We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Knight's Glamping at Leeds Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

I booked an overnight stay for my daughters birthday and definitely didn't regret it. We were called the day before to make sure that we were ready and that we didn't have any questions. This was a nice extra touch.

On arrival we were early for check in but we were allowed access to the glamping parking area and free access to the park. At check in time we were shown our tent and all the facilities. The Knights Cottage housed the kitchen (free hot water for hot drinks) and also bathroom with shower facilities better than many hotels. Then a short walk through the cottage garden to the BBQ area and the 8 well positioned tents all equally private. The kids, and wife were well excited.

The added extra of free roam of the castle grounds, including play area for the kids after closing was brilliant.You cannot really contain the excitement of 2 young children who have the entire Knights Play Area to themselves when everyone else goes home.

There was only one negative, and that was the breakfast. At £5 per person for a breakfast "hamper" we were expecting better than 2 croissants and a mug of tea each. We opted for this x 4 and to be honest the cost to provide (especially as hot water facilities were free) would have been the same as one breakfast.

I would definitely go back, and I think my children, and wife will stop talking to me if I refuse.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tw1nblad3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    18
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
47
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Just returned from 2 nights at Knights Glamping.. and wow!

Prior to arriving, Chris called us to see if we had any questions or needed anything. I was immediately blown away by this. Upon arrival we were directed to the Knights Cottage whereby we were shown where to park and checked in by a really friendly team. We were then shown around and then taken to our "tent" which is a large medieval canvas heaven! Twinkly fairy lights, soft lighting and fur throws greeted us to which we were immediately taken by. How could you not be?

Super comfy beds, tables and chairs plus a picnic table. They really have thought of everything.
What's Included?

- Bed
- Duvet
- Throws
- WIFI
- Ipod Dock
- Tea/Coffee
- Water on arrival
- Dressing Table
- Hairdryer
- Mirror
- Fake Candles
- Wood for burning and for cooking
- Tables/Chairs
- Cups/Glasses/Cutlery
- Washing up bowl
- Coat Stand
- Electricity
- Cooking utensils

The list goes on!

What you need to take?

- Drink
- Food
- Coolbox
- Clothes

Chris and his team made sure every detail was looked after and were just so friendly.

The Glamping site is within Leeds Castle and you get entrance with your stay. Take advantage and explore the site if you can bear to be dragged away from your Glamping heaven!

The bathrooms are located within Knights Cottage and you would not have a clue they are used by other people. It is just like your bathroom at home with lovely hot showers and clean facilities.

There is a kitchen for boiling a kettle if you so wish plus you can store your wine in their fridge! (Not food though). Order breakfast in for yummy bacon baguettes!

In summary, it's such a special and different experience delivered flawlessly by a fabulous team. You have to go!

We tried to book for next year but unfortunately they aren't taking bookings as yet. Please let me know when you do!!

One Happy Glamper here!!

Room Tip: There are only 8 tents and whichever one you choose it's secluded and you get lots of space insi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

I was taken glamping as a surprise for my birthday by my partner. I must admit when we first pulled up I thought oh no I'm spending a night in a tent! But it was fantastic! The staff were excellent, Jack rang my partner 2 days previous to ensure we had everything we needed and knew where to find the site. The tent had everything we needed including a double bed, which was very comfy! After check out time we were told we could leave the car in the car park and explore the grounds. All in all an excellent experience and I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
121 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights and wished it was more!! Was met at the entrance to the site by Jack, who proved to be friendly, knowledgable and told us everything we needed to know, the tent was stunning, with four poster bed, warming stove, dressing table and chair and everything you could possibly need. Spent the early evening relaxing outside the tent with a bottle of fizz and then enjoyed a BBQ!! Jack came round the site at about 9.30 to ensure everything was ok which was handy as we were unable to keep the log burner going ( it got surprisingly chilly ) and got it going for us, lthough once under the quilt and fur throw it wasn't needed as it was beautifully warm!! Ate in the Great British Kitchen on the 2nd night and can thoroughly recommend it, beautifully cooked food served on the terrace overlooking the castle, what more could you want!! Breakfast can be ordered and bought to your tent in the morning and must say Jack does a fab bacon baguette! Jack and chris are fab hosts and really make you feel welcome, and nothing is too much trouble. Would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ollie2870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in montague.. Perfect location, near BBQ and fire pit area but can honestly say it is not a problem being in the accommodation near the bbqs, we did not hear any noise at all. Arrival is 3pm but you can arrive early and walk round leeds castle and grounds, there is no additional cost. Received warm welcome by Chris at the Glamping site and as previous reviews state, the tents are beautiful. Towels, dressing gowns, logs for fire, tea/coffee provided. Accommodation was exceptionally clean and well presented. Short walk to toilet and showers and as there are only 8 tents, you never have to queue!! There is a communal lounge with tv but we had gorgeous weather so there was no need for us to use this and spent the days outside our accommodation resting and enjoying the peace and quiet. Bed is very comfortable, hair dryer provided. Breakfast can be ordered and delivered to you at your requested time, bacon baguettes and fresh coffee/tea for £5 each - definitely would recommend. Chris, Mark and Jack provide excellant service and nothing is too much trouble for them. Restaurant on leeds castle grounds serves lovely meals in the evening and is reasonably priced, Chris or Jack are happy to make the reservation for you. You have free access to the castle and the grounds. There is free Wi Fi connection and parking is only a few steps away. The communal kitchen has everything you need There is nothing we can fault regarding this break, wonderful experience and definitely will be booking again for next year. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: First four tents .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidays-breaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

I booked a 2 night stay for my Wife's Birthday, she was a little sceptical at first as she prefers to be surrounded by solid walls. As we arrived in the grounds all of her worries disappeared as the Castle came into view. We were very well received at the gate and given clear directions to the Glamping. We were met by Jack who proved himself to be excellent, he was relaxed but clearly very knowledgeable about the site and explained everything clearly. The communal facilities are all very nice and clean and we didn't find ourselves having to wait at all during our stay. Once we were shown to our tent/mini pavilion 'Kingston' (named after Champions from the Field of Cloth of Gold Tournament) our jaws dropped; it is definitely undersold if you call it a tent. The photos show the bed and the log burner but they don't really give you a sense of the space you get, they are both cosy and roomy at the same time. The woollen tent lining ensures that the tent stays warm, failing that you can always light the stove, everything is provided and you can use all of the logs you like without having to buy more (unlike other sites). Each tent has it's own patio and outside area with a picnic table, although the best outside area is the communal one at the top of the field with the bbqs and fire pits, this is an excellent area to eat your food, toast your marshmallows and generally relax. Both Jack and Chris were excellent and, having been involved in the project from the outset, are very passionate about making sure that everyone has a good time. Highly recommended for couples, you can easily walk to the nearby pubs for food which means that you get to see the Castle bathed in the evening light, which is absolutely stunning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Headcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a brilliant experience. It is UNIQUE! Glamping as it should be. The accomodation (the word "tent" does not do this justice) is so lovely. A lovely four poster bed, twinkly fairy lights, a little stove, all equipment you could possibly want, fire pits and barbeque area and all in the most beautiful environment. The showers and loos are wonderful. I took my partner here for his birthday and he loved it. The accomodation is set out so you have your own privacy. A lovely walk around the castle grounds as the sun was setting was just so romantic.
The staff were excellent and so very helpful. I want to go back as soon as possible, but want to dress as a damsel next time. This place has been open for a month, once word gets out, you will have trouble getting a booking....trust me...don't leave it too long...if you are thinking of booking this ....DO IT NOW!

Room Tip: Stayed in Howard tent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annieretrolife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maidstone
2.6 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.7 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Detling Coachhouse
Detling Coachhouse
#7 of 15 in Maidstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
5.9 mi away
Grange Moor Hotel
Grange Moor Hotel
#12 of 15 in Maidstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knight's Glamping at Leeds Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knight's Glamping at Leeds Castle

Property: Knight's Glamping at Leeds Castle
Address: Broomfield Road, Maidstone ME17 1PL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Maidstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening this spring, Leeds Castle in Kent is offering families and couples the chance to escape to the countryside for a glamorous camping holiday with a difference. Located just under an hour’s drive from London, eight traditionally coloured striped tents based on Medieval design, form a ‘village’ on the one-acre castle vineyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Knight's Glamping at Leeds Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knight's Glamping At Leeds Castle Maidstone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing