We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“an absolute must! see the castle like few others”

Southern Segway Day Tours
Ranked #3 of 13 Tours in Maidstone
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With over 500 acres of parkland, and the truly magnificent Leeds Castle as a backdrop, it is hard to imagine a more picturesque setting for a Segway Tour. For those of you not familiar with the Segway be assured that it is incredibly easy to learn to ride, taking just a few minutes to master. We frequently hear people say that they had no idea how easy it would be, or how much fun. Indeed, it is not uncommon for us to see some of our customers three or four times a year, often bringing friends and visitors along to join them. It is important to note that we have many years experience of operating these tours. This means that we operate within the strict guidelines and safety procedures laid down by the Segway manufacturer. 2013 will be our fifth year at Leeds Castle. We have grown from one standard 35 minute tour with 5 Segways, to now offering two tours ranging from the 35 minute Scenic Tour to a 60 minute Adventure Tour with up to 8 people per tour. We are sure that no matter which tour you choose you will thoroughly enjoy seeing parts of the castle estate from a totally different perspective, as well as views rarely afforded to those who choose to explore on foot. We look forward to welcoming you to your Segway Tour at Leeds Castle, and don't forget your camera!
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“an absolute must! see the castle like few others”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

took my boyfriend on this for a surprise tour...loved that you are quickly trained and off you go...they let you have a good run if you like speed too! great tour guide and lovely folk who run the business...definitely do it!
then once your done you can go and enjoy Leeds Castle (at a cost) but its lovely

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lpriestman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikeyguk85, Manager at Southern Segway Day Tours, responded to this review, March 27, 2015
Dear Lpriestman,

We are delighted to hear that you had a fantastic time here at Southern Segway with us, and that you and your boyfriend loved the surprise tour you took around the grounds of Leeds Castle!
We are pleased to hear that you approve of our thorough Segway training before the tour, and that you enjoyed the speed of our Segways! Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding our tour guides and management, this is always refreshing to hear!

We do hope to see you on a tour again real soon!

Kind regards,

Mike
Tour Site Manager
Southern Segway LTD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    21
    6
    1
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our time with Southern Segway Tours....although one member of our party thought that our 'Leader' should have talked less about himself..he did 'go on' a bit. That said, the Segway 'tour' was just great, excellent value for money.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mags1RochesterKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikeyguk85, Manager at Southern Segway Day Tours, responded to this review, March 27, 2015
Dear Mags1RochesterKent,

We are so thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your time here at Southern Segway with us, and that you had a great time on your tour around the grounds of Leeds Castle!
We are also so pleased to hear that you found the tour excellent value for money! This is always refreshing to hear from our customers!

We hope to see you on a tour again real soon!

Kind regards,

Mike
Tour Site Manager
Southern Segway LTD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Felt a little like one of the swans gliding around Leeds Castle grounds though a little less elegant. I really enjoyed this - was a birthday present from partner and a laugh for both. Really good instructors; segways were a little tricky but they explained everything really well. Beautiful grounds to Segway around. If you are looking for the Segway tour where you can go flat out and race each other like lunatics then this is not it and they make that quite clear. That was a major appeal to me though and the whole thing was a hoot.

Helpful?
1 Thank Becky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikeyguk85, Manager at Southern Segway Day Tours, responded to this review, March 27, 2015
Dear Becky A,

We are so pleased to hear that you had a great time here at Southern Segway for your birthday present, and that you thoroughly enjoyed your tour around Leeds Castle and it’s grounds!
We love that you’ve compared yourself to one of our swans gliding around the grounds of Leeds Castle whilst riding of our Segways! That is a great similarity!
We are delighted to hear that you approve of our excellent tour guides and instructors, and that they put you at ease whilst you were learning to ride the Segway.
Yes, we do iterate to our customers that this is a tour, and not a race, so we are thrilled that you approve of this!

Hope to see you on a tour again real soon!

Regards,

Mike
Tour Site Manager
Southern Segway LTD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“More fun than I expected!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

Great fun and great instructors/guides who are friendly and informative about the history of the castle and it's grounds. Easy to operate, one-to-one instruction and practice time given before the tour starts. Two different tour options available: 30minute adventure tour or 1hour scenic tour. An experience not to be missed especially in the picturesque grounds of Leeds castle. The vouchers also make a unique gift.

Helpful?
Thank CStrachers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikeyguk85, Manager at Southern Segway Day Tours, responded to this review, March 27, 2015
Dear CStrachers,

We are thrilled to hear that you had a great time here at Southern Segway, and that you thoroughly enjoyed your tour around Leeds Castle and it’s grounds! We are so pleased to hear that you approve of our well trained and informative tour guides, this is exactly what we like to hear from our guests!
Indeed, Segwaying is certainly an experience not to be missed, and simply perfect as a unique gift! We couldn’t have said it better ourselves!

Hope to see you on a tour again real soon!

Regards,

Mike
Tour Site Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent,
Level Contributor
198 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“We had a great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We booked the 1/2 hr tour and wished we'd booked the full hour. The tour time started once we had been shown how to use the segways and had a good practice. We weren't as interested in the tour as we were the opportunity of having a go on the segway and for us I'm please to say there was very little 'tour' side of things. The chaps running it were friendly and funny. Before we set out i thought they were going to be very strict about what we could or couldn't do, but were quite chilled.

My wife and teenaged kids had a hoot. It was good value for money and I'd thoroughly recommend it. I think with these guys you get allocated a segway and ita purely yours for the enitre time. At the Surrey Seqway i think you book an hour, but up to eight people share four machines.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Needmoreholdiays!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikeyguk85, Manager at Southern Segway Day Tours, responded to this review, March 27, 2015
Dear Needmoreholdiays!

We are delighted to hear that you had a great time here at Southern Segway, and that you thoroughly enjoyed your tour around Leeds Castle!
We are also thrilled to hear that you found our wonderful tour guides friendly and funny, and that they provided you with a nice and relaxed atmosphere. We are so pleased to hear that you found us good value for money and that you would thoroughly recommend us. Next time you visit us, you will have to come on our hour long Adventure Tour!

Hope to see you on a tour again real soon!

Regards,

Mike
Tour Site Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Segway Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Southern Segway Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing