We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect peace and tranquility”
other travelers have booked this property
Pear Tree Garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pear Tree Garden
Our certificate of excellence The huge circular bed leading to the en-suite shower room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Pear Tree Garden
Our certificate of excellence
The huge circular bed leading to the en-suite shower room
kitchen area
The lounge/TV area
Dining area and sofa bed
En-suite shower room
shower
I think you know what these are!
Your welcome pack
Pear Tree Garden
Pear Tree Orchard
Sunset taken from Pear Tree Garden
The patio & barbecue
The Green at West Peckham, with St Dunstan's Saxon Church and The Swan on the Green pub
The Swan on the Green with it's own micro-brewery!
Morris dancing outside The Swan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Maidstone, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Colin L
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect peace and tranquility”
Reviewed April 11, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Would recommend to anyone wanting a quiet retreat. Great for exploring the Kent country side.. The cottage has everything you need, Smashing views from the patio and even a green wood pecker visiting every evening.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 18, 2017
We can't take the credit for the green woodpecker but we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Passenger...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pear tree cottage was beautiful......”
Reviewed March 2, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Pear tree cottage is a lovely cottage in beautiful surroundings. It's quiet and peaceful and provided us with the relaxing few days we were wanting. The cottage is clean and tidy and provides you with everything you need.
Steve and Rita were very welcoming and they were there to help if anything was needed.
The welcome pack was very considerate and very much appreciated. We will definitely be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 14, 2017
Thanks so much for your very kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grahamt42...
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage retreat”
Reviewed December 23, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

This our third stay at Pear Tree Cottage and Rita and Steve never fail to impress, they go all out to make you feel at home and comfortable, with the car park extension it makes it so much easier to unload and load luggage.

The cottage is situated at the heart of attractions and the road links are easy to follow, along with a array of information at the cottage on hand so as you can plan your days.

Sitting on the patio gazing across the orchard the views are amazing as you watch the sun go down.

We have already booked our fourth visit to Pear Tree Cottage for 2017 what more can we say except book your time at Pear Tree Cottage you will certainly not be dissapointed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 14, 2017
Thank you so much for returning to our holiday cottage. See you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 5, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 5, 2016
Thanks so much for your review. The room above is hardly ever used - we're so sorry you could hear noise from above. We don't let it - it's only ever friends or family. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
123mward
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Real Gem of a Cottage!”
Reviewed August 6, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Pear Tree Garden Cottage is a perfect place to stay for a relaxing and peaceful getaway yet it is not too far to reach major road networks if you wish to travel further afield. The cottage has everything you could wish for, including champagne flutes and a very comfortable circular bed! We were also delighted to find a generous basket of goodies on our arrival, including eggs, cheese, bread, chocolate biscuits and even a very welcome bottle of wine chilling in the fridge! Thank you very much Steve and Rita you really have thought of everything! The A-Z of Kent map was such a thoughtful idea too!
The little terrace, overlooking the pear orchard was the perfect place to relax in the evenings and we also had a gentle stroll down to the local pub on the village green, just a few minutes' walk away.
We would recommend visits to Royal Tunbridge Wells where you can wander among a range of shops, cafes and bars in a beautiful and historic spa town. Hever Castle, the childhood home of Anne Boleyn, in nearby Edenbridge is also well worth a visit.
We would certainly love to stay at Pear Tree Garden cottage again, it really was a perfect retreat!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 7, 2016
Thank you so much for your review and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay here! It truly is a blessed piece of countryside and we thank our lucky stars every day that we live here. We very much hope to welcome you back here soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen M
Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tranquil base for exploring with excellent facilities”
Reviewed July 10, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A warm welcome from the hosts on arrival, with a lovely basket of essentials laid on to get through the first 24 hours, and a very welcome bottle of wine! The cottage is well furnished and has all the kitchen utensils and little bits you need for cooking (like oil and seasoning), along with supplies of teabags and ground coffee. The cottage was very clean and everything was in working order. Very good value.

The photos of Pear Tree Garden very accurately reflect the property but cant reflect fully how peaceful and tranquil it is. I was graced with good weather for my stay and the highlight of each day was sitting out on the patio overlooking the orchard every evening drinking in the country air (and yes - maybe the odd glass of something).

Steve and Rita were available if needed, which was reassuring as I was travelling solo, but were not obtrusive.

No wifi access, as the blurb says, and I found it hard to get a good enough signal on my phone for anything but quick data transfers - but thats the price you pay for being deep in the countryside and Im sure it did me no harm to have a rest from the internet for a few days. No problem with phone, text or messenger services.

Whilst this is deep in the country, access to the motorway system is only about 5 miles away so its also a handy base for exploring Kent and Essex.

Thank you Rita and Steve - I fear I have been spoiled.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: owners have thought of everything that may be needed
Liked least: lack of wifi (but understand why)
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 12, 2016
And we have been spoiled with your fabulous review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and truly hope you visit Pear Tree Garden again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret...
Smethwick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best place to use as a base”
Reviewed May 30, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Pear Tree Garden is a cosy, clean, comfortable & welcoming place to stay after touring around Kent, and the garden is pleasant to sit in and relax with a cup of tea or glass of wine and finally rest your weary head in the comfortable round bed. Pear Tree Garden is the ideal place to have for a stress free holiday.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 12, 2016
What a lovely review. Thank you so much! We very much hope to welcome you back some day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing