We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hits the spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Village Hotel Maidstone
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Maidstone
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hits the spot”
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel quite a few times now on business. The receptionists are always pleasant and check in is always quick. The facilities at the hotel are very good; there's a Starbucks, a bar, a restaurant and leisure facilities which are great. The pool area, steam room, sauna and jacuzzi are great and if you pick the right time you sometimes get them nearly to yourself.
The menu in the restaurant has just changed and is very nice and the early doors menu is good value. I've also had food in the bar, which, whilst your usual pub fayre, is good value. Breakfast is always good with plenty of choice and things replenished quickly.
Rooms are spacious and clean with good sized bathrooms, with bath and shower.
The hotel is well,placed for access to the M20 and Ashford and Dover and the Isle of Sheppey.
All in all it's a decent place to stay.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jan_Nick49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    529
    330
    131
    93
See reviews for
291
703
61
360
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed on a late deal for £63 B&B. Really good value for money. Gym facilities were good and the gym was quite large (if a little busy - although we did stay on a Friday evening). Pool was also really good with the usual steam rooms and whirlpools.

Our room looked freshly decorated and the overwhelming smell of fresh paint confirmed this. Bed was comfy and a the room overall was finished to a high standard. Bathroom was spotless and my only gripe would be the shower head being fixed to the wall.

Breakfast was plentiful - buffet style and lots of it. Sadly the on site Starbucks don't supply the coffee for breakfast.

Maidstone itself is quite nice and compact with all the usual high street stores. The town is only a 5 minute drive away from the hotel which, itself is perfectly located.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rustington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is the second time that I have stayed at this hotel and the stay was better in some areas and worse in others. The room was clean, had a comfortable bed and great pillows. Fortunately, there were extra pillows in the cupboard as the ones on the bed were flat. The towel rail in the bathroom was coming off the wall although the towels were folded very nicely on it! The bathroom is spacious. The receptionist did offer a different room but the towel rail issue did not warrant a change so I declined. I was allocated a room at the very back of the hotel - it seemed almost like a single level extension, which entailed a very long walk to reception. As I needed to go outside fairly often - the distance was a real problem for me. The room service was efficient but sadly I felt that the quality and price were not very good. Also a tray charge is added on to the bill although there is no mention of this on the menu (not that I could see anyway.) Sound quality was an issue - I could hear the person next door snoring and tipsy residents going down the corridor well after 1 o'clock in the morning. Some sound proofing is definitely required. Check in and check out was simple and fast and all interation with the staff was pleasant. I would stay here again but perhaps specifically request a room closer to the stairwell.

Room Tip: Last time I suggested a room at the back of the hotel so that the "entertainments" do not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank htur61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Well to be quite honest I wasn't overly hopeful having now been to 3 of these De Vere premises. However, we checked in early (at 12.30pm) with no problems. The bedrooms were OK but I do like doors on wardrobes, I don't like soap dispensers on the wall in the bathroom and over the bath BUT they have shower screens rather than the awful curtains they have in Leeds. We headed off to do some work in the bar area which was packed - probably because it was half term. We later went swimming and again the leisure area of these Village Hotels are superb. 25m pool, full gym plus spinning room etc. We ate in the restaurant that night and I must admit the prices are pretty high for this type of location. I chose sirloin steak which was so tough I had to send it back but the staff were very polite and replaced it with no problems. The second one wasn't fab and it cost £23 which I think is pricey. The next day we held our conference. We had the entire suite to ourselves which suited us perfectly. We were allocated a conference team member for the day, Jean, and it was good, for a change, not to have to keep trying to find someone. All the breaks were on time and the lunch was really good, healthy with some nice touches. All the staff were helpful and polite. We were pleased - in fact it is such good value for money for conferences we're looking to see where there are other venues.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

A group of us stayed mid week with work, having stayed in the Dudley and Walsall versions wasn't expecting anything other than a clean and tidy hotel with a chain feel, food was average and whilst some staff were helpful others appeared uninterested.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank NickAAAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Very poor. Would recommend the Maidstone Mercure. Quality is much higher for similar price and you aren't treated like cattle. Food is average, bar area is small although the gym is well equipped. Everything about this establishment on on 'their terms'.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RabbitsAreBrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, Kent
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I need to preface this by saying that there was nothing REALLY wrong with this hotel...but given the reviews previously seen on here I expected more. We were there to attend a tribute night show...so rather than have one of us drive, we booked a room with breakfast.
The welcome was efficient...no more...not particularly friendly.
The rooms are comfortable enough if you're only staying one night...somewhere to lay your head with a good bed and adequate facilities. My first moan was the cleanliness of the room. I admit to being a "clean freak", particularly when it comes to bathrooms. Whilst the majority of the surfaces were clean (bath, sink toilet) the walls, vents, ceiling etc were all marked with stains, cobwebs, thick dust etc that had clearly been there a long time...so attention to detail by the housekeeping crew and inspection of their work by management is not very good.
The food served at the function was typical of the occasion...just about warm enough but not tasting of very much. The "red wine jus" that accompanied the pale, bland chicken had never seen any wine...I suspect it was gravy granules. The "Vanilla Cheesecake" had similarly never seen any vanilla...it was totally tasteless, and I (not known for turning down food on any occasion) couldn't eat it.
Drinks were typical hotel prices, but to their credit the Victory bar has some fantastic ales.
Breakfast the next day was a diffferent matter...probably the best breakfast I have ever had in a "chain" hotel. Really good quality food.

Room Tip: Go for the quality room...not the basic one...and make sure you are not in a room 148-160...they fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elteuk24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maidstone hotels
2.6 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
1,545 reviews
4.7 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
2.0 mi away
Grange Moor Hotel
Grange Moor Hotel
#12 of 15 in Maidstone
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Maidstone Town Centre Hotel
5.8 mi away
Days Inn Maidstone
Days Inn Maidstone
#13 of 15 in Maidstone
169 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Maidstone (Sandling) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Maidstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Maidstone

Property: Village Hotel Maidstone
Address: Hotel Maidstone Forstal Road | Castle View, Sandling, Maidstone ME14 3AQ, England (Formerly De Vere Village Maidstone)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Maidstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Maidstone 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Urban Resort Maidstone is situated close to the River Medway and is perfectly located to explore Kent and beyond. From shopping at Bluewater to a trip to see the animals at Hop Farm Country Park; from a walk along the new Millennium riverside pathway or a trip back in time to the Museum of Kent Life or Leeds Castle, you'll find everything on your doorstep. Village Urban Resort Maidstone has 122 comfortable bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 25 Metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village Hotel Maidstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel And Leisure Club Maidstone
Village Hotel Leisure Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing