definitely required as it's very busy. We arrived, got our shoes and were handed a pager that would buzz once our lane was ready.

Before long we were on the lane, it was easy to set up thanks to the iPad. We were impressed that we could choose whether the bumpers came up for each individual person - a large improvement on when they had to be pulled up manually!

We ordered food and drinks that came quickly to the lane. Once finished the bowling, which was perfect, we decided to get something a bit more substantial to eat in the attached restaurant.

Unfortunately we had to wait a long time to be served and when the food came the order was wrong but we didn't want to wait any longer to eat so didn't complain. If the dining experience was as flawless as the bowling this would be perfect.

Helpful?
Thank AnnaSkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Friends Birhtday”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

our kids were invited to a party here this week. first time we had been since they opened. Have to say it was a massive improvement on the old AMF bowling.

We had some food while the kids ate theirs - service was a little slow, especially considering our food did not actually need cooking.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Blue-Smurf_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
288 reviews
131 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Another great time bowling. ”
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

We visited here to celebrate my sons birthday, we went after school and didn't pre book, it was still quite busy even at that time.
The staff were all helpful and we ordered drinks from the bar and the bar man kindly brought them to our lane, we had a good game of bowling and we will definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank lou98uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hollywood Bowl also viewed

 

Been to Hollywood Bowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing