We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“polish night”
Review of The Redstart Inn

The Redstart Inn
Ranked #40 of 311 Restaurants in Maidstone
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, European, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“polish night”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Didn't quite know what to expect for a Polish themed menu , should have known that I wouldn't be disappointed...the food was,tasty, excellent and with plenty of choice. Looking forward to French night next month and Persian night in November. Kasia and her staff really pull out all the stops .Eaten there regularly over a long period and never been disappointed ! Keep up the good work girls !

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    37
    15
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Food and Service”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We went to the Polish evning and were very pleased with the food. Wasn't sure what to expect, but it was all very tasty and very well seasoned. I have beed there before on Sunday (roast) and that was very tasty too! Next time I go I am going to have childs portion so I can have a pudding after :)
I strongly recommned this place for Sunday roast or an evening meal!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
“What A Variety”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We were looking for a good local restaurant to go to with some friends. I saw that The Redstart Inn at Barming (which is just round the corner to us) was rated 6 out of 126 Maidstone restaurants. So I went on line and looked at the menus and the variety was awesome. They just catered for all and sundry from curry, Chinese, English, vegetarian, pub favourites and "snacky" food as well. You name it, it was there, very impressed. They even cater especially for the older folk.

As for the reviews on food they scored nothing less than 3 out of 5 and the 5 restaurants above them even picked up some 4's and 5's along the way. All sounded too good to be true, but no, it was nothing short of excellent.

The food was good quality, tasty and hot, the staff were very attentive and no one was disappointed.

Well done The Redstart Inn, I commend you.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin1650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Booked this restaurant/pub for 9 of us after reading reviews on Tripadvisor and we weren't disappointed. The menu is varied and there is something for everyone. Several of us had the John Dorey fish and all agreed it was delicious. Everything we ordered was well cooked and nicely presented and really good value for money. The staff were very helpful and there was a good relaxed atmosphere about the place. We all had a really enjoyable evening and would definitely go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrissyJKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The only place we go when we want a family meal.”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We always visit the Redstart for family friendly, good value food. Particularly with small children, the garden is always well stocked with little toys, table tennis and the other week a bouncy castle which makes managing the children even easier whilst waiting for food.

Our food has always been served piping hot, always with a genuine smile and the girls front of house manage the busy combination of locals stopping for a drink, those wanting a quick bite, those celebrating with family with great skill.

This is a place where the owners pour their heart and soul into the food, the atmosphere and the great themed offers they run each week.

I for one am very pleased to have such a thriving local!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Redstart Inn also viewed

Boughton Monchelsea, Maidstone
 
Maidstone, Kent
 

Been to The Redstart Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing