We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slow, over priced and average”

Big Ben's Fish & Grill
Ranked #205 of 309 Restaurants in Maidstone
Price range: $6 - $13
Cuisines: British, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Takeout
Description: Open all Easter!
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Slow, over priced and average”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

When this place first opened it was the best fish and chips in Maidstone. Oh, how times change!!
I can put up with waiting for my order when the end result is good, but when it is poor.......
I wouldn't say that the staff are rude, because they are not - they are just not polite, no please or thank you.
I would like to say that perhaps I caught them on an off night, but friends have said the same.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    11
    13
    18
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Loose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Shocking service”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

I went to Big Bens on my way home from a day out with my partner and the dog. As we had some left overs at home we thought we would pick up so e chips to go with it, so we popped into Big Bens. I ordered one large portion of chips, they were a reasonable price. There was not mention of how long this would take so I sat I a chair expecting a few mins wait, my partner and dog still waiting in the car... 40 MINS LATER! I get my one portion if chips, my poor dog had been sat in the car all this time and there was no apology for the delay. It seams every order is fulfilled in turn no matter what you order!
We had previously been impressed with the quality of food from Big Bens so on another occasion thought to call ahead and then pick up the food around an hour later. We called several times but there was no answer on any number!
There are several other fish and chip shops in the area. Take your business there!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Abbey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very very nice”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Ribs really smokey, chicken wings huge and tastey, good chips and very reasonably price! Will be using again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PFeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Dont be in a hurry”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Well I have experienced some slow service in my time, but 45 minutes stood/sat waiting for chips really is something else.
The customer in front of me dared to ask why there was a delay... needless to say that I decided it was better not to ask myself. When the chips were finally ready they were slung over the counter without so much as an apology for the delay.

certainly would not be heading back here again

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Blue-Smurf_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“2 hours to deliver”
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Constantly engaged when you try to call to enquire about an order placed over two hours ago! Employ more staff or loose customers ... Not happy

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank beccaandemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Ben's Fish & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Big Ben's Fish & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing