We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Village Hotel Maidstone
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Maidstone
Certificate of Excellence
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Honest review”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Ok - the recurring theme in the reviews seems to be the lack of air conditioning in the rooms. It's true the rooms can get warm - my advice is get a room on the second floor which seems to be cooler!! However this is more than compensated for by the excellent staff. I found them friendly and efficient and always willing to help. The Victory Pub served good value food and drinks, compared to similar hotel chains, and at least had a bit of atmosphere. Very good leisure facilities and conveniently located near the M20. I am booked to stay there again so need I say more!

Room Tip: Higher floors seem cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    533
    331
    132
    94
See reviews for
291
711
61
362
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton UK
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed as part of small tour around Kent. Hotel was pleasant but not outstanding. No air con - not a great nights sleep with the electric fan going. Breakfast was pleasant. Not as nice as other De Vere's that we have stayed in - I suppose that you get what you pay for, Bed and Breakfast deal was good value.

Room Tip: Don't book 108 -120 - directly above the smokers on the ground floor - not great when you need t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzie3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I have just returned from a 3 day hideaway break with my 13 yr old granddaughter. Very easy access to the motorway so we could visit family in Ashford and Folkstone. Maidstone 10 mins drive and very easy to find and also to park, with very good shopping. The room was clean and quiet, and we had fresh towels every day and clean sheets twice during our stay. Pool complex superb. Plenty of hot water from the power shower, and iron and ironing board in the room ( very useful!) plus the usual tea and coffee. I don't like too much noise, so was able to eat my meal from the Victory out in the reception area. ALL members of staff very polite, appeared happy and were very obliging. Free wifi was pretty fast for a hotel. The only down point was the room was extremely hot, and the windows couldn't be opened far. A huge fan was in the room, but I found it kept me awake all night! I would definitely stay there again. A big thank you to everyone who made our mini break so enjoyable and hassle free.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thewitch89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Reception - Don't ask questions as they don't know. they don't want to know & can't find out.
Reported our shower wasn't working got a curt reply & was never fixed! A visit to charm school wouldn't go a miss!
View from bedroom - Flat roof with 5ft diameter piping across roof, that was it!
Bathroom - No extractor fan. Told "Upper Deck" rooms have fans! Unbearably hot.
Bedroom - Nights extremely hot & airless, fan circulated hot air, 2 sleepless nights. Quilts too heavy, headboard lights badly placed, curtains hanging of hooks, generally badly designed.
Restaurant - Very slow service 1 hour between courses, misplaced orders etc., total shambles.
The Victory Pub - Food overcooked gave that a miss!
Starbucks - Food & coffees good, very busy I wonder why!
Cleaners - Had to get them to do room, left short supply of towels, didn't make the bed as I had a box on there, anything required must be put away as will be removed. Did report to reception but curt reply no apologies, she wasn't interested.
Wedding Planner - Man overseeing the day excellent job.
Asked who was duty manager - nobody knew or there wasn't one!!!!
Only good thing about the weekend saw beautiful niece married & family get together.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colene123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed last weekend with my partner and two youngest daughters. The first presented reeked of smoke, and we asked to change. We were given a room without air conditioning - not pleasant in summer! Food and beverage offer is okay (there's a Starbucks concession at the ground floor). What distinguishes this hotel is the expansive gym and pool facilities, which kept us occupied for hours.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkLONDONUK58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

The Village is in an ideal location for all of our Kent team to meet. Free wifi and soft drinks for the conference rooms are a big plus. Jean the conference host is a huge asset to the team; helpful, efficient and friendly. The downside is the conference rooms. No inbuilt airconditioning so a very loud machine has to sit at the back of the room with a tube going out of the window. Strange as this is a modern hotel. Will continue to use this venue for meetings due to location, wifi and Jean

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaPeterB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was our second visit to this Hotel and we weren't disappointed! We did a weekend special which included a meal on both nights and breakfast. GREAT value for money!! We ate in the Victory Pub on both nights where the Pub food is lovely and plentiful. I had the V Challenge Burger on the first night which is a Man v Food challenge although I didn't take the challenge and just ate the Quadruple burger in my own time and it was delicious!! If you take the challenge and eat it in 15 minutes it's free of charge! Others in the party had a full rack of ribs and the Steak and Ale pie. All were very well presented, good size portions and I'm told very tasty. There was a George Michael tribute act in the bar that night who was really good!! A great evening had by all. Had a huge full English breakfast on both mornings which was self service , so as much as you wanted and all cooked to perfection!!

We once again made full use of the Gym and pool at the hotel which is very clean and very well equipped (wish this hotel was closer we would sign up for the gym in a flash!!) The staff at the Hotel deserve a mention. All are very polite and very helpful and go out of their way to oblige, especially the young Lady in the Pub who organised our table on both nights. Definitely be returning again next year!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeighShayne56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maidstone hotels
2.6 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
1,555 reviews
4.7 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
2.0 mi away
Grange Moor Hotel
Grange Moor Hotel
#11 of 15 in Maidstone
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Days Inn Maidstone
Days Inn Maidstone
#13 of 15 in Maidstone
171 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
557 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Maidstone Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Maidstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Maidstone

Property: Village Hotel Maidstone
Address: Hotel Maidstone Forstal Road | Castle View, Sandling, Maidstone ME14 3AQ, England (Formerly De Vere Village Maidstone)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Maidstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Maidstone 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Urban Resort Maidstone is situated close to the River Medway and is perfectly located to explore Kent and beyond. From shopping at Bluewater to a trip to see the animals at Hop Farm Country Park; from a walk along the new Millennium riverside pathway or a trip back in time to the Museum of Kent Life or Leeds Castle, you'll find everything on your doorstep. Village Urban Resort Maidstone has 122 comfortable bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 25 Metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village Hotel Maidstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel And Leisure Club Maidstone
Village Hotel Leisure Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing