We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very bland experience”

Cafe Rouge - Maidstone
Ranked #47 of 313 Restaurants in Maidstone
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Situated a short walk away from the River Medway, Café Rouge Maidstone serves a delicious menu of French food all day long. Drop by for a coffee and croissant, baguette, salad, steak and much more. The uniquely designed Maidstone Museum - Maidstone's most popular tourist attraction - is located nearby.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A very bland experience”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

A solid 4/10 - the food was very average, lacked any flavour and felt pre-prepared. The whole experience was just bland.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Muse1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    90
    37
    27
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Kent,England
Level Contributor
240 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Second visit was worth it”
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

This was the second visit and it was much better than the first, the food was excellent. We had Bouillibase which was superb, a chocolate tarte which again was great, the Tarte Tartin was good if a a little sweet and my other half had a cappuccino which he said was one of the best ever. The service was much improved from our first visit which to be fair was my main gripe. This is a nice place to eat so go if you can.

Helpful?
Thank stormtwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A very good lunch”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Four of went to Cafe Rouge Maidstone. I booked a table via their web page - very easy and in a busy restaurant a comfortable table was waiting. Food very good and service superb. The staff were attentive but not intrusive despite being busy. The four of us enjoyed our lunch and we look forward to returning.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kdoublek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Nice mid week meal”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

My wife and I had dinner at Café Rouge yesterday (01/11/12) and were pleasantly surprised. Having had a bad experience at Café Rouge in Edinburgh this was much better, we took advantage of a discount voucher which entitled us to one main for 2.50! For a Thursday it was very busy but service was fine and staff polite. I had beef Bourguignon and my wife had duck, both were very tasty.

Would def recommend for a week night dinner, especially if you get a voucher!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Food ok service a joke”
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Went on Sunday lunch with family, waited over an hour for food kids ordered from kids menu but they didn't ask if we wanted theirs to come with starters so they had to wait even longer they were starving so we were given portion of over salted chips while we waited another 15 mins for main course &kids food. After complaining we were told they were short staffed in kitchen, they apologised & knocked drinks off the bill. Was very disappointed, so were the children, won't be returning.

Helpful?
Thank Zanzibar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rouge - Maidstone also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Rouge - Maidstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing