We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lacking extra touches”

The Bull Inn at Linton
Ranked #51 of 309 Restaurants in Maidstone
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
278 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Lacking extra touches”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Absolutely no complaints about the food. It was tasty, huge portions and the menu was extensive. However, we went on a week night and most of the specials had already gone by 7.30 which was disappointing. The prices are a tad over the top bearing in mind this is food on plates straight on tables in a pub. All it would take is either a few table cloths or place mats, or at least have the tables laid up nicely with glasses and linen napkins instead of paper ones, slightly nicer salt and pepper pots, etc. I just feel they're missing a trick with presentation and service, and they're doing their food an injustice. Our waitress was lovely, but we did have to wait a heck of a long time for our plates to be cleared and order taking, however once done the food was delivered pretty swiftly.

It just needs a bit of tweaking and polishing and it could be something really special.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    53
    28
    20
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Rip off”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Took my daughter for a light lunch. Yes, it was very hot but the food was vile. How can one go wrong with chiabbattas with camembert and bacon? Hardly any camembert, bacon fatty and well over priced. The addition was oven french fries. Bill for 2 chiabattes with 1/2 lager shandy and an appletise nearly £17. Rip off Britain. No never complained but yet another place we would NEVER revisit. Such a shame as the view and gardens are amazing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank judycrofts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food, good sized portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Had lunch today and sat outside. Stunning views across the Weald. Service was prompt - probably because it's a week day and lunch time - don't know what it would be like at busier times. The staff are friendly. Food was good - decent sized portions, nicely presented and hot. I would say the prices are slightly above average, but as it was a good meal I don't mind paying a bit extra. It's a bit dark inside, but that's normal for most old pubs.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JenfromKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“less pud more filling”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

took mum after her return from holiday, they found us a table for 2 but it was a little on the small size and next to a shelf stacked with glasses. Mum had the suet pud with mashed potato and a small dish of vegetables. The pud was a bit heavy with more pud than filling and came with a very small amount of gravy perhaps a little more could have been offered in a gravy bowl. The club B.L,T.sandwich was a good size but had 3 pieces of bread with a good amount of filling but quite dry and a small bowl of chips perhaps a little salad at the side would have pepped it up. service was good but it took a while to get the bill. Would go again when in the area as the views from the veranda are fantastic

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank polarbear44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Much improved from the old days”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

My wife & I had a meal here in the evening of 4th June. Really nice pub meal, good sized portions & good service (although it wasn't busy). We live locally & haven't been to this place for many years - the last time was well before the recent refurbishment and is much improved now. There should be something on the menu to suit everybody. I would thoroughly recommend the Bull for good quality pub food at reasonable prices.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bull Inn at Linton also viewed

Boughton Monchelsea, Maidstone
 
Boughton Monchelsea, Maidstone
 

Been to The Bull Inn at Linton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing