We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas party”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Village Hotel Maidstone
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Maidstone
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Christmas party”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed for my wife's company do and whilst the facilities at the hotel from the room to the swimming pool are all fine the stay didn't start well as we were given keys to an already occupied room; fortunately the other guests were not in the room when we entered but it obviously could have been an embarrassing situation. When we went back to reception the staff members comment was that this was not the first time that day that this had happened and said it was when a block booking was made in one persons name. Should have thought they could have a system of room allocation to show when a room had been taken? The food at the function was one of the poorest I've experienced over the years at similar functions. The Turkey was some so of role with little flavour or any texture to indicate that it came from a bird. Roast potatoes seemed more like boiled. In fact the best part of the food was bacon roles and coffee served at midnight - a nice touch. I know it's difficult to mass cater but given the number of theme nights this hotel runs I would have thought they would have it sorted by now.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwtmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    471
    304
    121
    85
See reviews for
255
633
55
336
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed at this hotel as my company had there xmas party at the hotel.
We paid £40 for a 3 course xmas meal and it was rubbish the turkey was pale and bland with a little drizzle of gravy and the pud was also dry very poor and not worth the forty quid, also the bar area was always busy and you had to wait to be served not a very good night very poor food.
The hotel is very nice the room is good and large and very clean with a good sized bathroom with shower and bath along with avery comfy bed, the breakfast in the morning was good buffet style but lots of choice.

Room Tip: get a room at the back of hotel as quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beechy2603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

The room was clean warm and comfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful. Food and service lovely. Only let down by 2 things. My room was next door to a boiler room or something and was very noisy until just after midnight and this morning, no hot water for a shower!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stayed one night attending a function. Bouncers in reception was fair warning that things were not expected to be great. About midnight teenagers staggering up and down reception, youngsters outside throwing glasses at cars and then police turning up. Had to step round the areas cordoned off where people had been sick on the floor between the bar and the toilets. We were here 12 months ago and it was exactly the same. Would suggest midweek only.
That said, room was good and breakfast excellent. Staff were friendly and bouncers were even quite sociable.

Room Tip: As far from reception as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie3766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

We booked here for 3 nights with my family as we were attending a wedding at Cooling Castle! The staff were very friendly at all times and were very helpful. We asked for quiet rooms and had 180 & 182. They were nicely cleaned and quiet. The bed was not as good as a Marriott bed but ok! No toiletries just dispensers. ! We had booked dinner on 1st night and the food was fantastic! The waitress was lovely and could not do enough to help us. The meals were great value and nicely presented. Starbucks is also in the hotel which is quite pricey as normal.overall our stay was pleasant and good value. We paid £217 each for 3 nights and 1 dinner.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GEORDIEJUNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We arrived late at the hotel and were made to feel welcome although check in was a little hectic since we had prepaid for our room but said breakfast was not included even though I had thought it was. But we pre authorised our card and after that all was well. Breakfast was indeed included in our room rate and this was resolved at check in.
Food was very nice with a good deletion for both dinner and breakfast
The bar was busy but efficient and all very clean
Room was very clean and well equipped but very cold on arrival - heating was efficient so it didn't matter
Leisure facilities were excellent and made good sue of these
Overall a lovely hotel near to all major road networks

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from front of hotel and everyone from function rooms congregates by reception do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familyofdunns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Had a Friday & Saturday at the De Vere, Village, Maidstone, a very busy Hotel, They have parties going on, 'Take That' tribute act, and a wedding, nice modern hotel, we had a meal in the restaurant which was very good and it only cost £79 bed breakfast and evening meal, staff very friendly especially in the restaurant, Hazel was very helpful, swimming pool was like a footballer would have, steam, sauna, jacuzzi everything you want, would not have any problem returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 189 which was on first floor with a bit of a routemarch away from stairs and lift, any l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulineBowling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maidstone
1.6 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
1,463 reviews
3.8 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Maidstone Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Maidstone (Sandling) Hotel
3.4 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
529 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Maidstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Maidstone

Property: Village Hotel Maidstone
Address: Hotel Maidstone Forstal Road | Castle View, Sandling, Maidstone ME14 3AQ, England (Formerly De Vere Village Maidstone)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Maidstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Maidstone 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Urban Resort Maidstone is situated close to the River Medway and is perfectly located to explore Kent and beyond. From shopping at Bluewater to a trip to see the animals at Hop Farm Country Park; from a walk along the new Millennium riverside pathway or a trip back in time to the Museum of Kent Life or Leeds Castle, you'll find everything on your doorstep. Village Urban Resort Maidstone has 122 comfortable bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 25 Metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village Hotel Maidstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel And Leisure Club Maidstone
Village Hotel Leisure Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing