We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always cheap and cheerful”
Review of The Society Rooms

The Society Rooms
Ranked #76 of 313 Restaurants in Maidstone
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Kent
Level 6 Contributor
448 reviews
324 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Always cheap and cheerful”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Of the two Wetherspoons in Maidstone, this is currently the nicer. As with all Wetherspoons, it's cheap and cheerful. We particularly enjoy curry night, although the quality of the food is inconsistent - the curry itself is always really good but the quality of the nans, poppadoms, bhajis and samosas fluctuate from week to week, and they often seem to run out of things! Still, for the price you pay, you can't complain at all!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kendrafortune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    62
    23
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

A great place to go if u fancy a cheap and nice meal. They have themed nights which offer even better value the curry night on a thurs is really goof

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jasonandloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Sheppey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Great ales”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Was in need of a good pint of real ale after a two week holiday abroad drinking lager! I use The Society rooms often as the real ale selection is good and is served in top condition not only that at £2.49 a pint you can't beat it, I also ordered a cheese and ham toasted sandwich which comes with chips and was brought to my table in no time at all,it was hot and delicious and very good value. Well done.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank humpty258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We were served by a young lady named Shana. Who was very polite and helpful. And went out of her way to help us. And the food was exceptional.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“my local”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I visit the Society Rooms most weekends usually for lunch and often with grandchildren. The food is fine if you don't have high expectations and don't want to spend too much. I have found the staff are in the main friendly and usually come and check if your food is okay. When my food hasn't been it has been changed with no problems. I love the chips and my partner has now become a fan of the new hot dog. He also likes the beers they have and in particular the beer festival. I have to say Saturday's between 5 - 6pm has now become a time to avoid as this is when the local football stadium empties out and getting a seat or near the bar is a nightmare.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SMH380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Society Rooms also viewed

 

Been to The Society Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing