We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad value at all.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Village Hotel Maidstone
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Maidstone
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
184 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Not bad value at all.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

I stayed here for 3 weeks during October and my stay was OK.
Its not the most luxurious place to stay, but you get what you pay for.
The room rate is priced on the room, not per person which makes it good value.
The rooms are functional, maintained well and very clean.
The hotel is a very busy place, boasting a restaurant (very good food and popular for the Sunday Buffet), a pub (several screens for sport, good food and choice of beer), and a Starbucks.
In addition there are several function rooms etc, a Gym and a 25m pool.
It’s the first time I have been back in this Gym, since I was a member in 2007 and it is looking a bit tired, some of the equipment does need replacing/updating and it does get congested at peak times.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Froggy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    473
    304
    121
    86
See reviews for
256
634
56
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Really lovely place to stay with loads to do the steak restaurant was great value for money, swimming and sauna was great to have a relaxing break would hope to return in the near future.
sTaff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bingoqueensEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

My husband and I booked for a weekend away and have used Village hotels regularly. First impressions on arrival were good. The receptionist was veryhelpful and as we had booked an upper deck room she made sure one was ready for us even though we arrived early. I had booked upper deck due to the team on the switchboard stating that the rooms were on a different level and were quieter. This was not the case in the Maidstone hotel. Upper deck is opposite the normal rooms. We had a party of girls opposite us who made lots of noise, and you could hear other people's conversations etc. The view from our window was of the car park and the corridor smelt very damp.

Such a shame as the rest of the hotel was ok - easily accesible to where we wanted to go but I would not pay for upper deck and I would not rush back to this Village Hotel.

Room Tip: Dont pay for upper deck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahW42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

A popular place in a good location. Had to stay down the road in some impossible to find hotel - you can't say the same about this place. Smart and welcoming. Good service, clean and very capable staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshrie
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights while I attended a conference close by. Very helpful staff on the desk, although I wish they wouldn't keep answering the telephone while they dealt with us - they could always ask them to hold for a couple of minutes. Say that though, there was a lovely young girl called Joanne on reception, who couldn't have been more helpful. Bedroom was clean - basic but nice and roomy. We had breakfast there, one meal in the restaurant and one meal in the bar - all very good, with friendly and helpful waiting staff. Pool looked brilliant, though we didn't have time to use that. Only downside was the lift was out of order for the whole of our stay and carrying heavy bags up and down stairs was a little tiresome. Also, the car park was incredibly full every time we got back there, though we always managed to get a spot.

Room Tip: Lots of bedrooms - ask for one near to reception if you don't like stairs as there are stairs al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolAAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Really nice hotel, has everything you would need. The place does not look all that from the outside, but once you step into the reception, you just now it's going to good. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I can not fault this hotel and the price was excellent for what you got. Ps the breakfast was outstanding.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed at the De Vere Village Maidstone under the 'two stay for 29.00' deal, and have to say, my partner and I were surprised at the quality of accommodation, and helpfulness of the staff.
We arrived, and were checked in by Hazel, who made us feel welcome straight away and seemed genuinely eager to help. She made us reservations at The Verve grill for dinner, which was also two dine for 29.00. Hazel gave a great welcome.
The hotel seems to do party nights at the weekend, and when we arrived it was an 80's themed disco. Queue lots of drunk people walking around in tutus. Rather than being a nuisance, there was a great atmosphere and everyone seemed to be having a lot of fun. Also, the music from the disco could not be heard in our room, or in the restaurant and public areas.
We received a family room, as this was the only room type left with a double bed. Room was spacious, clean and compromised of two large double beds. Furnishings were high quality - and I believe it was directly comparable to a Hilton Style bedroom.
Dinner was a real treat - 3 courses and again helpful staff. I would say drinks were overpriced, but this seems to be the case in many budget hotels. Food was high quality.
Swimming pool was a big size, but on a Saturday morning seemed to be overrrun with children's swimming lessons. Not a problem as we chilled out in the adults only jacuzzi.
Overall a great little hotel for the price, definitely would return!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonBecky2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maidstone
1.6 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
3.8 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Maidstone Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Maidstone (Sandling) Hotel
3.4 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Maidstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Maidstone

Property: Village Hotel Maidstone
Address: Hotel Maidstone Forstal Road | Castle View, Sandling, Maidstone ME14 3AQ, England (Formerly De Vere Village Maidstone)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Maidstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Maidstone 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Urban Resort Maidstone is situated close to the River Medway and is perfectly located to explore Kent and beyond. From shopping at Bluewater to a trip to see the animals at Hop Farm Country Park; from a walk along the new Millennium riverside pathway or a trip back in time to the Museum of Kent Life or Leeds Castle, you'll find everything on your doorstep. Village Urban Resort Maidstone has 122 comfortable bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 25 Metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village Hotel Maidstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel And Leisure Club Maidstone
Village Hotel Leisure Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing