We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant verve!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Village Hotel Maidstone
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Maidstone
Bethesda, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Pleasant verve!!”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Stopped for one night on the way home from the Continent via the Eurotunnel,very easy to find just off the M20.
The welcome at Reception was warm and inviting and check in was handled very professionally.
The room was exactly as ordered although a little too warm,it was clean and tidy and had all the amenities required.We ate in the Restaurant that evening and again the service was very good and attentive.The food came quickly and efficiently and was of a very good quality .Breakfast the following morning was again hot and plentiful ,all in all an excellent stay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    491
    312
    123
    87
See reviews for
267
658
59
343
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Our checkin was very quick , by lovely friendly staff - our room was spotless and I am a very fussy picky person !! A little bit hot at night but this was sorted by a huge fan already in the room - very comfy bed and overall a very pleasant stay and can't wait to stay again -

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michellemaynard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
404 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a Village Urban resort and so you can expect all of the usual facilities and finery that brings with it. However, unusually for this brand I had THE most uncomfortable bed ever. Not only was the king size bed two singles joined together with a ridge between them, but they were both lumpy and unforgiving. I woke with a backache from hell. A descent hotel otherwise.

Room Tip: Avoid room 117
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
March UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed for one night ( a Saturday) and joined about 30 relatives in the dining room for a 50th birthday celebration.We had booked a double room for myself and my husband and a disability adapted room for my elderly mother.Check in was quick and the receptionist was very pleasant and friendly.Our rooms were spacious, clean and absolutely fine with a good supply of tea/coffee etc.A member of staff was on our floor as we reached our rooms and insisted on getting us more tea, coffee and hot chocolate , though it wasn't needed, he was eager to please but nice with it!
Our meal that evening was very good value and everyone enjoyed what they had.
Breakfast the next morning was equally good.I feel the dining room staff could have looked a little more smart and professional, some were wearing jeans.
My only negative point is that there was no hot water in the morning in our room and that of all my relatives who stayed and I believe this has been mentioned by previous reviewers so it's a bit surprising that this hasn't been rectified but one of our party complained on behalf of our group and there may be a reduction in our room rate as a result.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

hotel and room lovely all the staff were very helpful
the breakfast was excellent so much choice one of the best I have ever had well worth it
Christmas party excellent and a good atmosphere doing it again in 2014
got a really good room rate never had a chance to use pool but a lot of our friends did and highly recommended it will try that this year

Room Tip: bed was so comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicole p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
118 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We come here for the "upstairs downstairs" deal every couple of months and the service and what you get for that deal continues to be good, however a few changes have happened since our last visit that weren't so good. Before we've always had breakfast included the "downstairs" part of the £50 deal, but on arrival were told that breakfast wasn't included any more. We told them this hadn't been the case before and they did say they would include breakfast this time but as a "favour". Then we checked with the Verve about how much breakfast was and were told £5.95 but on check out were nearly over charged as they took £9.95 each (turned out the continental is £5.95 and hot buffet £9.95) though only one of us had the hot breakfast anyway and we again explained we had been told £5.95. Again they sorted it out but there was just lots of little niggles like that that seemed unnecessary. The other issue was the Victory pub being rammed because of the football (understandably) however it was difficult to get in to eat and also not the most relaxing eating environment. When we returned later there were people continuing to be served, despite obviously being very drunk and causing quite a lot of issues for other diners and families. The rest of the trip was good as usual but some feedback felt necessary.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kentcouple66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel at the end of April on a Friday night as we had a triathlon race nearby the next morning. Check in was quick and the man on reception was friendly and helpful. He also organised a take away breakfast for us as we were getting up very early and would miss the official breakfast times.

Our room was number 100 on the first floor (all the rooms are on the first floor). Ours was right at the top of the stairs by the lifts, which we were a little concerned with as people would have to walk by our door every time they went in or out.

The room itself was fine, clean, functional and ok for a nights stay.

We went to bed around 10pm to ensure we had a good nights sleep before the race. However this was not to be ...

The bar downstairs stayed open all night with lots of people coming and going, chatting and shouting outside our bedroom window until 5am. Doors were slamming at all hours of the night and people were shouting and laughing in the corridors. The walls seemed to be paper thin so we could literally hear EVERYTHING that happened in the rooms either side of us.
Also being room 100 - a few people thought this was the number to dial for reception, which meant we received a call at 11pm and 2am!

Needless to say, we both had a terrible nights sleep.

I imagine this may be a different story on a week night, so this hotel would be totally fine if you were staying for a work meeting or something - but if you're looking for a decent nights sleep at a weekend - I would advise looking elsewhere!

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 100 - everyone walks past it as its right near the lifts and some people dial...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maidstone
1.6 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
3.8 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Maidstone Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Maidstone (Sandling) Hotel
3.4 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Maidstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Maidstone

Property: Village Hotel Maidstone
Address: Hotel Maidstone Forstal Road | Castle View, Sandling, Maidstone ME14 3AQ, England (Formerly De Vere Village Maidstone)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Maidstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Maidstone 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Urban Resort Maidstone is situated close to the River Medway and is perfectly located to explore Kent and beyond. From shopping at Bluewater to a trip to see the animals at Hop Farm Country Park; from a walk along the new Millennium riverside pathway or a trip back in time to the Museum of Kent Life or Leeds Castle, you'll find everything on your doorstep. Village Urban Resort Maidstone has 122 comfortable bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 25 Metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village Hotel Maidstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel And Leisure Club Maidstone
Village Hotel Leisure Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing