We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely staff, fabulous room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Townhouse Hotel
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Maidstone
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely staff, fabulous room”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I booked four rooms for my friends and I (we were going to a wedding) Which was quite a responsibility! to my relief, all of us were so happy with the hotel. The staff gave us a really warm welcome, the carpark we used is next door (£4 for the night) the room was bright and fresh with The White Company soaps etc. and big kingsize bed. The food was amazing - we had a cheeky burger before the wedding which was fab and breakfast was great and cooked to order. If you're going to Maidstone, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mazt36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    57
    28
    12
    8
See reviews for
26
75
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leigh on sea
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Our stay was for shopping and an evening out . We had an excellent meal in the hotel restaurant and the staff were very friendly. The Town house is situated on the outskirts of the town and was still nice and quite. Slightly over priced but it is in town.. Would use again

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsdoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My Girlfriend and i were planning a trip to France (we live in Swansea) but decided that due to bank holiday traffic we would stay in the UK and Kent being the garden of England we thought would go there for the weekend, my brother recommended this place in Maidstone called the Town House Hotel which was close to Leeds castle, Canterbury and other sites we wanted to visit. We arrived on the Friday night and stayed until the Monday and it must say it was one of the most pleasant little hotels i have stayed in, the room had great decor and was spacious and very clean, the staff were very polite and gave a good impression, and to top it off after our visit to Leeds Castle on a rainy Saturday, we indulged in a lobster and steak bbq all afternoon which was just fantastic!
We ate again in the restaurant on the Monday before we left and the chef must be really talented as the food was again really good and great value.
I would have no problem staying there again and would highly recommend this hotel.

Stephen

Room Tip: All i can say is room 5 had great decor, was clean and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annan, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Welcoming and helpful, very convenient for the town centre. Looks like it has a very good restaurant although we didn't have the opportunity to use it. It was very hot when we were here but the room temperature was comfortable at night time.

Room Tip: We were in a family room on the ground floor, the room itself was good, only down side was the outlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cwb55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stayed over in a twin room with another family member. I am familiar with the town and was delighted to find such a nice hotel in a very central location. I was concerned about the parking but it was a breeze. I parked in the adjacent Chequers multi-storey rooftop - you do need to go into the town centre and make sure you get on the roof top if at all possible otherwise it could be a bit of a pain. The arrangement was that for £4 I could park from 6 pm - 10 am; the hotel staff sorted it out and I paid them in the morning and just pressed the 'help' buzzer at the car park exit barrier and was let out. (Sounds like a faff but it really wasn't - try parking overnight in Brighton!!!).
Our room was more than adequate in size and spotlessly clean. A couple of little niggles about the room which could be easily sorted out and could have upped my rating to 'excellent' were no bathroom shelf for toiletries, shortage of sockets and no suitcase stand, I don't like having to put my case on the bed. And the perennial problem logging onto the WiFi. We didn't eat in the dining room but the menus read very well I must say. We had breakfast included in our Friday night rate (£99).
I found the coffee at breakfast very strong and would have like hot milk or cream. The 'butter' was the strangest that I've ever seen! An ice cream scoop of 'white' is the only way to describe it - I'd bet a lot of £ it was 'faux butter' aka marg. which is a shame because the cooked breakfast was lovely if somewhat huge! There wasn't any of the advertised home made granola and no fruit at all which was disappointing...details, details, details... The warm croissants were delicious however, we couldn't resist having one to share.
One final point would be to have a notice on the door as when the very imposing doors are shut it looked to me to be closed and a bit unwelcoming. Actually you just need to push them open but I honestly thought that the hotel was all shut up when we got there at 3.30pm..duh, but a little note saying - Welcome, come on in' would have been helpful. I'm being picky because it was all so close to being an excellent stay. Overall we enjoyed it and slept well as it was very peaceful at night. All in all warmly recommended.

Room Tip: We were in a twin new part up around the back - very quiet when we stayed in Room 15.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparkiedoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

went with my partner on sat night to get away.
when I walked in the hotel it looked lovely,
bit disappointed with our room. it was downstairs .everyone from the dining room could see into our room so we had to pull the roman blind.
the room itself was very small and very hot.
think it was no 11 ,
staff was lovely,didnt eat there as we was going into town for drinks

Room Tip: make sure you have a room upstairs no 11 was very stuffy and very overlooked
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roebucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Lovely Hotel, we stayed for bed and breakfast, and booked a superior room. On arrival was greeted by Adam, who was very friendly, and explained everything very clearly. Room was very clean, and comfortable, bed was very comfy, breakfast was very nice, athough we had to wait for a while for table, we was looked after with a superb pot of tea - staff exceptionally friendly, Anyone who wishes to stay in Kent, this is definitely the place to stay, hopefully we will have a opportunity to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becksie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maidstone hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Maidstone Town Centre Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
1,462 reviews
2.6 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Village Hotel Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone
#3 of 15 in Maidstone
1,492 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
528 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grange Moor Hotel
Grange Moor Hotel
#12 of 15 in Maidstone
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townhouse Hotel

Property: The Townhouse Hotel
Address: 74 King Street, Maidstone ME14 1BH, England (Formerly King Street Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Maidstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Townhouse Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Townhouse Hotel located in the heart of Maidstone town centre was built in 1802 as a rectory and represents a wonderful example of Georgian architecture. This Grade II listed building has been refurbished, transforming it into Maidstone's first 'Boutique' hotel and restaurant. Offering 17 stunning rooms and an exemplary restaurant The Townhouse can cater for almost all your needs.The Townhouse Restaurant is our stunning and highly rated fine dining restaurant. The new head chef uses only the best of local and seasonal produce to create innovative and unique dishes as well as some tried and tested classics (with a little twist of his own).The Townhouse Hotel is close to County Hall, Kent archives, Leeds Castle, Hever Castle, Mote Park, Hop Farm Family Park, Hop Farm, Archbishop's Palace, Maidstone Hospital and County Court, All Saints Church and Vintners Park. We are also within walking distance of The Orangery, Turkey Mill for guests who are attending weddings and functions there. The Townhouse Hotel is also ideal for anyone who likes to be close to all the restaurants, pubs, theaters, cinemas, bus and train stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Street Maidstone
The Townhouse Hotel Maidstone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing