We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food good and cheap”

Malta Inn Beefeater
Ranked #179 of 311 Restaurants in Maidstone
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
221 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Food good and cheap”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Although this is a chain of restaurants, the food offered is always of a high standard. Atmosphere is nice, even though it is usually a very busy place. Service is ok, bit depends who you get.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tandemania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    253
    224
    233
    323
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“farewell lunch”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

It's in the name'beefeater.I went for a farewell lunch and as a veggie found 2 choices of food resotto and quiche. The linguine was off that day . So i paid £10 for a small tough quiche with 3 potatoes and a spoonful of salad.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice food sadly let down by the lack of staff”
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Having gone out for a meal with 5 other people basically the food was lovely the waitress when on the rare occasion we see her as the poor woman was rushed off her feet the other waiting staff was the same we had to wait quite a long time for our starters then we got our mains straight away desserts was a joke got well p..... Off waiting which spoiled our evening the waitress was polite very proffesional and apologetic the place was packed out so why not take on a few more waiting staff will not return as the desserts was a joke which is a shame as its a lovely place nice location

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stevesaxby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Distinctly average”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

A steak house is a steak house.

This one serves steaks, chips and seems to think that everyone only wants this and large sloppy portions. I saw more wastage of food being taken back that would feed some countries for ages. It was sad to see plus the number of meals which they "got wrong" and the number of deserts and write offs which they seemed to do automatically for every complaint makes me wonder if they are vastly overcharging or are losing money as the number of people actually paying full price seemed pretty low.

The tables were left messy for ages after each group left leaving an unpleasant view for us remaining. Our table was wet and sticky when we were sat down indicating to me that it was hurriedly just cleared from previous occupants and looking at the floor it seemed that some of the crumbs and mess were just scooped onto it.

The Waitress offered no more than she was asked to get - I thought these places were hot on upselling - not this waitress. She seemed to be going through the motions and was like others wearing a tired uniform and looked tired herself.

I would not visit this place to eat again if they paid me as I really dont need to feel this disappointment again. I know what I expect in one of these places and I did not get it here.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great in the summer”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The Malta is situated right on the river Medway.It is a large gasto pub which is ideally situated beside the river and 5 mins from the M20.
Definately worth a visit in the summer months.

Helpful?
Thank Kushti_Bokt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malta Inn Beefeater also viewed

 

Been to Malta Inn Beefeater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing