We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Village Hotel Maidstone
Nearby Hotels
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Grange Moor Hotel(Maidstone)(Great Value!)
$102
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Detling Coachhouse(Maidstone)(Great Value!)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$115
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Maidstone(Maidstone)
$110
$93
Priceline
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$65
Travelodge
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Maidstone Town Centre Hotel(Maidstone)(Great Value!)
$67
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Maidstone (Leybourne) Hotel(Maidstone)(Great Value!)
$69
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Maidstone (Allington) Hotel(Maidstone)(Great Value!)
$74
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,038)
Filter reviews
2,038 results
Traveler rating
707
657
392
167
115
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
707
657
392
167
115
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub roomdyson fanleisure facilitiesthe verveswimming poolcoffee machinemodern hotelchanging roomsgreat facilitiesthe pubair conditioningstandard roomsteam roompleasant staycomfy bedself servicewould stay again
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,757 - 1,762 of 2,038 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I booked a upper deck room, which was reasonably priced. The room was spacious and the bed was very comfy and I had a couple of great nights sleep. As an added bonus you guy sky tv in your room including sky sports and movies.

The hotels has fitness suit including a full length pool, I was unfortunately too busy to go, but my colleague said both the gym and pool were very nice.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, however I feel their uniform lets them down as they look very casual in Village jeans and polo shirts.

We ate in the bar and the restaurant and neither were of a particularly great standard and the same goes for the breakfast. Limited options especially for a cold breakfast

The biggest downside to this hotel was that the electricity in your room is only on while your room key is in the slot, this includes the heating so room was allways very cold when you got in which is not ideal. In addition the hot water was only ever warm in the evening, which was odd seen as it was more than hot enough in the mornings

Room Tip: Go for the upper deck rooms, more spacious and sky tv in your room
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ross L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We live locally and had a good deal so we had an "away day". The service was friendly at check in and the room clean with most mod cons. It was not as good or as roomy as a number of Premiers I have stayed at of late but was close. The number television channels available though was some what lacking when. I have stayed at Village hotels previously and standards are fairly consistent but whether would stay again depends on the deal. An important difference between here and a Premier is that here you got Breakfast included which was a decent buffet and some of the best porridge I have had, but you have to ask as it is not advertised.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Plenty of parking,
Pulling up it looked clean and tidy we entered into the reception the receptionist was on the phone looked at us then turned away she was on there for some time then asked them to hold and went off, she came back a few minutes later and no word went back on the phone eventually someone else came out we finally got our room key....

Our room was clean with a good size television hairdryer tea and coffee, the bed was so hard like a brick even the pillows were hard such a shame me and my husband woke with bad backs..
The shower was nice and hot.
Breakfast was ok good selection the cooked breakfast was ok very watery scrambled egg and cheap sausages nice thick toast bread,

In the evening we went into the pub inside the hotel and it was nice and welcoming the food looked good in there and a good price please note they dont mention the pub when you walk in just there food which is expensive. They were friendly only down point which wasnt there fault was some very drunk people screaming and swearing falling everywhere it wasnt late and I felt sorry for the people with children eating I think someone should have asked them to tone it down abit.

We got our swim wear and was going to go swimming but they forgot to tell us there were swimming lessons so we got over run with children and decided to give it a miss.
The gym did look fantastic my husband who uses the gym regularly said it looked good and has everything you could want.

Room Tip: Upgrade we tried but there were no rooms
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kerryt503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I've spent last Saturday night in room 159 although the room was clean and comfortable the lavatory pan was disgusting , it had lots of black lime scale which could easily be removed with Domestos Zero at £1 a bottle , if cleaners can't remove marks they should report them to the manager as things like this are very off putting to customers .

Room Tip: south rooms are quieter
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joyce c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

The standard rooms at this hotel are tired, bashed about and worst of all dirty.
I booked the room on Hotels.com for £90+ for the night with breakfast.
On arriving I had to park on a tiered level car park as the car park was full with gym members.
I therefore only took small bags out of my car and went to check in. On a positive the receptionist was lovely and friendly and was very efficient at checking me in.

1st Room they provided:
When I went to room 114 I noticed that it looked very tired, with marks on the walls, stained and dirty chairs, this prompted me to look a bit closer and I found all the sides to be stained, dirty and dusty, as well as dusty walls and skirting boards, wobbly toilet seat, hair in the sink. Outside the window was a pool of dirty water on top of the flat roof that was not draining away.

I went back to reception and explained it was not acceptable. I didn't mind the damages and knocks to the room as I stay away up to 5 nights a week for work and it is just a place to sleep but I will not accept an unclean dirty room.

The receptionist was very understanding and offered me a room on a different floor in an attempt to get a room with a different cleaner. The room I was given was 214.

Room 214:
Room 214 was equally as dirty, it was equally as knocked about had a blood or poo stain on the outside of the toilet, tea mug stains on the desk and the room was freezing as the window had been left open. I went back to reception and again politely explained this was not acceptable and all I wanted was a clean room, not a room where someone had just changed the bedding and wiped the bathroom very quickly with a dirty cloth. By this point I had been at the hotel over 30mins after a 232 mile journey. The receptionist was again very understanding, polite and friendly and said would I mind taking a seat while she contacted the manager and offered me a coffee from Starbucks in the lobby. While she was doing this I went and got my other bag from the car. On my return the manager greeted me and said would I mind waiting while they went to check another room to make sure it was clean.

A short while later they provided room 172 an upgraded room which was a lot cleaner, and to a standard I would expect for £90+ a night room and the to the level I have come to expect from Village Hotels. I would like to state that I have always had good experiences with Village hotels and there appears to be a maintenance and cleaning issue at this particular hotel.

Despite an awful experience after a long day, the staff were very helpful, courteous and polite and could not ask for more and I appreciated that they eventually resolved the issue. However, it does not take away the fact that the first two rooms were awful and I would not have slept in them.

I hope that they resolve the issues as I work in the area regularly and would like to stay again as it is very well located, has good food and good staff.

I only tend to review when I have a bad experience due to time but feel the need to warn other travellers of a bad experience. I will however probably stay here again due to the staff and location and hopefully I will be able to leave a positive review.

Room Tip: Do not book to stay here unless you are upgrading as they standard rooms are on the main road side, very tired and need of refit, and in the experience I had dirty.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews